We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oban”
Review of Oban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oban
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed there for a night in July. Sadly it was not the best experience. The location was ok. Unfortunately i cannot say the same about the rest. The staff did not seem too interested to help. The room looked as though it could really do with some updating. Overall it was a disappointing experience. It was only a 1 night stay, so hopefully the staff were just having a bad day. I would not recommend this hotel based on the time we spent there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estuarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you for your taking the time for placing your review
As I’m sure you will appreciate we are surprised to learn of your disappointment almost a year after you say you stayed with us. We are also puzzled with your comments as it very generic and doesn’t actually say very much about your experience other than strongly specify you were of the opinion our staff did not meet your expectations. Not knowing when you stayed with us makes it very difficult to pass comment. I’m sure this was not your intention.
Nevertheless we would recommend that when staying at a hotel a guest discusses any dissatisfaction prior to their departure in order to provide the hotel the opportunity to remedy any issues they may have.

You never know the hotel may even be able to help !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Oban. We stayed in room 31, and although quite a trek from reception including a lift then a small flight of stairs, the room was fine. The decor in the room was tired but it was clean, and the most important elements, bed, duvet, pillow, coffee facilities etc were excellent. There was also plenty of hot water.

The present owners have obviously spent the money in the common areas, and the lounge / bar area were very smart. The bar sells good quality coffee as well as the usual and the prices were reasonable.

Breakfast was simple, and good for the price you are paying for the rooms.

Finally, the service. I was met at check-in by Georgie with a very warm friendly welcome. From that moment, until we checked out (Georgie again) the service was excellent. This hotel is clearly run by people who care about their guests' experience (special mention to Harry) rather than paying lip service.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbionShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you kindly for taking the time in placing your review

Your comments are certainly a good indication that we are meeting our guests’ expectations
Our staff are trained to provide a welcoming and hospitable service and it is rewarding to know we are achieving our goals

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you next decide to visit Eastbourne as we would be delighted to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We chose this venue for our daughter's wedding reception from the huge selection of hotels in Eastbourne and were not dissappointed.
Wanting everything just perfect for her and the groom, we were very fussy at the planning stage. Vin and his staff were helpful throughout and on the day we not only got the best of service, but the food was top quality.
Many of the groom's family travelled from Scotland and a number of them stayed at the Oban Hotel.
We had good reports on every count.

Room Tip: There's nothing to beat a sea view when you are on the South Coast and you will get little or no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

A warm welcome by the manager, Vin, was just the start for our group of 37 from East Quantocks Probus Club for our four day stay. Our pre-ordered meal was not only delicious but served promptly by a young cheerful helpful staff. This was followed by entertainment, but unfortunately there was no draught beer in the bar on the first night. Breakfast was served between 8 & 9am and consisted of a good selection of cereals and cooked items, which were served freshly cooked and hot. The hotel was spotlessly clean and well serviced but some of the rooms were on the small side.
An efficient and well run hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lanesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Lanesontour.

Thank you for your review. We have a number of coach groups that stay with us throughout the year and we’d like to think we are fully prepared and ready for them when they arrive. On occasions there are mishaps that occur outside of our control but generally we have a good understanding of our guest’s requirements and always aim to fulfil those requirements.

In our opinion we offer value for money and although the choice may not be expansive, what you do receive is quality and consistency as many members of your group were pleased to point out.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and would certainly be pleased to see you return.
If you do decide to visit Eastbourne again then please give us a call.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have just spent two nights at this hotel. We were lucky enough to be given a sea view room which was clean, freshly decorated and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.

Breakfast was tasty with generous sized portions, a good choice and nicely cooked and presented.
The dining room is light and airy with room to move between the tables.

The Oban is perfectly situated for walking into Eastbourne town centre, the theatres and the seafront are moments away.

This is the second time we have stayed at The Oban and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Hazel and Steve,

Thank you for your kind words. I can’t remember exactly how many times you have stayed with us now but we are delighted whenever you return. Our end achievement is to have our guests leave wanting to return. Pardon the cliché but I’m confident that you will share my views in that you last left as a guest and are returning as friends. I know this weekend coming is a special event and we are even more delighted that you have chosen our hotel to be sharing it at.
looking forward to seeing you both and thank you again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here last weekend with the hubby.
A quaint little hotel with lots of charm and character. We were in one of their seaview rooms which had floor to ceiling windows over looking the park accross the road as well as the sea.
A most delightful view. Breakfast was hot and delicious with lovely soft poached eggs. Staff were the stars of this place. Young and hungry to please. They just seemed to care, which makes all the difference. Ideal place for a short relaxing break. Never been to Eatbourne before, but would certainly recomend the place if you're looking to get away for some stress relief.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Ella,

We all remember you very well. All our staff appreciated your comments and I for one thank you for sharing your views. Eastbourne is a lovely place and we at the Oban certainly think so. The stereotypical comments are fading fast and are being replaced with ‘pleasantly surprised’ or ‘fabulous’. These are being heard more often and with fresh developments planned for the town we believe Eastbourne will emerge as ‘A place to be’ in the not too distant future. It’s certainly held its own in these tough times with the crowds still flocking to it. We are excited for the future of our town not to mention our hotel whose popularity is growing by the day. We’d be delighted to see you again so please call us when you’re ready to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The young man who greeted us was fantastic and provided an excellent service.
Small tv, window opens only 3 inches. No hairdryer in room.
Breakfast is 8-9:30, would be better if it ran until 10:30.
Checkout is 10, would be better if it ran until 11:00.
You can only cancel this hotel if you give 10 days notice, otherwise they charge you the full amount.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Bob,

Thank you for your comments. Our staff are always eager to please and it’s good to know that customers recognise this. The television in our bedrooms range from 22 – 26 inches and are thought to be adequate. We also have a large 60 inch television in the lounge which is available to all our guests to enjoy. The windows in the rooms open three inches initially for health, safety and security, however there are 2 tabs on either side of the window fixings which when pressed release the safety mechanism and allow the windows to be fully opened.

You are correct in stating our breakfast time, which incidentally we do not hide and are in line with many establishments of our size. Our own website as well as other agents that advertise for us, all have our breakfast time clearly mentioned so that guests can make an informed choice.

Our cancellation policy is transparent for all to see and is displayed on the same websites. Whilst we would sincerely be pleased to see you return we would respectfully suggest that you perhaps check these terms prior to booking. Please check our website under the ‘Know before you Go’ tab. This tab will have all the relevant information you require. Failing that, please call us as we will be only too happy to assist. Thank you again, Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#21 of 40 in Eastbourne
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £55 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing