We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th year at the Oban”
Review of Oban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oban
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“5th year at the Oban”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is the 5th year we have stayed at the Oban Hotel for the May Bank holiday Bible by the Beach Christian convention. Why have we kept on coming back? Right from when we asked about the possibility of a group booking we were made so welcome by Vin and every time since he has been so helpful to our organisers. We've come from a number of different churches and enjoy being together and the welcome we all receive. When families have come with small children every care was taken to meet their needs.

The situation is brilliant - on the seafront and just 300 yards from the Congress Theatre. On a number of occasions the Classic Cars rally has parked on the rise just opposite the hotel and the French Market is just yards down the front. What more could you want? The weather this year was superb (a bonus!) and sitting out on the terrace in front of the hotel enjoying a glass of wine with friends was delightful.

Every year year we've come we've noticed upgrades to the facilities. This is a hotel that is really tries to improve each year. This year my wife and I had a beautiful sea-view room. The double bed was huge and very comfortable and we stayed an extra night after the convention to continue to relax and spend time with Vin and the staff whom we consider real friends. Georgi on reception is always smiling and the rooms are spotlessly cleaned and coffee/tea making facilities always checked daily.

Quite a number of the convention attendees had asked for a mid day meal to make evening attendances easier and Vin very kindly accommodated our needs in this way.

We have always been given great value for money and a very warm welcome. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others - whether coming as individuals or groups. We love this hotel!

Nic and Kathryn Deane

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Nick,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time in placing your review.

We are certainly pleased that so many of you come back year after year and accept this as an indirect compliment. All our staff are very proud to be part of the hotel and I believe they genuinely demonstrate this when performing their day to duties.

I know that many of the other conference attendees also enjoyed this year’s event with nearly all booking up with ourselves for next year’s event.

We do hope you will keep in contact and on a personal note ….Wednesday turned out just fine, I’m exceptionally grateful for your support.

Please say hi to Kath and anyone else you may speak to that joined us this year.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    63
    21
    12
    12
See reviews for
31
108
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leics
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I took a party of 36 walkers to this hotel on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. We were made very welcome by Vin, the manager, and all the staff were most attentive at all times. We really enjoyed our stay here. The food was plentiful and served most efficiently by very pleasant and cheerful staff. This hotel offered us excellent value for money and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to other walking groups. It is ideally located on the front and within walking distance of The Seven Sisters and the South Downs Way. Vin was very helpful, offering to organise entertainment for two of the evenings when we were there.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Oban and were very impressed with Eastbourne and the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: A sea view room is best. We stayed in number 13 which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicsHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you for taking the time in placing your review
It is exceptionally satisfying to know that we pleased so many of you

It’s our staff who are the real assets of our hotel. They are dedicated loyal and take pride in delivering a first class service which is consistent. Our guests often pass comment on their hard work and dedication. To be publicly recognised always brings a smile to their face not to mention encouragement.

We are delighted that you have recommended us so highly and thank you kindly for your praises.

We hope you will visit us again in the future and please pass on our thanks to the rest of the group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed there for a night in July. Sadly it was not the best experience. The location was ok. Unfortunately i cannot say the same about the rest. The staff did not seem too interested to help. The room looked as though it could really do with some updating. Overall it was a disappointing experience. It was only a 1 night stay, so hopefully the staff were just having a bad day. I would not recommend this hotel based on the time we spent there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estuarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you for your taking the time for placing your review
As I’m sure you will appreciate we are surprised to learn of your disappointment almost a year after you say you stayed with us. We are also puzzled with your comments as it very generic and doesn’t actually say very much about your experience other than strongly specify you were of the opinion our staff did not meet your expectations. Not knowing when you stayed with us makes it very difficult to pass comment. I’m sure this was not your intention.
Nevertheless we would recommend that when staying at a hotel a guest discusses any dissatisfaction prior to their departure in order to provide the hotel the opportunity to remedy any issues they may have.

You never know the hotel may even be able to help !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Oban. We stayed in room 31, and although quite a trek from reception including a lift then a small flight of stairs, the room was fine. The decor in the room was tired but it was clean, and the most important elements, bed, duvet, pillow, coffee facilities etc were excellent. There was also plenty of hot water.

The present owners have obviously spent the money in the common areas, and the lounge / bar area were very smart. The bar sells good quality coffee as well as the usual and the prices were reasonable.

Breakfast was simple, and good for the price you are paying for the rooms.

Finally, the service. I was met at check-in by Georgie with a very warm friendly welcome. From that moment, until we checked out (Georgie again) the service was excellent. This hotel is clearly run by people who care about their guests' experience (special mention to Harry) rather than paying lip service.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbionShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time in placing your review

Your comments are certainly a good indication that we are meeting our guests’ expectations
Our staff are trained to provide a welcoming and hospitable service and it is rewarding to know we are achieving our goals

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you next decide to visit Eastbourne as we would be delighted to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We chose this venue for our daughter's wedding reception from the huge selection of hotels in Eastbourne and were not dissappointed.
Wanting everything just perfect for her and the groom, we were very fussy at the planning stage. Vin and his staff were helpful throughout and on the day we not only got the best of service, but the food was top quality.
Many of the groom's family travelled from Scotland and a number of them stayed at the Oban Hotel.
We had good reports on every count.

Room Tip: There's nothing to beat a sea view when you are on the South Coast and you will get little or no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Petherton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

A warm welcome by the manager, Vin, was just the start for our group of 37 from East Quantocks Probus Club for our four day stay. Our pre-ordered meal was not only delicious but served promptly by a young cheerful helpful staff. This was followed by entertainment, but unfortunately there was no draught beer in the bar on the first night. Breakfast was served between 8 & 9am and consisted of a good selection of cereals and cooked items, which were served freshly cooked and hot. The hotel was spotlessly clean and well serviced but some of the rooms were on the small side.
An efficient and well run hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Lanesontour.

Thank you for your review. We have a number of coach groups that stay with us throughout the year and we’d like to think we are fully prepared and ready for them when they arrive. On occasions there are mishaps that occur outside of our control but generally we have a good understanding of our guest’s requirements and always aim to fulfil those requirements.

In our opinion we offer value for money and although the choice may not be expansive, what you do receive is quality and consistency as many members of your group were pleased to point out.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and would certainly be pleased to see you return.
If you do decide to visit Eastbourne again then please give us a call.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have just spent two nights at this hotel. We were lucky enough to be given a sea view room which was clean, freshly decorated and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.

Breakfast was tasty with generous sized portions, a good choice and nicely cooked and presented.
The dining room is light and airy with room to move between the tables.

The Oban is perfectly situated for walking into Eastbourne town centre, the theatres and the seafront are moments away.

This is the second time we have stayed at The Oban and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Hazel and Steve,

Thank you for your kind words. I can’t remember exactly how many times you have stayed with us now but we are delighted whenever you return. Our end achievement is to have our guests leave wanting to return. Pardon the cliché but I’m confident that you will share my views in that you last left as a guest and are returning as friends. I know this weekend coming is a special event and we are even more delighted that you have chosen our hotel to be sharing it at.
looking forward to seeing you both and thank you again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban

Property: Oban
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing