We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOILDAY”
Review of Oban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oban
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

thank you for a lovely time food was very good & rooms was nice & clean , the staff was very helpful as my mum in a wheel chair & my dad is blind so i would like to thank all the staff that helped me . Also the entertainment was very good. The room were welcoming and comfy, the colour's were bright and warm. There was no faults with the rooms we had a brilliant time. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maira501028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Highly recommend this hotel particularly for the price given location on the seafront. Room spotless, bed comfortable and bed linen top quality crisp cotton. Nice small bar area as well.

Two young reception staff very helpful and efficient. Breakfast good with only minor complaint from my wife that orange juice was (over) watered down.

Would definitely return and hopefully be able to book a room with a sea view next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The location is great, close to theatres and eateries, near the wish tower, on what appears to be the quieter side of the seafront. We booked very late, so were not expecting too much in the way of accommodation. The room, although small had been refurbished, a king size bed with crisp white linen, duvets ( which we much prefer) the bed was most comfortable. Room was spotless, basic facilities, however hairdryers etc are available from reception.
The bathroom however was very tired looking with an old noisy sliding door and fan but extremely clean.
The lounge and breakfast rooms were pristine, both looked newly decorated in soothing calm colours. Breakfasts are cooked to order, limited choice if you don't want something cooked.
The guy who owns the hotel was pleasant and friendly, the girls serving breakfast, whilst efficient lacked the personal touch ie asking if everything was ok and if we would like more toast, tea. On our departure, when handing in the keys the young girl on reception did not even ask if we had enjoyed our stay. Would we return? Possibly, we just felt some personal touches were missing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HertsWrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I made a late booking on Wed night for Thursday to Sunday based on the positve reviews. On checking in I found that we had been allocated a sea view room. This was not mentioned on the booking form and was a great supprise for my wife. We were on thwe top floor in room 29 and had fantasic views. The hotel appears to have been recentley refurbished and is bright and clean. The breakfast was nicely cooked and served quickly. The staff were very polite and helpfull. Will use againg if we are back inb Eastbourne

Room Tip: Room 29 great sea view, good exercise(on top flooor but next to lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I booked this for my mother and auntie and ...... what can i say ? what they said FANTASTIC, staff,room ,food and general atmosphere was brilliant Have enjoyed it so much we are booking tonight for a second stay in November. Thank you Oban hotel for making two ladies so happy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellydodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

It was a pleasure to have accomodated these 2 ladies.
Whilst we thank them for their kind words we feel that they both added a bit of sparkle to place which rubbed off onto eveyonbe else.
We would be delighted to see them both again and will be in touch to arrange their accomodation
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Review written on behalf of Mr and Mrs Lightley.
Fin and his excellent staff made our holiday the best we have ever had. Hotel has a happy atmosphere and great food with excellent service. Rooms were clean,comfortable and fresh. Fin was the perfect host, chatting with everyone with a smile and a warm greeting. Service in the restaurant was efficient and staff friendly. Theatre trip organised by Fin for our party, whoever wanted to go. Bar excellent and great entertainment and surrounded by three theatres.
We would definitely go back anytime.

Room Tip: Ground Floor room spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorD60_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, Guest Relations Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for your comments.
We are delighted that we made such an impression on you both
On behalf of all our staff - It was a pleasure to have been of service.
We would be equally delighted to see you both again so please do not hesitate to visit us soon

Until next time
Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I have been in the Hotel & Catering all my life and I have never experienced anything like this in what is described as an HOTEL
1) Pay for your booking in advance on your arrival ( £ 85 p.night)
2) You are given ONE key for the main entrance door to be used after 10.30 p.m because staff & management off duties....tough luck if you forget them in the room!!
3) Hardly anybody to be seen in the reception during the day
4) Lift not in use after 10.30 p.m to 8.00 a.m.
5) Our bed was not made untill 3.30 p.m
6) To be told by the manager ,after complaining, to leave the premises with a refund.
Sorry Tripadvisor you have to change the rating from this so called Hotel to a B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper bathroom and shower and not like the one we were in with the basin in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davide64_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

We are always interested in what guests have to say about our hotel no matter how bemusing.

Payment - You are correct in saying payment is required in advance - We mention this in all our literature including our website

Keys – The Main front door to the hotel is closed at around 22:00hrs- 22.30hrs however 24hr access is available via the electronic door key which we provide to all our guests. We would certainly have assisted you with another key had you asked.

Staff – Had you rang the bell at reception any time during your stay, our duty manager or another member of staff would have answered you. Whilst staff may not always appear around a number of them are on duty 24hrs a day.

Lift – Lift is in service from 07:30hrs – 23:00hrs. These times are displayed in the lift itself, on the Landing floors and hotel literature which would have been in your room.

Service of rooms - Whilst you say your room was not serviced until 15:30 it was nevertheless serviced. Apologies if not done within the time you expected

Refund – At 21:30 the manager refunded you in full despite you having the full use of the room all day and evening even though there was no wrongdoing on our behalf.

Your dissatisfaction appears to stem from the fact that you consider yourself an authority on hotel management and ‘know’ how a ‘hotel’ should be run having been a bag porter for some many years.

We apologise for not having met your standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,658 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £55 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing