We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, friendly service”
Review of Oban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oban
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

One night stay in Eastbourne to visit family over May Bank Holiday weekend, this wasn't my first choice hotel but turned out OK. Rooms are fine, see view is great, decor is a bit tired and old fashioned in places but the welcome is warm and breakfast hit the spot.

The en-suite was possibly the smallest I have even seen, with the sink in the room and the bathroom comparable to a small caravan

The location was right on the seafront, at the quiet end away from the late night noise from the pier

Room Tip: Sea view rooms really do have a view of the sea, with just the promenade and coast road between you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

stayed with my boyfriend over Easter, first impressions were average hotel only to be greated by a welcoming young girl. We had an inland view room and although the view wasn't the greatest the room itself was cosy, clean and nicely decorated which is essentially all we wanted.
Although we didn't spend any time in the lounge it was nice to see the big group of elderly people all enjoying there selves with the entertainment.
There was a nice choice for breakfast and was served quickly.
Overall I thought this hotel was very good value for money and met our needs, I would return if I went back to Eastbourne.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had a brilliant 2 night stay over Easter Weekend, Upgraded to a Sea view for just £15.00 a night. Beautiful views and a huge bed. Can’t Fault the staff or location. Spot on! only downside was the weather on Sunday. Charming little place

Room Tip: Room 21 Great view of the Pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Shabby room, double bed is two twin beds that are pushed together (you cannot sleep in the middle due to a dip), thin room door (you can hear people passing in the hall and people can hear you). View from window is a rubbish bin in court below. Dreary room decor.

Shabby bathroom (looks like a DIY). Thin wall between room and bathroom. Two rolls of toilet paper are placed on a box (no holder). Tiny shower. Hotel book states that towels are not changed during stay (although ours were changed..). Low rate lightbulb (hardly can see anything at night)

Hotel lobby has a large TV (usually turned off. I was watching news and it suddenly notifies you that it will close in 60 seconds). There is has a person playing piano (badly) in the evening. Dirty windows, used by elderly people in the evening.

Check-in was quick and easy. (I was worried after reading previous reviews..) No problems with debit card payment. Desk clerk was lovely and helpful.

Breakfast was good. nice room decor, English breakfast, coffee, orange juice, toast, cereal and yogurts.We requested vegetarian sausages (no problem) and more toast (no problem). Staff were lovely: friendly and professional.

Good location: on the beachfront, 5 minutes walk from the pier and 2 minutes from the restaurants. (I recommend 'Rosetto' - a good italian restaurant, and 'Siam Orchid' - a good thai restaurant)

Eastbourne itself was disappointing: rundown, needing immediate renovation, people seem depressed. Only 'Beachy Head' lives up to its name of being a fantastic place to see.

Disappointing and expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UpAndUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Nice enough stay at this Hotel although this hotel is a bit dated it was both clean and friendly,reception staff and waitress were very helpful,breakfast was adequate and the choice is excellent if in the area again I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a choice try and get a room on the front looking out to sea as the view to the rear of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stucalinz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed one week last summer with our teenage sun as part of coach party. Triple/family room was appalling - double bed and single bed squeezed into alcove with only a 9" table between them, so a 9" pathway to exit the beds as one side of each bed was right up against a wall. Dull and dreary as corner window overlooked rundown back yard. Bathroom not very clean and in need of total modernisation . Concerned that socket for towel rail was so close to sink. Whole place in dire need of refurbishment. Got impression that hotel is run to maximise profit for owners and not to ensure guests are looked after - half a tomato, one sausage, one egg, small rasher of bacon per cooked breakfast and a specific number of toast triangles per guest...wouldn't be surprised to find they even counted the portion of beans per person!! No chance of more toast or tea as in most other hotels!!! Little choice of alternatives to cooked breakfast.
What really angered us was the fact that our son does not drink tea/coffee and , as this formed part of the evening meal, we politely asked if he could have orange juice instead. We were told an outright "no, it's not allowed" by the waiter. When we persisted and stated we would pay for the orange juice, we were still refused. I requested to purchase orange juice again the following evening of a waitress and explained the events of the previous evening, but she too, refused saying it was not allowed. When I asked if I could speak with someone more senior, I was told that "they would say the same thing". This really angered us as our son had paid full adult price for bed, breakfast and evening meal, yet never had a cooked breakfast, therefore saving the hotel the cost of this, yet they refused point-blank to either provide orange juice as an alternative to tea/coffee or even allow us to purchase orange juice.So our son had to sit with nothing each evening while everyone else had tea/coffee! It was noted that other guests were bringing alcoholic drinks with them to the dining room, yet we were not allowed to buy a soft drink. This, the basic bedrooms and the less than generous portion sizes of meals reinforced our view that this "hotel" is more profit driven than guest-orientated. What we found really distasteful was the manager boarding our coach the evening before our departure to say that he hoped we'd enjoyed our stay, which was clearly a preamble to the more important thrust of this visit to the coach which clearly was to remind us that there would a tips box for us to put tips in for staff and how important tips were for staff!!! Unbelievable, in my opinion, that, since the accommodation and level of service barely warranted the price paid per guest, he had the nerve to ask for tips!!! We've stayed in hotels all over the world and never have been prompted in this way for gratuities. To pre-empt manager's response to this review where, as per responses to other reviewers, he will attempt to shift blame to reviewer for failing to raise issue re orange juice with staff, I reiterate that two members of staff were approached re this and both refused the request outright. Indeed, it was stated that a senior member of staff would also refuse the request. Re accommodation, what would have been point of raising issue re standard of room when, according to many other reviewers. other rooms were of a similar poor standard?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerservices_obn, Guest Relations Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Dr ME, thank you for your review. I will come to much of what you have raised in your review in a moment but not knowing when you stayed with us has meant it has been difficult to locate the details of your booking. However we have now discovered that your review goes back to a group reservation during Summer of 2013. We are surprised so much of what you have mentioned was never raised to us during your stay or since your stay. To our knowledge no mention of your dissatisfaction was made to the travel company you booked through either.

Room
We provided you and your family a room that was (we were informed) regarded to be suitable. We exchanged information with the coach company to ensure the room was acceptable to you and as far as we aware, the room was. It was recently redecorated and had new woven striped carpet, new beds, new LED TV, new furniture and new bathroom fittings. Other than yourself we had no other comments other than genuine compliments about the room. It begs the question, if the room was so poor and lacking in facilities or amenities as you say, why then did you not raise the matter with us throughout the duration of your stay, which I understand was for 7 nights? We would have happily looked at providing you with another room had we known the room was not to your liking. From the context of your review it would seem that your criticism stems from your dislike of being placed in an inland view room as opposed to a sea view room and not from the facilities of the room itself.

Meals
We cater for the average appetite and for the majority of our guests one of each item from the full English Breakfast menu is normally sufficient, however guests are welcome to select what they like and only need ask if there is something else/more they want, We are very obliging and would always endeavour to cater for our guests needs. In all the 7 days you were with us we have no recollection of you wanting anything else or mentioning you were unhappy with breakfast. I am unable to trace who you spoke to about the orange juice incident and therefore cannot make any comment on this aspect of your review other than to say it does not resemble how we operate.

Management
Either the General Manager or Front of House manager are always on site and any problems or issues that arise would be dealt with immediately by them. Again your comments beg the question why you did not approach them or perhaps the Coach driver – who I understand acted as your courier - to escalate any of these matters. In addition to this, having read the other guest comments from your group, we are struggling to make sense of how your stay was so indifferent to theirs.

Nevertheless despite the above, we are genuinely sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction. If you would like to clarify any aspect of your review further or provide any additional feedback then please do not hesitate to contact me

In any event thank you for your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the moment we walked through the front door we were impressed with the service and the quality of both our breakfasts and our room. Georgie ( Receptionist and waitress extraordinaire ) could not have been more helpful ! We are looking forward to paying a return visit later in the year.

Room Tip: We didn't ask for a sea view room, but will probably do so next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Harwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £49 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing