We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Visit For The Tennis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oban
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend Visit For The Tennis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Without doubt the stand out factor about this hotel is the owner and staff (a special mention for Georgie), every effort is made to make you feel welcome and it really does make a difference.
The location is great, being a stones throw away from the beach and Devonshire Park, a great bonus if you are visiting for the tennis as we were.
If you are planning a visit to Eastbourne then I would highly recommend this hotel where the guests are put first. We will definately be booking again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a sea view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    59
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
27
100
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Why people pick a 2* hotel for there holiday and then expect all the delights of a 5* is beyond me which a few moaners on our coach did, however the service and friendliness I felt was 5*, all the dinners were good wholesome traditional meals and good full English for breakfast.
I had a single room which although was slightly smaller than others I have stayed in still had all the bits I needed plus the bonus of beautiful sea views.
There was always a member of staff around to help people or just to come and have a chat in the lounge which is very nice when your on your own.
Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Arrived on a beautiful sunny Friday afternoon and asked if we could upgrade to a sea view which was only £10 extra a night.
Quick and friendly check in.
Great location for everything, beach just over the road, town a 10 min walk and theatres just round the corner.
Lovely sun terrace to sit and have a few drinks and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Suzie_sue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fantastic stay at this little hotel. Stayed with friends who were lucky enough to get a sea view room. That said we loved our room just as much, massive king size bed + loved the decor !! Spent most of the day at the beach then back to hotel to sit on the terrace with a bottle of wine before off to the theatre in the evening which was only a 2min walk around the corner. Very busy at breakfast but the staff were brilliant keeping everything topped up and food arrived nice and hot to the table - with a smile. Left feeling refreshed.

Room Tip: Room 26 A lovely big bed and views of the tennis courts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Belle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We fancied a pre summer break by the seaside and were very glad we picked this hotel. We booked for just b&b but decided to have dinner a few nights of our 6 night stay....all the food was delicious.
We had a back room so wasn't the greatest of views, the room was still nice though and we spent most of the day out anyway so wasn't a big issue for us.
We were made to feel extremely welcome by all the staff and can't thank them enough for our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

6 night stay with a group of 40, perfect holiday. Comfortable clean rooms, traditional food- served hot.
3 nights of entertainment plus theatre organised by the hotel to be picked up and dropped back - very helpful for the less Mobil of our group.
Staff and manager couldn't have made us feel more at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited some relatives on Sat 31May. Great price for room with breakfast. Kids loved the sea view and was in wife's good books for selection of hotel.
Good, clean and central to everything local. We were fortunate enough to have arrived During Eastbourne's Carnival. Can't really compare it to any other as haven't really experienced that many to remember. It was great to see the town come together with kids all loving taking part. A wonderful atmosphere and a great location to enjoy it from. The hotels sits in a wonderful position on the seafront and offers what you would expect from any. No grumbles from us. Yes we would return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a must. Paid extra for one with balcony. Defo worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban

Property: Oban
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing