We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - excellent location”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queens Hotel
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel - excellent location”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a long weekend stay on bed and breakfast basis. The location was very good and parking was convenient and never a problem. A grand old hotel which appears well maintained and with very friendly staff. Breakfast was fine all be it with only a very restrictive hour in which to have it. The heating in the rooms was a bit random - hot first night, cold the next but never a major problem and the room and the bathroom were much bigger than a modern hotel would offer you. The lift gets swamped occasionally at breakfast and when a coach party arrives - but just sat in the bar/lounge for 10 minutes then fine

Did 2 shows at the Congress and the Hippodrome (the latter 3 minutes walk away) so missed much of the entertainment in the hotel. What we saw was to us pretty average but the older clientele on the coach tours seemed to enjoy it and the bar was a lively and friendly place to sit once you had a few drinks elsewhere inside you

Clean hotel, friendly staff and friendly other customers - ticks most of the boxes

Room Tip: our non sea facing rooms were fine - on the 5th floor and hence no issues with any creaky floorboard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    117
    46
    16
    16
See reviews for
43
134
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

we stayed at the Queens Hotel in April . What a beautiful Hotel. we had good reports from other Alpha travellers but was really surprised how good it was. Good food Room 510 had everything to make our stay perfect .. entertainment also good...won on bingo. Eastbourne has so much to offer. we had a lovely trip to Brighton .. Will definitely stay at the Queens Hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floor . best 5 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A beautiful hotel with amazing sea views. Good position along the front. Easy access to town centre and shops. Staff always polite and helpful. Very good food. Our room was clean and comfortable. Would be happy to go back at any time.

Room Tip: A sea view is definitely a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank medward273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

stayed in this victorian hotel over the Easter break, went with husband and mother in law, we could only get a triple room, however as the toilet was broken and they were unable to fix it over Easter, we were moved to two twin rooms, the bathrooms were lovely, clean, well stocked, with lovely showers, (no baths), the hotel itself, is rather shabby, could do with a fresh coat of paint, however, what the hotel lacks in looks, is made up for by the attitude of the staff, from the reception staff, to the waitress in the dining room, we couldnt have been better looked after, they were attentive, the waitress made us feel welcome, the food was always hot, if a little basic, however there were plenty of choices, if you like good honest comfort food, however, you need to remember to order the chefs special or the vegetarian option in the morning, all staff were polite, helpful, and friendly, a relaxing stay, so long as you dont mind peace and quiet,

Room Tip: always pay the small surchage for a sea view, its worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tregaron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 7 days, an Alfa holiday without the coach! The staff were friendly, the room clean and comfortable (we had a lovely sea view) and the food was good. A lounge and snooker room available if not wanting the evening entertainment. Useful parking on site and buses just outside. If you want to travel buses go to Eastbourne Information Centre and get a day rover for just under £5 (we have a Welsh bus pass, unfortunately not valid in England), you can travel to Brighton, a lovely scenic journey along the coast and over the Downs, no need to find car parking!!. Yes, the floors were creaky but all part of the atmosphere of a lovely old building.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay at this beautiful Victorian hotel. Like rhe other reviews very friendly welcome. The staff are really efficient. Breakfast was very nice. Good central location for travelling around Sussex. Only downside where the price of the barr were really dear. 20 for four drinks! Also I think the car park should be exclusively for the hotel guests, as when we arrived there was no where to park our car but the staff sorted this out by allowing us to park next to a taxi. Otherwise I could not fault this place. Yes,it has a lot of elderly people staying there but we enjoyed the peace and quiet.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My partner and I came for a 6 nights holiday with Alfa coaches, and thoroughly enjoyed it. While we were there they catered for at least 4 coach loads. Everything ran smoothly, the restaurant, reception, entertainment and room service were supurb. There is a games room that is kept locked, but if you ask reception for the key, and pay a £5 refundable deposit, you can play on a full size snooker table and/or darts. We did, and you get to play in privacy.It is an old hotel with creaking floors and long corridors but you get used to them. Everywhere was clean and bright. My one critisism is that there are notices and little posters everywhere. A lot of them are not needed or duplicated. Yes, by all means keep the 6 that are in the lift there, because they are not on full view, but in the lounge and reception areas I felt they were overdone. The hotel is in a lovely position, opposite the pier, with great views if your room has a sea view. The TV lounge is also at the front. The buses stop right outise, so it's easy to take a ride to Hastings or Brighton. Or maybe a ride on the open top bus round to Beachy Head.(This one costs £5 and you can get on and off at any bus stops on the circuit)

Room Tip: There are 2 lifts so it's easy to get to the higher floors when the hotel is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
877 reviews
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,952 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queens Hotel - Eastbourne [3 Alpha rating 3 AA Star]. This magnificent Victorian hotel is situated in an outstanding position overlooking the pier. All 125 bedrooms have central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, intercom, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Spacious public rooms include a cocktail bar, snooker room, sun lounge and two restaurants. Several function rooms including the Princes Suite with its own bar where entertainment is provided most evenings. Two lifts serve all floors and a wheelchair lift is now available between the ground floor's two levels. Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing