We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queens Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
US$267
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
US$221
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western York House Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$125
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Afton Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$150
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Shore View Hotel(Eastbourne)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$120
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
135
131
53
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
131
53
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelalfa coachleisureplex hotelssea viewfifth floorour waiterfloor boardssqueaky floorboardslovely old buildingdining roomwalk in showergreat holidaymeal timesentertainment roombar pricessea frontevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Recently returned from a 5 day Alfa coach holiday staying at the Queens Hotel in Eastbourne
and I must say I was slightly concerned before going after reading some of the reviews but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The hotel was lovely if a little dated but very clean. we had booked three sea view rooms and were not disappointed with the standard and all had fantastic views of the pier. The quality of food was good and plenty of it, the waiters at meal times were excellent especially Manuel who went above and beyond his duties. My mother in law who travelled with us is disabled and relies on the use of a wheelchair so I was a little concerned how she would manage but again this was no problem as there was a wheelchair lift between the two lower floors and the many staff were only too pleased to help. Also staff on reception could not have been more helpful The evening entertainment was nothing special but ok, I do wonder what some people expect, this hotel is rated a 2 star and well exceeds this but if you want a 5 star hotel then pay 5 star prices. I would certainly return to this hotel with Alfa.

Room Tip: Sea View room a must.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

As part of an inclusive holiday with Alpha Holidays, we spent seven days at the Queens Hotel Eastbourne.

A very old hotel, refurbished to accomodate about 300 guests who arrive in six coaches. Arrival well organised, cases taken to rooms.

Dinner, Bed & Breakfast not bad and guests are required to be sat down at set times. Waiters and the majority of staff from Eastern Europe. Entertainment reasonable, but the light to read during the evening poor. Bingo each night is a must. Guests tend to be elderly. Would not rave nor return in the future.

It is worthwhile to spend that extra £10 a night for a room with a sea view.

Room Tip: Must spend an extra £10 per night to secure a bedroom at the front of the hotel with a view of the Pier. Just read the previous post, and by coincidence must have stopped in the same bedroom 309 the four nights previous to ourselves. We agree with everything that they have written, except to state that the bedroom was in our opinion very large. Regimentation at this hotel reminded my of a stay at Butlins holiday camp - Not impressed to say the least
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John42Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very disappointing stay at this hotel. Had paid for an upgrade to a seaview room which are slightly bigger and usually better. Couldn't have been more wrong. Definitely avoid Room 309 which is on the 3rd floor. Bed very uncomfortable, (too hard for me) needed to use my topper which I now carry in the top of my case. The bathroom was small and the water was never hot. We stayed 4 nights in all and only managed to get a hot shower once. We complained and were told that we should turn on both sink and bath taps and leave until the hot came through. After leaving both these taps running for 30 mins wasting all that water, still we had cold water.
The food was OK but they have used the same menu at this chain of hotels for years without changing it. On the plus side it was always piping hot when it arrived and nobody would leave hungry.
The dining staff were very pleasant but some of the foreign staff didn't seem to understand us at times. The meal times were a bit regimental and you had to sit on the same table everyday.
Would not visit again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 309 if you want to have a hot shower/bath. Beds seem pretty well the same as most people were complaining they were hard.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Southernpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Two of us stayed in twin room 115 from 13th June to 16 June. We have stayed at the Queens Hotel on many occasions before to visit family and have always enjoyed the stay. The hotel has a car park which is a great advantage, the staff provide an excellent service and the hotel, though, dated has a great charm about it. As I wasn't well on two nights I had gone to our room at about 10pm and the noise from the music in the bar below was horrendous. This was compounded by squeaking floorboards. Having paid extra for a superior room with balcony the least i would expect is a room that is reasonably quiet. Avoid room 115 at all costs.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Went with Alfa coach holidays to Eastbourne this week
Was very disappointed with the room very dated and the bed was not comfy at all .The bedding was cheap quality and very thin pillows
The food was poor quality and very basic too.
The cooked breakfast was low cheap poor quality and very small portions too
Then the dinner food was just the same to
It's such a shame that the hotel has spoilt our enjoyment of the holiday which is not a cheap coach holiday either

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank helenheaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews