We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic old world hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic old world hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Beautiful architecture and a real sense of grandeur. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms very spacious indeed. I was here on a work event and the food was excellent along with the champagne.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooders-McDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    348
    188
    71
    33
See reviews for
373
727
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We recently had a couple of nights at this hotel and were really pleased will the service, accomodation and food. We had a night in each restaurant and both were excellent. The service all round is wonderful. We will be going back as soon as we can. A lovely treat.

Room Tip: Corner rooms catch both views direct to sea and along the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My partner booked a weekend here as a surprise, and we had a very enjoyable stay. There were a few little niggles (eg breakfast on day 2 was somewhat shambolic), but overall the service was excellent. The vast hotel is clearly maintained regularly at great expense, and is beautiful and impressive, and we give this top rating on the basis of the common areas. Our room was large and comfortable without noise. The style is traditional, so don't choose this hotel if you prefer something more fashionable. An army of staff, in smart uniforms, collaborate to make your stay comfortable... they even pour your tea for you!
Highlights:
Watch those who can dance to the band in the evening
Have the glorious afternoon tea in the Grand (?) Hall
Dinner in Mirabelle's was very special, with a high standard of cuisine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife and I are now 'regulars' at The Grand and ensure that we have the same balcony, sea-view suite on each visit, when we make it our base for attending the operas at Glyndebourne.
This hotel gives you the best reception experience in the country .. and it doesn't diminish in other departments. May I particularly recommend the cocktails mixed by Gabor .. which he will concoct to suit your personality (!) .. so you find out what impression you make. True; the hotel doesn't (yet) have the plasma screens and gadgets which some hotels need in order to distract clients' attention away from the fact that their hotel lacks character and the amenities which will entertain you outside of your room.
We’re booked for our third (return) visit this year .. as I’m happy ‘to put my money where my mouth is’.

Room Tip: If you need something ... ring. The Concierge is happy to oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank operabuff_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Excellence from start to finish!

We stayed 3 nights. The welcome, service, food and accomodation were spot-on!

A result in every sense.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godmanchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We recently stayed here with our two children (5yrs, 11 months)and had a lovely time. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Our daughter enjoyed the Grand Kids package and loved her cookies and milk every night. Both pools were lovely and it was nice to swim somewhere warm!
Our only gripe was with the food. Although there is an allocated time in the restaurant for family dining we found the menu too much for us when eating with small people!! Our daughter had her meal in the lounge which was nice but the menu for us was very limited. However, there are plenty of family resturants to eat in around Eastbourne so this would not put us off going back. Helen, Cambs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Had two fabulous nights here at the end of July and can only describe our visit as perfect. Greeted by the Concierge who escorted us to reception. Speedy and efficient check and we were escorted to a lovely room on the first floor which had all the amenities you would expect of a hotel of this calibre.The room was comfortable, well decorated and had a very good siized en-suite. We ate in the 'Garden Restaurant' on both evenings and the service and food were superb ( love the way the staff reveal your dish by syncronised lifting of the silver domed plate covers). Slept really well in the comfortable bed and enjoyed a substantial breakfast both mornings. Choice of hot breakfast buffet or order from the menu together with a fabulous continental choice.
All The staff we encountered were efficient, polite and friendly and I don't know how they could improve. Good location on the sea front and a short pleasant walk to the town centre. The area at the rear of the hotel is known as 'Little Chelsea' and there are very nice shops and restaurants, cafe bars, etc.
I would not hesitate to return and in fact looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#11 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing