We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had our fortieth wedding anniversary at the Grand, and our children and grandchildren also came for dinner and overnight. We had a superb suite overlooking the seafront which was very luxurious. The hotel as always was most impressive and all the staff polished and efficient whilst remaining approachable and friendly. I would agree with some of the other comments that the dinner in the Garden Room, (good value for a five star hotel) may be a little average and could perhaps be a little more memorable in its content and cooking. But overall an extremely pleasant and comfortable long weekend, which we would heartily recommend to anyone seeking a memorable visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    336
    179
    69
    32
See reviews for
359
711
41
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SEAFORD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have been frequenting this lovely hotel since Elite took it over and spent millions on renovations. I am an Elite Club member so frequent the restaurant often and stay in the hotel at least once each year. I have celebrated my 50th in the hotel and also my partners 50th when we stayed in the Debussy Suite for 2 nights (excellent). The Mirabelle is a good fine dining experience and reasonably priced and what the hotel has its AA rosettes for. The Garden Restaurant table d'hotel menu has crept up in price whilst the selection has diminished. The food is nowhere near as good as it once was. It is clear that the hotel has not been immune from the financial climate and costs have been cut, noticeably so. Coffee and petit fours are now chargeable, staff numbers reduced drastically and plate sizes reduced. The extravagant flower arrangements and the perfumes that once pervaded the hotel have been cut back. I cannot fault the staff or service in any of the areas, polite and friendly whilst being discreet but it has to be said that when the hotel is very busy things don't always go as well as one would expect from a 5 star establishment. I have tried pretty much all the rooms from suite down to executive sea view and can honestly say they have always been clean and comfortable. I like the old fashioned antique feel about the place. I love the Grand at Eastbourne and will be a loyal customer for many years to come but there are some improvements required.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if you are going to stay more than one night, well worth the extra. Dine in Mira...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was a memorable hotel whose impeccable hospitality and friendliness made you want to stay longer. The room had a sea view and balcony which enhanced the ambience and the hotel facilities were great for our family including our 7yr old who loved the swim pool, pitch & putt and snooker room!

A hotel for celebration and relaxation made afternoon tea glamourously effortless, which by the sea made this a great coastal location for families and all. Loved the romantic Garden Restaurant, pianist and attention to detail. The service and location make this a 5 star hotel, beautiful hotel in a fab part of the country with the promenade, South Downs & dramatic coastline. A favourite!

Room Tip: A sea view gives stunning views of the English Channel, lovely before breakfast or dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmabumpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights to celebrate a special occasion. The hotel lived up to our expectations in that it was indeed, grand, and the staff level of service (excluding the Garden Restaurant) was very good, and the room comfortable and pleasant to be in. Hotel facilities were very good. The champagne afternoon tea in particular was very good, and the service excellent. However, we were extremely disappointed in the quality of food and the service in the Garden Restaurant. We had booked for our special occasion evening dinner, but didn't think it provided a special occasion. On arrival, the maitre'd ignored us for 2/3 minutes before acknowledging us - he was busy with his booking sheet - and then we were 40 minutes being seated before we had any service. The service was then perfunctory, and the food was bland and uninteresting - it's a traditional menu, but that doesn't mean it has to be without some imaginative taste. It was like very basic pub grub - but at a much higher price! As the alternative restaurant menu was not to our liking, we then had to find places to eat out as we cancelled our subsequent Garden Restaurant bookings.

Room Tip: It's well worth getting a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Only had the afternoon tea - so can't comment on the rooms, but the afternoon tea was not worth the money at £22.50 per person.

Afternoon tea should be a lavish affair - this was not. We received 4 bitesize sandwiches, a selection of dull cakes and scones which were too "bready" in texture to be good scones. The clotted cream serving was miserly, tea lukewarm and no choice for coffee.

Service: The staff, in ill fitting uniforms, did not really know what they were doing. This was anything but elegant. Our waitress brougth fresh tea to the table before removing the old tea and so had nowhere to put the pots down - she was flustered as to what to do. Another waiter referred to my mother as "dear".
The couple next to us were seated at a dirty table and sat for 10 minutes looking at dirty crockery before new was brought - remember this is supposed to be a 5 * hotel!
Ambience: Splendid room and beautiful fireplace.
Do not waste your money here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AitchX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

It was a wonderful experience. We have been there on 3 ocasions, and each time the overall service and food is excellent.
The breakfast is the highlight of the trip, with just so much to choose from. The fresh honey from the comb was delicious, and something I've never seen in a hotel before.
LOOKING FORWARD TOT EH NEXT VISIT

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are lovely, and as the hotel is away from the road, it's not at all noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked The Grand,Eastbourne.The welcome from the doorman was great and reception good with a quick check in.The room was nice albeit a little dated,It was clean with a large bathroom and dressing area.The room was at the front so we had a fantastic sea view.Service in the lounge pre supper was very good.Our meal in The Garden Resturant wasnt very exciting,with poor service,My husband wanted a glass of red with his cheese which he had eaten by the time the waiter came back to take the order...We waited over 30 minutes in the lounge for coffee..We gave up and went to bed.We didnt bother with breakfast the following morning.We have stayed a few times before and always had a good stay.This is the same group as Ashdown Park. They should take notes from them.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 47mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing