We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seriously faded around the edges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“seriously faded around the edges”
Reviewed 8 February 2008

Stayed here in Feb 2008 and I wouldn't go back. The hotel is certainly grand and the reception area very impressive. The room however was very dated, the mattresses should have been replaced years ago, and the only concession to this century was the broadband connection (additionally charged) - but even that was awkward to use as there wasn't a proper desk, and also there was no place to plug in the lap-top unless you unplugged the table lamp.

It was nice to be greeted at the door and have our bags brought in for us, however service elsewhere was lax - it isn't pleasant to see dirty room service trays laying in the corridors waiting to be collected for up to 12 hours.

Breakfast was excellent, but other meals were frankly disappointing. The menu itself could easily have been written in 1985.

This place has potential but it definitely is not five star.

  • Liked — location on the beach
  • Disliked — appalling mattresses
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank brandenburg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    354
    189
    71
    34
See reviews for
381
739
41
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

After a lousy Christmas and a bad health January, this was the perfect way to be lifted out of the gloom. From the moment we arrived we were looked after and made to feel very welcome. The hotel was very busy due to a Mozart weekend but this just added to the buzz. We loved the palm court style 1920s string quartet and the dancing on the Friday and Saturday. We aren't ancient but we aren't young either and this made us feel like we could have fun again. Food terrific, service terrific and the room large, comfortable and quiet.

  • Liked — Large, very comfortable bed, especially the pillows. High quality bedlinen.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Railtourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

Stayed her with my mother and daughter whilst pregnant with my twins. My husband was away at a conference and I wanted a relaxing break before the twins were born.

The staff of the hotel could not do enough for me, especially my young daughter who is usually quite fussy about hotels.

The food was a delight, especially the breakfast.

I was a little scared of staying here because i thought it was only for pensioners but i had such a good time. My daughter loved the clean and beautiful beach which was seconds from the hotel.

We had such a good stay that i have booked to stay here again this easter with my husband and the twins!

  • Liked — Restaurants
  • Disliked — room occasionally got a little warm
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Superb position on the best part of the sea front. Looks great from the outside.. Imposing.

The main public rooms downstairs are equally fine. But move more inside and it shows that the hotel has been in fact an amalgam of different buildings; the impression given is of long corridors , many odd corners , lots of small steps and everything often a bit dark.

Bedrooms large with high ceilings. And if you are on the front;great views

Staff are welcoming

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank roger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2007

I know that Eastbourne and the Grand Hotel has a bit of reputation "of do not go unless you are getting your pension" about it. We are definitely not in that category but I have to say, that as a couple, we had a great time there. As soon as we arrived a member of staff took our car away from us and the level of the staff's attention never dropped from that moment - they were excellent. The room was very well maintained and clean. We had lunch relaxing on a large sofa with very nice food and a couple of bottles of wine and the staff could not do enough for us. Dinner was excellent and the wine sommelier choose some lovely wine for us and the food was very well prepared.

In some ways we were surprised to have enjoyed it so much as I was half expecting a bit of a old persons, 1920's, art deco, slightly dilapidated, kind of hotel. How wrong I was! Recommended.
.

  • Liked — Excellent service and food
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank keithE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

Our two night stay was brought for us as present from our children. Apart from having great parents, what excellent taste they have! From the moment the concierge greeted us, til the moment the porter put our bags in the car, the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The meals were as good as ever one could expect. This was, without exception the best hotel worldwide, we have ever stayed in over the last twenty two years.

  • Liked — friendliness
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fredandmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

If you like the traditional grand hotel, this is a great spot. Right across from the sea walk; comfortable rooms, very nice discreet service. Lovely, old-fashioned experience, in the best possible way.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sretna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing