We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shore View Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western York House Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cavendish Hotel(Eastbourne)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,193)
Filter reviews
2,193 results
Traveller rating
1,296
513
241
93
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,296
513
241
93
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden restaurantafternoon teaoutdoor poolhealth clubmolton brown toiletriesmaster suiteturn down servicefive star hotelsteam roomspa facilitiesgarden roomsconesbirthday treatsea viewparking spacesouth coastkippers
Filter
Updating list...
1,568 - 1,573 of 2,193 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was my first time staying at The Grand, From the moment we arrived, all the staff were friendly and helpful. My husband and brother booked this hotel to celebrate my birthday, We had our 7 year old daughter with us, and the staff looked after her as well as us adults. My daughter wants to Live in this hotel now. Oliver from the bar area, was very helpful and friendly, and as i am not a big fan of children at the bar area, Oliver was brilliant, he was very good with my daughter. The food was lovely. The whole weekend was brilliant. We could not get booked into some of the treatments as they was fully booked, but did enjoy the swimming pool. We are going back in a couple of weeks for our Christmas do, i have booked up my treatments in advance so i am looking forward to this. Highly recoment this hotel. Thank you The Grand.

Room Tip: We had sea view room on 3rd floor. Lovely and quite, I had a hairdryer which is a girls must have, in the room. T.V which we didn't get to watch. Lovely view even in October.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

From the moment my husband and I arrived at The Grand, Eastbourne, we did not stop smiling. We felt as if we had been taken back in time. The Grand is certainly 'grand' and we hardly felt the need to leave the hotel as it more than fulfilled our every requirement. Every member of staff went that extra mile to provide us with a totally relaxing and enjoyable experience. I booked our accommodation through the hotel and the receptionist was so helpful, spending time trying to give me the right deal to suit my needs and purse. The food was wonderful, from breakfast to our evening meal. It was a joy starting our day with a swim, sauna, etc. and the same before dressing for our evening meal in the restaurant. We returned home after our three days at The Grand, Eastbourne, feeling totally relaxed and planning when we could return. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: As this was a first visit for us and on the spur of the moment, we asked for as economical a room as possible but providing us with a sea view. The room was lovely, third floor, which presented no problem as lifts were fine, and provided all our needs. Next time I think we will give ourselves a bigger treat and try a front facing room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Style is one thing and substance another, and The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, has them in equal measure.
Style is found in the grand architecture of the building and glorious interiors. Substance comes in the outstanding service of the staff, nothing is too much trouble for them. To describe it as service with a smile would be inadequate, rather warmth and courtesy is a more adequate description.
So this comes with our sincere thanks to all the staff at the Grand for a delightful first stay - thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Whilst other English seaside resorts have lost their 5 star hotels, Eastbourne appears unique in retaining the Grand. Whether you choose to experience the bracing winds and the rough sea as we did this morning or the sunshine of the summer months, the Grand provides a wonderful base.
From the moment we arrived to be greeted by the concierge and receptionist to the moment we checked out it was obvious that this was a special hotel. It is very well presented with extensive lounges and deep, comfortable chairs (!) two restaurants, including an extensive leisure facilities. Dinner was excellent and way ahead of the usual 'hotel dinning room' experience. However, what makes the hotel is the staff and their attitude to customer service. They are discreet, professional but friendly and each seem to enjoy their job. Enquiries indicated many have extremely long service, so that is part of the reason for such a high level of attention from room maids to porters, from receptionists to waiting staff.
Keep up the good work. We shall be back!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea facing room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterRand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed 28-31 October 2013 on an Autumn Break. Best decision of the year! The "wedding cake" lived up to every expectation. Reception and welcome impeccable. Staff attentiveness impeccable throughout. Dining experience impeccable. Public rooms impeccable. Cleanliness impeccable - with staff wonderfully uniformed. Yes, the bedrooms may look a little "tired" in their furnishings but they are carefully crafted to suit the style of the hotel - and let's not get too hung up about carpets in bathrooms. I have no doubt that the Grand will continue to require gentlemen to dress "properly" for dinner and so they should. Those who do not wish to do so should exercise their right to stay elsewhere rather then whinge about the higher standards required at the Grand.

Room Tip: Yes, sea views are generally to be welcomed at the seaside but don't be afraid of a street view if there is not enough stretch in the budget. The rooms as such are just as good.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews