We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cavendish Hotel(Eastbourne)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shore View Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western York House Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,193)
Filter reviews
2,193 results
Traveller rating
1,296
513
241
93
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,296
513
241
93
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden restaurantafternoon teaoutdoor poolhealth clubmolton brown toiletriesmaster suiteturn down servicefive star hotelsteam roomspa facilitiesgarden roomsconesbirthday treatsea viewparking spacesouth coastkippers
Filter
Updating list...
1,562 - 1,567 of 2,193 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had a wonderful meal in the Mirabell restaurant. Staff were very attentive but not intrusive and the food was exquisite. A luxurious evening in beautiful surroundings with restful atmosphere was a real treat. This is a wonderful place for a special meal as a couple or special occasion.

Room Tip: Take rooms with a sea view, they really are worth the extra for that morning view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florencebabyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed overnight at this truly wonderful hotel for my 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived everyone was polite, friendly and very professional, they made me feel so very special. I had my birthday meal in the Mirabelle restaurant, what can I say it was just superb. The food delicious and the staff were so attentive a big Thank you to the restaurant manager Benjamin and his staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rollingstone1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

BOOKING
We booked our visit at the last minute and on the telephone. The lady was very efficient and allocated us the best room for our price, and included some special offers. The whole process was efficient and polite.

RECEPTION
We arrived at the hotel by car and was requested by the Concierge to drive up to the main entrance, where he proceeded to unload out luggage, take us to the hotel reception, hand our luggage to his assistant and park our car, all whilst we 'signed in.' Great efficiency.
We were then taken to our room, with the Porter explaining all of the facilities of the hotel during the time it took to take us to our room. He then explained about the room, and its facilities, and before we knew it he had left.
There was no waiting for a tip, and we subsequently learnt than none of the staff expect any. Tipping always appears to be demeaning, for both the receiver and the giver.
What a wonderful experience and introduction to the hotel.

THE ROOM
Spacious, pleasantly decorated, if a little old fashioned. The bed could have been larger, could have been a bit firmer, but everyone's requirements for beds is different. We subsequently learnt that a board could be placed under the matress if required, but we decided to accept what we were given, and we did not suffer any negative effects.
The hotel information brochure was little brief, and this could be extended, but this is an unduly harsh criticism.

THE BAR
The bar was noisey on our first evening, but this was the day guests, rather than the 'hotel' guests! The staff shut doors to separate the day guests from the hotel guests, for they were obviously aware of the potential problems.
Orders for drinks were quickly taken, and delivered, together with some nuts, crisps and olives. Subsequently some canapes were also delivered and described.
One evening there was a delay in our receiving the dinner menus, and then for our order to be taken, but in general the staff were very attentive and very polite. They used our name, rather than the room number, a nice touch.
The bar was a little cold on one evening, so we moved to one of the inner rooms, without windows. This was an easier solution than to raise any concerns.

DINNER
We ate in both of the restaurants, and the service in both was exceptional, as was the food. I do not think that we had a single bad meal, or even a mediocre meal. I did have a steak one eveing, which was not the best cut of meat, but everything else was well cooked and well prepared.
One evening the leeks were exceptional and I asked for a second helping. These were delivered quickly and efficiently, and tasted just as good as the first serving.

The hotel advertises a three course menu, but in both restaurants this transformed into a five course meal. There was always a 'complimentary' entre and a sorbet.

The presentation and quality of service throughout our visit was of an extremely high standard. Each main course was delivered under a domed cover, and there was a little 'theatrical' experience when the 'voila' moment arrived. All very well done and raised one's enjoyment of the performance, and the meal.

One waiter obviously had some issues, but these appeared to be kept away from ourselves.

BREAKFASTS
I suggest that this was the worst part of the hotel. On Saturday and Sunday mornings, when the hotel is the fullest, the breakfast's are buffet style, for all 'courses.' For a 5* hotel this was a little disappointing. On weekdays one only had to collect the cereals or fresh fruit. This was not a hardship, but we have stayed at smaller hotels, who provide a better standard of service.

The breakfast staff were all polite and efficient.

PUBLIC AREAS
These were all clean, neat and tidy and the housekeeping staff should be congratulated.
The main entrance hall is extremely grand and on Sunday afternoon a musical event was staged. This meant that we residents had a circuitous route to the lifts, through the bar. The music, a string quartet and piano I think, appeared pleasant, and was obviously appreciated by the paying day guests.

HOUSE-KEEPING
Very efficient, and the staff were all pleasant and efficient. They are to be congratulated. We also liked their uniforms.

MUSIC
In the Mirabelle restaurant there was a programmable piano, and in the Garden restaurant on Saturday evening there was a pianist, who was very good.

OVERALL
Would we stay again?
YES.
One or two niggles but overall and excellent break, at an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: A sea view is nice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BowlsCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

as in area, popped in for a quiet drink in the evening, the atmosphere in the bar was good but staff did not appear they wanted to serve you and were not helpful at all. Had one drink but would not return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidays072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We went to the Grand Hotel, Eastbourne as a party of four for Sunday lunch. It was a wet day and we were warmly greeted by the doorman who parked the car for us.

We were shown to a lounge for pre-dinner drinks and canapés and given the menu. There was no rush and we were given positive answers to our enquiries before being escorted to the dining room.

This is where the hotel excels, being beautifully furnished and comfortable too. The head waiter showed us to our pre-selected table. The food and service was first class – superb even!
After lunch we were escorted back to the lounge for coffee and chocolates. Upon leaving, our car was delivered to the door, to save us getting wet.

Altogether it was a wonderful experience. Our thanks go to Barbara and Martyn and the rest of the Garden Restaurant team, not forgetting the pianist.

David and Margaret Martin

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews