We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Xmas Lunch in The Mirrabelle” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing Xmas Lunch in The Mirrabelle”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

First time eaten in The Mirrabelle - will in future stick to The Garden Restaurant.
The corridors from the bar to the restaurant were miserable and the décor in The Mirrabelle equally dull.
We had the set festive lunch and the starter was by far the best course. I had the lamb as a main which was just ok but the vegetables were served straight on the plate - cabbage, red pepper and dauphonoise potatoes with a stick of lavender poked into it (strange mix????)
The desserts were the worst course - 2 of my friends left theirs (caramel pineapple with black pepper ice cream which after swallowing burnt their throats) and the waiter just cleared the plates and didn't even ask why they were left.
Very disappointing after looking forward to the lunch on The Mirrabelles reputation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    340
    184
    69
    32
See reviews for
361
717
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Every second spent at the Grand was indeed grand! I was smiling from the moment we were greeted at our car, shown handsomely to our delightful room and lay down on the incredible bed… I felt like a princess come home!! The grand didnt miss a beat, every moment was carefully, generously and skillfully delivered… indulging a terrific fantasy of timeless charm… I loved the range and quality of the cocktail bar, as a cookery teacher, I was blown away by the quality and sadly, rare, generosity, of the catering. as a therapist and a mother, I came away, feeling truly looked after, spoilt in fact, refreshed and reminded how special it feels to be cared and catered for. It felt that each person played their part and enjoyed their work. An incredible treat for which I am still gratefully smiling!!

Room Tip: remember to ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here as part of a Christmas party group booking. The hotel staff were wonderful, couldn’t do enough for you, and the food was excellent.
My only gripe would be over sleep quality. I had a room over some sort of heating/air conditioning unit and didn’t sleep a wink – there was just a constant drone … I was in room 225 and a colleague was in 243 and had the same issue. I would recommend that anyone who is a light sleeper requests a room away from this inner area where the generator is.
Oh, and carpet in the bathroom is generally a no no - that should really be replaced with tiles...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suefarmer2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Grand on a BB & D basis and had a wonderful time from the moment we drove up to the entrance to the time we left. The hotel and the service is old fashioned in the best possible way. Such nice friendly staff, brilliant housekeeping and lovely food. Our room was large and we were given a complimentary fridge which was handy for cooling our pre dinner drinks whilst we were changing for dinner. Hope to return soon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonUKAnnE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Luxurious hotel in ideal location. Excellent staff. Beautiful and elegant surroundings with historic and traditional 'step back in time' feel and theme. Comfortable room. Pleasant restaurant and lounge with very helpful staff.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Photonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had a wonderful meal in the Mirabell restaurant. Staff were very attentive but not intrusive and the food was exquisite. A luxurious evening in beautiful surroundings with restful atmosphere was a real treat. This is a wonderful place for a special meal as a couple or special occasion.

Room Tip: Take rooms with a sea view, they really are worth the extra for that morning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florencebabyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed overnight at this truly wonderful hotel for my 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived everyone was polite, friendly and very professional, they made me feel so very special. I had my birthday meal in the Mirabelle restaurant, what can I say it was just superb. The food delicious and the staff were so attentive a big Thank you to the restaurant manager Benjamin and his staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rollingstone1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#22 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing