We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lunch in style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

You have to book early to get a table for Christmas in this lovely old school hotel. The decorations were festive but classy and the restaurants were decked with timeless tradition. We booked a table for 3 people in October and had to wait for the confirmation as they had been fully booked since the beginning of August. The reservation clerk however, worked her magic and managed to sort something for us in the Princes Restaurant. We arrived at 12 for a champagne reception then on to a 4 course delicious lunch of turkey and trimmings or lamb which was succulent and very tasty. Puddings to follow then coffee, petit fours and mince pies in the foyer overlooking the seaside on what turned out to be a gorgeous sunny day after all the deluge of rain and wind seen on previous days. Everything was well served, hot, flavoursome and well worth every penny. At £120 per head it may seem pricey but we were totally spoilt and our every request met throughout with well trained, smiling and good humoured staff. We wobbled out after five feeling full, festive and contented. The Grand is a super hotel throughout the year but they excel on special occasions and we'll be back again between now and Easter Sunday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

i took my wife for a birthday celebration. Dinner bed and breakfast.The hotel was not informed as we wished it to be a private affair. Everything went smoothly, beginning with an up-grade to a very pleasant sea view room. The dinner was in a quiet restaurant with very tasty food, service and attention impeccable.
Breakfast the following morning was more than adequate. Full English, cooked to order.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was invited to tea at the Grand Hotel Eastbourne and had a wonderful time in the opulent grand hall. Contrary to our surroundings, the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable with gentle piano music and a roaring open fire. We opted for the Champagne tea which included a glass of chilled bubbly followed by a choice of tea's, sandwich selection, dainty cakes and pastries and cream scones. The service was outstanding as was the meal itself and we were made to feel very special by the whole occasion.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Margret Robinson has asked me to post a review on her behalf as she is a regular visitor to this hotel, and always receives a warm welcome from all the staff throughout the hotel. All public areas are spacious, comfortable and elegant. Dining first rate in The Garden and Mirabelle restaurants with interesting menus, lovely afternoon tea in the drawing room.
The bedrooms, tastefully decorated, very well appointed and sparkling clean.
The cocktail bar has a happy congenial atmosphere .
On making my reservation directly with the hotel it's always pleasing how staff are happy to discuss room requirements .
I love the location of the Grand, wonderful sea views, also, throughout the year, post from the Grand with information on special events, and special offers.
A very happy and comfortable stay, thank you.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank nicholasandronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

my partner and i stayed for my 50th birthday and staying in a very basic room totally spoiled my birthday. the room was very old fashioned with peeling wallpaper. the bathroom was even worse with filthy carpet on the floor and a shower that was little more than a trickle. the breakfast was a farce as i would have expected waiter service not buffet and certainly not hanging about waiting for it to be replenished. i did email the manager but got very short shift for my trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

First time eaten in The Mirrabelle - will in future stick to The Garden Restaurant.
The corridors from the bar to the restaurant were miserable and the décor in The Mirrabelle equally dull.
We had the set festive lunch and the starter was by far the best course. I had the lamb as a main which was just ok but the vegetables were served straight on the plate - cabbage, red pepper and dauphonoise potatoes with a stick of lavender poked into it (strange mix????)
The desserts were the worst course - 2 of my friends left theirs (caramel pineapple with black pepper ice cream which after swallowing burnt their throats) and the waiter just cleared the plates and didn't even ask why they were left.
Very disappointing after looking forward to the lunch on The Mirrabelles reputation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Every second spent at the Grand was indeed grand! I was smiling from the moment we were greeted at our car, shown handsomely to our delightful room and lay down on the incredible bed… I felt like a princess come home!! The grand didnt miss a beat, every moment was carefully, generously and skillfully delivered… indulging a terrific fantasy of timeless charm… I loved the range and quality of the cocktail bar, as a cookery teacher, I was blown away by the quality and sadly, rare, generosity, of the catering. as a therapist and a mother, I came away, feeling truly looked after, spoilt in fact, refreshed and reminded how special it feels to be cared and catered for. It felt that each person played their part and enjoyed their work. An incredible treat for which I am still gratefully smiling!!

Room Tip: remember to ask for a sea view!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlotte h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £148 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing