We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch at a very good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch at a very good price”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were invited to a family / friends lunch and prior research showed a good menu and price. We were not disappointed; although we were not residents we received a warm welcome from the doorman and were ushered into the lounge for drinks. Service from all the staff was warm and welcoming and the three course set lunch offered a good range of choices, all cooked to perfection and served with style. If you are looking for a treat with excellent lunch, served in a luxurious setting but at a very good price, then I would thoroughly recommend The Grand.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    371
    193
    76
    37
See reviews for
393
768
42
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Years ago I lived in Eastbourne and it was always my wish to stay at the Grand, well I got my wish! We arrived on Saturday pm and was courtesly greeted by the staff and shown to our room, which was slightly dated, but still comfortable. We had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant which was late into the night and so we were looking forward to a lay in in the morning. How wrong we were. Our phone went at 7.30am promptly followed by room service staff banging on our bedroom door with someone else's early morning fresh milk, slight apologies here. Breakfast is somewhat confusing; my husband and I went into breakfast together but he had to go to the car to collect something, the waitress promptly took the menu of the table so my husband wasn't to get a choice of freshly cooked or buffet. On checking out, there was a piece of jewellery which I was interested in purchasing but they were too busy to deal with my request. The check out was so rushed,at least in a Premier Lodge, when you have a complaint they listen. The receptionist at the Grand gave us glib apologies.

My husband and I emailed the manager about the dis-satisfactory service and we still are awaiting a response, but won't hold my breath! I was going to return during the year to give them a second chance but....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

You have to book early to get a table for Christmas in this lovely old school hotel. The decorations were festive but classy and the restaurants were decked with timeless tradition. We booked a table for 3 people in October and had to wait for the confirmation as they had been fully booked since the beginning of August. The reservation clerk however, worked her magic and managed to sort something for us in the Princes Restaurant. We arrived at 12 for a champagne reception then on to a 4 course delicious lunch of turkey and trimmings or lamb which was succulent and very tasty. Puddings to follow then coffee, petit fours and mince pies in the foyer overlooking the seaside on what turned out to be a gorgeous sunny day after all the deluge of rain and wind seen on previous days. Everything was well served, hot, flavoursome and well worth every penny. At £120 per head it may seem pricey but we were totally spoilt and our every request met throughout with well trained, smiling and good humoured staff. We wobbled out after five feeling full, festive and contented. The Grand is a super hotel throughout the year but they excel on special occasions and we'll be back again between now and Easter Sunday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

i took my wife for a birthday celebration. Dinner bed and breakfast.The hotel was not informed as we wished it to be a private affair. Everything went smoothly, beginning with an up-grade to a very pleasant sea view room. The dinner was in a quiet restaurant with very tasty food, service and attention impeccable.
Breakfast the following morning was more than adequate. Full English, cooked to order.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was invited to tea at the Grand Hotel Eastbourne and had a wonderful time in the opulent grand hall. Contrary to our surroundings, the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable with gentle piano music and a roaring open fire. We opted for the Champagne tea which included a glass of chilled bubbly followed by a choice of tea's, sandwich selection, dainty cakes and pastries and cream scones. The service was outstanding as was the meal itself and we were made to feel very special by the whole occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Margret Robinson has asked me to post a review on her behalf as she is a regular visitor to this hotel, and always receives a warm welcome from all the staff throughout the hotel. All public areas are spacious, comfortable and elegant. Dining first rate in The Garden and Mirabelle restaurants with interesting menus, lovely afternoon tea in the drawing room.
The bedrooms, tastefully decorated, very well appointed and sparkling clean.
The cocktail bar has a happy congenial atmosphere .
On making my reservation directly with the hotel it's always pleasing how staff are happy to discuss room requirements .
I love the location of the Grand, wonderful sea views, also, throughout the year, post from the Grand with information on special events, and special offers.
A very happy and comfortable stay, thank you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nicholasandronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

my partner and i stayed for my 50th birthday and staying in a very basic room totally spoiled my birthday. the room was very old fashioned with peeling wallpaper. the bathroom was even worse with filthy carpet on the floor and a shower that was little more than a trickle. the breakfast was a farce as i would have expected waiter service not buffet and certainly not hanging about waiting for it to be replenished. i did email the manager but got very short shift for my trouble.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing