We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at the Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the Grand for one weekend at the end of March 2014. It was a very good experience. Especially staying in a hotel with almost 140 years of history was amazing.

The staff were polite, welcoming very helpful. We stayed in a deluxe room, which was OK in size for two people but you may find it small if you are travelling with your baby and going to ask for a cotbed.

Everything, including SPA was good. However the only disappointing part was the breakfast. It is included in the room price - which is good but you would expect a better breakfast from a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Standard Deluxe rooms are small for a cot bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ece - Dorukhan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

My partner and I decided to spend a weekend in Eastbourne. We needed a break from the Big Smoke and the smog. It was our first time in Eastbourne and it was simply lovely. The town has kept its traditional touches and has not become seedy which was refreshing.
We stayed at the Grand and it did not disappoint and truly deserve its name. The hotel oozes grandeur and whilst part of it could do with some refreshing, the facilities are second to none. You really feel like you are stepping into a 5 stars hotel.
Staff: The receptionists (especially Anton) as well as the rest of the staff were delightful and made us very welcome. Only improvements would be around restaurant reservation and late night order:
1. that we asked for reservation and they was a misunderstanding when we got to the restaurant which had not been communicated to us
2. we ordered some hot chocolates and we had to chased for the cream and marshmallow. However they recognized their mistakes and did not charge us for them.
Room:
Spacious and the bed (effectively two single beds put together) big and comfortable. The bathroom was modern.
Hotel Facilities:
We thoroughly enjoyed the spa and my partner also had an express massage and rated it as in his top 3 massages (he is an expert). The breakfast selection was superb and the food delicious (meaty sausages always get top mark from me). The only drawbacks I could see is that the grounds need a bit of looking after (but then again it is only April) as well as some areas of the hotel.
Overall if you want a romantic weekend away in a bit of luxury then the Grand really hits the right note.
I would definitely recommend it and go back for more Grand-eur fun in Eastbourne!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0481Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here again, in a second floor suite with sea view. From the moment I drove into the grounds and was met by the doorman trying to sort out a very busy car park I felt the genuine warmth of the welcome which extended to every single member of staff no matter whether they were dealing with me or not. The hotel, the quality of service, the food are simply perfect. I just love the atmosphere here, this is an old fashioned hotel with old fashioned values. I cannot praise it highly enough, one of my favourite places.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dusty428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our second stay at The Grand. As before, excellent friendly efficient staff from the time we arrived to the time we left. Breakfast the best we have enjoyed, certainly on par with Gleneagles and almost but not quite with the Ritz .Accommodation and public rooms are very elegant but cosy and comfortable at the same time. One small negative, the food at dinner doesn't quite match the elegant surroundings. My main courses (both meat) were excellent, my husbands choices (fish both nights) were a bit plain and basic, though the scallop starters were perfect. This is a minor point and didn't detract from our stay at all. Overall a fabulous weekend and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Would suggest always book a room with a view as the inland view room we saw looked over the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solent100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is geared towards the elderly visitor. Communal areas are furnished in the style of a high end old peoples home.

Staff look like they've walked off the set of Downton Abbey. Service is very good, the staff are nice.

Drinks in the bar are over priced. Cocktails are £15.50. Gin and tonic around £12. This is Ritz pricing and the place is not in that league.

The building is grand but hasnt had much money spent on it for 15 years. Some of the chairs in the bar collapsed a long time ago!

Average age of the guests was around 75. You need to wear a jacket or tie to get in the restaurant (say no more).

We wouldn't come back, but ok if youre looking for a quality old peoples home by the sea.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EuroTrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We chose the Grand Hotel as the venue for our wedding day after having some lovely meals there already. We were so impressed by the friendliness of the staff and excellent service. We were kindly upgraded to a beautiful room, although all of the rooms look perfect. We had a wonderful day and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I chose to stay at the grand for a one night break with my girlfriend and it's safe to say we were not disappointed. First of all I would like to comment on the service, which was first class. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, it was very good indeed. The room was very nice, especially the bathroom. Robes were included but you have to pay £5 for slippers as they are not included in the deluxe double room. The bed was extremely comfortable. We didn't eat in the evening but we did have breakfast on the Sunday morning, there was a good food selection and the restaurant had a pleasant atmosphere. The only thing I would say is the cooked breakfast was slightly on the cool side but that didn't really bother us. The spa was very relaxing, pool temperature was spot on. As we booked quite early the room price was pretty reasonable and I would say it was value for money. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryJStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
994 reviews
1.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,032 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £143 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing