We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second super stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have just celebrated our first anniversary at the Grand Hotel in Eastbourne, having had our wonderful wedding reception there a year ago. Again, we were very well looked after, met with friendly and professional staff at all times, and no request was too much trouble. We had a super room with fantastic sea view. We were just generally made to feel welcome and at home the whole time, and our baby daughter was equally welcomed. Whilst we couldn't afford to do this every year, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed overnight at the Grand, following a day long business conference. The room had been booked for us, so we did not really know what to expect other than the fact that the room would be a double. The room did not disappoint, it was very large (as was the bathroom) and very well appointed. The bed was large and very comfortable. Earlier in the evening we had dinner in a private room with our party. The food was very good and the service was excellent. After dinner our party adjourned to the bar which, again, was very comfortable. The bar staff were extremely pleasant and efficient, and there was an excellent range of drinks on offer. After a good nights sleep we had breakfast in one of the hotels restaurants. Breakfast was excellent. The choice of food available was terrific, and it was very well cooked/presented. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and efficient. We could not fault the facilities or the staff. Definitely intend to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is now the go to place for us for a treat, we are always impressed by the level of service here, we had a wonderful weekend to celebrate our 33 rd wedding anniversary , with a delicious dinner in Mirabelle on Friday evening, thankyou to Ben who looked after us so well.
Our family visited us on Saturday and the young man in the health club opened the playroom for us to distract our twin granddaughters for 15 mins, thankyou to all the staff it is they who make this hotel so very special .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank poocherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my first visit to The Grand since losing my wife and my boxer dog and I was content to settle for a deluxe rear facing double room for single occupancy. The deal was exceptional and the visit was truly therapeutic. If olde worlde charm and exceptional service are your bag, you won't be disappointed. I notice that there has been criticism of breakfast arrangements. If there were grounds for this criticism, they must have been addressed, as my experience was of service and quality beyond reproach. I shall return.

Room Tip: Whilst front facing rooms are more expensive, the sea views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doggybolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at The Grand for a four night break towards the end of March. We have two young children and all the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. The children were always made to feel very welcome.. Special thanks to Sophie and Emily on reception who went to a great deal of effort to organise an early check in for us so that our toddler could have a sleep. Breakfast was fantastic and we had the best room service meals and service we have ever had in a hotel. Jamie in particular from Room Service was very helpful and friendly. Food was superb including lovely afternoon tea, again with lower table and chairs thoughtfully set up for the children. So impressed that we have booked to go again later in August year, and again great thought and help provided by Anton on reception in helping us find a nice room and organising everything for us. The service from everyone was outstanding throughout our stay. It was a wonderful, relaxing and very much needed holiday. Cannot stress enough how much the staff and their friendly welcoming manner made the stay a joy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A very relaxing 3 day stay in a junior suite, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast for my wife and I plus our 15 year old son.
Lots to do in Eastbourne and also within the hotel with excellent gym, pool, sauna, steam room and snooker.
Food excellent, decor beautiful and. Very friendly staff.
What was nice was that the hotel was not trying to squeeze money out of you for everything, with free wifi and reception happy to print emails, scan, email and send documents for me without charging extra. Car parking included too. We shall return!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were invited to join friends in the Garden Restaurant for dinner last week while they were staying in the Grand. They liked the Hotel generally but It took a long time for us to be served. By the time all the items ordered had arrived and been dished up, the food was cold. The vegetables were almost unacceptable, unexciting, uninteresting and did not appear to have come from fresh supplies. Even the potatoes were ready made croquets. Only the lamb was good, but slowly carved at the table, plate by plate, meant we had a cold meal. As we were guests, it was not possible for us to complain to the manager.
Overall, the portions were small, disappointing, and certainly not worth the extortionate amount charged. What capped it all was that the waiting staff appear to be foreign, either do not understand plain English spoken requests or prefer to ignore what is asked for.
We have had much better meals at other top class Eastbourne hotels for about half the price, so we will not be inclined to recommend friends to eat here again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NIGEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
978 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £149 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing