We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service made up for bad nights sleep and bland food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Grand Hotel in Eastbourne really is a grand dame of the seafront . It sits at the end of the promenade looking down on its rivals in all its white blousy glory. The hotel is impressive on the exterior and the entrance has a significant 'wow' factor. The high ceilings and marble columns take you right back to a former age. Although the clientèle are varied it definitely leans demographically towards the older and more affluent.
We arrived for my birthday treat weekend about 3:30pm. Check in is at 3 and we were lucky to snag the last unreserved car parking place in the smallish car park. There is a charge of £25 if you wish to reserve your space ( which basically means they write your name on a chalk board and place it in the parking space). I think that is rather steep but would definitely spare the frustration and driving around that we witnessed other later arrivals experiencing.
Check In was smooth and extremely polite (The Times is the only newspaper offered by the way)
Our room was spotlessly clean- even down to the carpeted bathroom floor. The room was rather 'wonky' due to the age of the hotel and some tables and bedside cabinets were at a slant. The furniture was old and a little faded in places but not yet shabby. Television is a small 20-22inch flat screen Hospitality tray has cafetiere and real coffee but really awful brand of tea ( in my opinion anyway)
Now to the big problem with the room....The draughty windows. They are old style single glazed sash windows. Lovely thrown open on a sunny afternoon enjoying the sea view - not so great in the middle of the night rattling and letting in icy blasts!
At 4;30 am I ended up fashioning wedges from coasters to stop the rattles. I did call the night porter but got cut off twice....
There was a radiator under the offending window that was lava hot - however the room was long and the draft was rather determined. The heat from the radiator only seemed to permeate about 2 feet from it. There was an extra blanket in the wardrobe and we huddled under it , barely keeping warm. Not exactly a five star experience.....
We dined in The Garden restaurant( more detailed food review elsewhere) - the service again was impeccable and the food was...ok. However I paid an additional £11 on top of our DBB charge for the 'Grand Mixed grill' and was very disappointed. This consisted of a burger, a teriyaki sirloin that was cremated and another cut of beef - again cremated ( I had asked for medium) I didn't send it back as it was edible and the veg etc was fine but it was decidedly average.
The bar staff were excellent and my cocktails were superb. Really enjoyed sitting in the bar listening to the live jazz band getting slowly sozzled on very strong cocktails
I enjoyed lovely spa treatments and a leisurely swim in the pool - the spa and pool are top notch, extremely clean and well kept. Again the staff were a delight.
Breakfast was buffet style and in the main very nice - the sausages were the highlight - the dried out black pudding was a low.
In the morning I did speak to the duty manager about our problems in the night and he was apologetic and offered a goodwill gesture of £50 off the room rate. He admitted that it was a known maintenance issue and although I appreciated his candour it did rather irritate me that this hadn't been addressed before.

I have tried to give a balanced view of my experiences here last weekend. I did have a lovely time, especially in the spa and the place is definitely worth a visit - even just for afternoon tea. Its a beautiful building in a wonderful setting. Each member of staff I encountered were courteous and approachable and its the service that really makes up for the irritations.

Room Tip: check the windows on arrival for rattles and draughts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RozzieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Outstanding service. Staff friendly but super efficient and addressed my son personally, not asked me what he wanted. Suite lovely and spotless and plenty of room.
Milk and cookies of an evening for children and activity pack upon arrival.
Pool and spa delightful.
Outside

Room Tip: Well worth the little extra amount for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dacory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A Grand hotel in every sense of the word. A car parking space had been reserved for us, check-in was very efficient and welcoming, our upgraded room spotless and the view amazing. Every member of staff we met was friendly and nothing too much trouble.

We ate dinner in both restaurants and would highly recommend them. The food and service were both excellent. This hotel is perfect for someone looking for traditional luxury at the seaside..

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Celebrated my birthday here. Check in was very warm and efficient. Room was spacious and traditional and very clean. Room service was expensive but of a very high quality. Lunch was excellent re the beef but the melon was not ripe! Breakfast was delicious!! A grand dame of a hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roomchecker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

About the 4th time I have stayed at the Grand with my wife and two children (6 and 4) and the Grand Eastbourne never disappoints.

We stayed over the Easter weekend and despite the hotel being full to brimming the service was outstanding at all times.

Of particular note for parents at dinner time - the Garden Restaurant has cracked the perfect combination of facilitating the kids being able to immediately eat (we know how patient they are) from a tasty buffet while the parents could order from a good set menu and still enjoy the surrounds of the restaurant and atmosphere with other families.

Alex, our head waiter, went the extra mile and was able to seat 8 of us at short notice by re-arranging the tables. It made the evening.

The Eastbourne Grand may not immediately appeal to the more contemporary set at first glance, but I encourage you to give it go. Sitting in the bar with the background sound of the piano and light conversation, surrounded by well kept 30's decor, you might well expect to see Fitzgerald's eponymous hero a few tables down.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Really enjoyed our weekend break at The Grand Eastbourne the staff was extremely friendly and very helpful.

The Health Spa was just heavenly. This was the highlight of the weekend.
Location was perfect

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Deloris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Service, bar, room, breakfast, grand hall for afternoon tea - it's all enjoyed in a beautiful setting. The Grand makes the most of its heritage with reminders of its 100+ year history dotted around the halls and corridors. For a hotel that prides itself on tradition, it's got a nice, friendly atmosphere too.

The hotel's well located; a 15 minute walk from both the pier in Eastbourne and the train station. The service is what you'd expect from a 5* hotel. The room was well sized and recently refurbished. The Grand does the basics well too.

The pool (which is fairly small) is located in the basement along with the gym (well kitted out for a hotel gym) and jacuzzi. It's also the right end of town for access to the south downs way and a walk to Beachy Head (a must whilst in Eastbourne).

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
998 reviews
1.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,032 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £142 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing