We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all rooms are equal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel overall is fabulous and the staff very smart and helpful, without being patronising. Food also very high quality and beautifully served.

I also booked a massage in the Spa and that was very relaxing.

However, the room we stayed in was dated, but the worst part of it was that the curtains were so old that the linings were torn from age. Also the bed was uncomfortable and squeaky. Not worth the room rate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The 'Grand' is a very large 5-star hotel in a prime position on Eastbourne seafront. My wife and I stayed at the 'Grand' for three nights over the late May Bank Holiday weekend. I had previously alerted the hotel reservations office to the fact that this was a special weekend for us after a great many years of marriage and also that my wife needs to rest a lot during the day. We were allocated a beautiful 'executive seaview' room on the second floor with a sumptuous super-king size bed and a magnificent sea view - exactly what I was seeking. Check-in was flawless, friendly and efficient, and there was a card of congratulation and good wishes from the hotel staff! The porters took care of our car which was no mean feat on a weekend when there were many more cars than delineated parking spaces. Although we did not make use of all of them, the hotel has excellent facilities that are well-maintained. Of the two restaurants, the highly rated Mirabelle is the superior. We selected the 7-course tasting menu and were regaled with a most interesting sequence of sensibly portioned dishes. The whole meal was excellent and, in our view, very good value for £61 per head when compared with the normal a la carte menu. Breakfast in the Garden Restaurant offers a splendid buffet selection but there is also waiter service for those guests who wish it. This ensures the freshest of cooked items. A simple request at Reception ensured that our room was serviced each morning while at breakfast. Overall the 'Grand' fully merits its 5 stars and offers guests calm and comfort with unobtrusive, friendly and efficient service. We left reluctantly on the last morning but plan to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lionheartpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights -impressive entrance with free parking on site. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was spacious and clean with adequate en-suite. Good variety at breakfast in a very spacious and elegant dining room. A very restful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLA116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been going to The Grand for a few years now on short breaks. We find the staff extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are always clean and the food in both restaurants is excellent. We tend to upgrade from the basic class to an outside room with a view, although there is no difference in quality.
An ideal please for rest and recuperation.
We love it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an outside room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MardenLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Myself, mother in law and sister in law came here for the afternoon tea as a treat. We were thoroughly spoilt and well looked after. The food is beautifully presented and I was very impressed with the tea menu.

The staff are very well presented and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.

Excellent service provided all round. Well done! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just returned from a break at this hotel and once again it lived up to it's five stars. The hotel is the perfect venue for a weekend break or special family occasion celebration. We have stayed for both and we are never dissappointed. The accommodation is superb and the staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Situated right on the seafront, the location is perfect. There are two restaurants and the food and service are first class. There is a lovely walk along the seafront to Sovereign Harbour which has restaurants and cafes overlooking the water, and is certainly worth a visit. Beachy Head is the other way and there is a good putting green overlooking the sea. We love this hotel and can't wait for our next break there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a seaview. We had a suite which was very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights and was very impressed at the comfort and service at this hotel. It is very quiet and calm. There is a lovely pool and there is also a gym although I only used the pool. We had afternoon tea which was delicious and not expensive in comparison to other hotels of a similar type. The room was large and comfortable. The only niggle was that when I wanted to watch the evening news the television was situated so that the only place one could comfortably watch it was sitting on the side of the bed. Breakfast was excellent and it was wonderful to have breakfast without having to listen to the normal background music. I would definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing peaceful environment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Sussexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
1.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,035 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £139 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing