We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately, calm and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A lovely hotel to spend a few days in. The quality of service is excellent. I would say that the restaurant food is extremely good but a touch slow. We were there for two hours each night and would have preferred a quicker service. We took our two dogs and they were very well received with beds brought to the room and a great chicken dinner served to them each night. The two swimming pools were very warm and well looked after and the general experience was 'stately' .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've just had a night at The Grand in Eastbourne. I only live down the road in Hastings, but have friends in Eastbourne,so we always stay here when we're visiting them. The Grand has a special place in my heart. I always feel so welcome in this hotel. From the doormen, to reception, to housekeeping, they are all super lovely. To me, the George V Paris is the benchmark for greatness and I'm going to say that this place is pretty much up there as far as service and care for guests is concerned. The hotel has a wonderful history and still carries that aura of a glittering bygone era, but still very much in the modern world. It is apparently the only 5 star hotel on the coast now. And it really does deserve its stars.
The afternoon tea is a must in the hall. And last but not least I want to say a big Thankyou to the fabulous guys behind the bar. They are kind,fun, nothing is too much trouble and they really do make the best Mojito. Trust me, I've stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and I've drunk a lot of Mojitos and theirs really is the best. In fact, what are you waiting for, go to The Grand immediately and order one!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

From the doorman to the receptionist to the bar staff and those in the restaurant everyone in this hotel smiles and says hello to you. They genuinely want you to have a good time here. The rooms are comfortable but lack one or two modern touches but that is not a problem. Great food too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank grahamjones_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a reunion weekend for a successful 4 week tour in America and Canada and it was important that it all went well and we continue partying together. The Grand delivered well ahead of our upper expectations. The rooms were good as was the food. Every member of staff was helpful and cheerful. Our final dinner in the Mirabelle Restaurant was of the highest order. We arranged the booking for 25 rooms and the dinners through Claire Funnell who was courteous, efficient and a delight. She also arranged for us to have exclusive use of a car parking area which was essential for our purpose. Big thanks and a high recommendation. To the extent that several participants intend returning on their own in the future

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farraway3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Beautiful hotel is all I can say. We came here for a single evening (and the following day!) to conduct a pre-wedding photoshoot in the nearby Birling Gap and Beachy Head area. The staff were fabulous and were more than happy to let us use their facilities even after we checked out. The room was very large, clean and the toiletries provided were of a high quality (Molton Brown) if I had a gripe it was that a fridge was only available on request though the Hotel told us this is due the fact they offer a 24 hour concierge service.

Location was fabulous, out of the lobby and across the road and you're at the Beach (a nicer quieter part than near the pier) All in a all a very good hotel and pleasurable stay

Room Tip: Room 122 is a larger non sea view room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wow...this hotel lives up to it's name...'GRAND'. Unlike it's namesake in nearby Brighton this hotel has lost none of it's 'shine' and still retains it's Edwardian splendour. The staff could not do enough to make the guests feel comfortable and at home and the rooms, although not all have great views (mine was a car park) are of a very high standard, clean and very comfortable. We are already planning a return visit with friends in the next few months.

Room Tip: A suite would be the obvious best option, all with lovely sea views but, of course, at a premium. A...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was great. We arrived and some parked the car for us and took our bags. Check in was very easy and nothing was too much trouble.

We walked through the main part of the hotel and saw the lounge and dining area which was lovely and classic. I know others have said it needs an update but the classic look was part of the charm.

We went to out room which was number 410. The main lift didn't go all the way to our room so make sure you say if you have accessibility needs. The location of the room was perfect as we had no neighbours and no one above us. It was lovely and quiet so I had a good nights sleep. The room itself was dated but with none of the classic charm of the hotel. Except for the Molton brown toiletries it didn't feel like a five star room. Nothing grand about it. The bed was a decent size and not too hard or soft.

The breakfast was good. There is a good variety although you can wait a while for toast which we did have to chase for on occasion. The cooked breakfast was done to perfection and there was such a big variety of juices. Again, the room was classic with nice touches such as fancy cutlery and china.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essexkittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £148 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing