We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Superb stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A beautiful hotel inside and out with some of the most welcoming staff that I've encountered. The bedroom was very comfortable with all of the furnishings that you would expect. On checking out we asked to use the swimming pool and the staff were only too happy to show us to the health club. If you go to Eastbourne, I can throughly recommend The Grand Hotel. Oh and the breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiscansBiscuitTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    365
    192
    75
    37
See reviews for
389
763
42
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My friend and i were looking for somewhere lovely to enjoy a spa day.....we couldn't have picked any better. We were welcomed by very friendly staff who made our day very special. The facilities are spotless and lots of little extras make it special. The cost of our spa day included a lunch of a good choice of sandwiches (which were lovely!) a pot of soup and crisps along with a fresh juice and a coffee. Also included was one treatment, we both opted for a neck and back massage, which proved to be equally excellent and the beautician's were very friendly and welcoming.
All in all, a lovely day in lovely surroundings with brill staff. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Myself and my daughter stayed for five nights. There were some very expensive cars in the car park, but when we arrived in my 14 year-old Corsa, the doorman gave us a friendly welcome and parked the car. On the morning we left they had done some double parking and we were blocked in, but despite being very busy (there was some sort of vintage car display going on), the door staff moved our car out. Reception staff were welcoming on our arrival and immaculately dressed. Our room had no view, but was comfortable, clean and spacious . There are limited TV channels and for some reason no channel 15 (Film Four). Room service, especially sandwiches and burgers, was excellent except on one occasion when we ordered afternoon tea, which hitherto had come with two scones. One afternoon I asked for three but was told on the telephone rather brusquely that this was not possible and that we could only have two or four. The order arrived with four scones but jam and cream was the usual one portion. When I received the bill, two scones with jam and cream was £5.75, but the extra two scones on their own was also £5.75. When I queried this with the waiter and asked why, if the two extra scones were the same price, they did it not also come with jam and cream? His abrupt answer was `Because it doesn`t`! I requested that he take the two scones back, which he grudgingly did, and I was refunded £5.75. Very odd!
We had room 19 and discovered on our first morning at 5.30am that we were above a row of shops. We were woken by van doors slamming and trolleys being trundled into the shops, which was obviously deliveries to the said shops. Reception said they could not move us, but for considerably more money we were offered an upgrade, which we declined. We had to wear earplugs for the rest of our stay. When checking out I was asked if everything had been ok, so I said that it was a shame that we had to put up with the noisy shop deliveries early each morning. The receptionist said, `Yes, I know, that`s a pity`. (?).
However, overall it was a lovely stay, super food and excellent spa facilities. There is a lovely atmosphere at the hotel and the building itself is most impressive. Top marks for all the staff.

Room Tip: Not room 19 unless you are a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Even before crossing the threshold you know you are somewhere special. The staff are welcoming and attentive without being overly so. The dining experience is good as you would expect and the bar areas comfortable. The hotel is situated at the western end of the seafront and is only a few steps across the road from the town's renown seafront promenades. All in all this is a splendid hotel that still retains much of its' period charm and elegance. Certainly well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Sea views and sunrises from the rooms on the front of the hotel are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 864johnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A lovely hotel to spend a few days in. The quality of service is excellent. I would say that the restaurant food is extremely good but a touch slow. We were there for two hours each night and would have preferred a quicker service. We took our two dogs and they were very well received with beds brought to the room and a great chicken dinner served to them each night. The two swimming pools were very warm and well looked after and the general experience was 'stately' .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I've just had a night at The Grand in Eastbourne. I only live down the road in Hastings, but have friends in Eastbourne,so we always stay here when we're visiting them. The Grand has a special place in my heart. I always feel so welcome in this hotel. From the doormen, to reception, to housekeeping, they are all super lovely. To me, the George V Paris is the benchmark for greatness and I'm going to say that this place is pretty much up there as far as service and care for guests is concerned. The hotel has a wonderful history and still carries that aura of a glittering bygone era, but still very much in the modern world. It is apparently the only 5 star hotel on the coast now. And it really does deserve its stars.
The afternoon tea is a must in the hall. And last but not least I want to say a big Thankyou to the fabulous guys behind the bar. They are kind,fun, nothing is too much trouble and they really do make the best Mojito. Trust me, I've stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and I've drunk a lot of Mojitos and theirs really is the best. In fact, what are you waiting for, go to The Grand immediately and order one!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

From the doorman to the receptionist to the bar staff and those in the restaurant everyone in this hotel smiles and says hello to you. They genuinely want you to have a good time here. The rooms are comfortable but lack one or two modern touches but that is not a problem. Great food too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank grahamjones_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
849 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing