We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First ever afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Instantly felt very welcomed by all of the staff who were very friendly and down to earth.
We were seated in a room just in front of the main lobby and it was great to watch the world go by. Everything is very traditional which isn't really usually my thing and some might even say its a bit too traditional but it creates a great atmosphere and you really loose yourself in the place.
I really enjoyed afternoon tea- delicious array of sandwiches, scones and cakes and hot drinks...I don't drink hot drinks but they kindly substituted this for cold drinks.
Overall I was very impressed mainly with the staff who were very intentive whilst not being too intrusive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lula1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

I had a wonderful weekend overall, with a few minor issues which were on the most part sorted immediately. We ordered a paper and did not receive it, we had mixed service, some waitress could not do enough others barely recognised our presence. We had salt in our sugar bowl which was not pleasant in our coffee, the coffee was also very weak.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scrumpy7255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Ahh ! It’s summer already !
And here we are, again, sunning ourselves at the sea-side .. and what a Grand time we’re having.
Yes. It’s our (annual) report on living the ‘high life’ at Eastbourne’s ‘Number One’ establishment .. The Grand Hotel.
Situated at the (up market) end of the town, just a short stroll from the South Downs, there are no swings and candy-floss machines here. Oh no. This is an adult playground – with a liveried concierge service, full Health Club and Spa, swimming pools inside and out, string quartets and dance bands playing (to which people actually dance, not jig-around), a choice of restaurants and, oh joy-of-joys, a proper Cocktail Bar.
5 star treatment means that everything other hotels do must also be done here – and done superbly. It also means that there must be something additional (possibly exceptional) which puts that establishment ahead of its competitors.
The Grand has its ‘pair of Aces’ with (food) the Mirabelle Restaurant and (drink) Oliver McTear’s bar service which is ‘orchestrated’ (we do come down here for the opera season at Glyndebourne after all) in superb manner. What other hotel has such a ‘menu’ of cocktails with which to entice the customer – at, compared with Mayfair and Kensington, sensible prices – and one which features a whole page of deliciousness concocted by The Grand’s own bar staff ?
This hotel has history (Debussy composed here) and it impresses with its classic proportions. Architects these days are given little opportunity to design on the grand scale, have rooms and corridors with ample size, and adorn walls with stone and plaster-work which shows good design and uses quality materials. Given the correct proportions large numbers of people in a room don’t make the space look crowded and The Grand can contain a full-house of customers without reminding anyone of their weekly commute on the Central Line.
DO ask for rooms with sea-views. To be this close to the Channel and to be deprived of the sight of the sea is to short-change yourself.
Our usual suite was as pleasant as ever and as well-presented as ever. (Thank you, Housekeeping).
But it’s the ‘meet and greet’ of both the Concierge Staff, who convey your luggage for you and valet-park your car (on the premises – for free – beat that, London), and the Reception Desk that sets the tone for staying here. Smart, courteous and efficient and, for those of us who know a good thing when we see it and call again, with that personal touch ..
“Good Afternoon, Mr. *****, so nice to see you return to The Grand !”

Room Tip: A sea-view is a 'must have'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank operabuff_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Grand Hotel Eastbourne is my favourite hotel, and I stayed there for four nights last week with family and friends. The rooms, the food, the staff - everything is wonderful, and the town Eastbourne is a lovely place, especially when you walk the streets around the hotel. Put on good shoes and walk back from Beachy Head, a wonderful walk!!! Most sunny place in Britain and beautiful!

Room Tip: Every room is nice, but ask for sea view and terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summer20108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

How welcoming to be greeted by friendly doorman in morning dress. From here on service, ambience and facilities were excellent. The hotel has held it quintessential Britishness and old time charm. High ceilings, beautiful chandeliers and big rooms.
Check in was quick and efficient and our bags were swiftly taken to our rooms. We had an executive room but unfortunately no sea view. I think it would be worth the extra money for the view which will be better from the 2nd and 3rd floors. Our bed was soft and comfy. Robes and towels were soft and white. The bathroom was roomy, good shower and Molton Brown toiletries.
We had drinks in the lounge bar on returning from our day out. The lounge was relaxing, one of the waitresses was rather abrupt but all other staff were lovely. We later had dinner in the Garden restaurant which was excellent. There was a piano tinkling in the background. Plenty of room between tables and a lovely atmosphere. Because there is a dress code, jackets and/or collars for men it meant everyone was well presented which lent to the ambience of the room. The four of us all chose different meals and everyone was very pleased. Presentation was beautiful, flavors excellent and a good selection to choose from. There is a 3 course set menu with further choices at a supplement. There is also a second fine dining restaurant with fewer tables and a more refined but more limited choice. Breakfast the following morning was also good. A large choice of cereals, fruits and yogurt. Cooked breakfast from the buffet or fresh to order, cold meats, cheese and salad and a rather limited selection of pastries.
Finally there is a spa and an indoor and outdoor heated pool. We only used the outdoor pool which at 7 in the morning in the sunshine was lovely and it is heated so very comfortable.
All in all would definitely recommend this hotel for its level of service, location, quality and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a sea view if they're not all sold out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Having stayed at the Grand before and been impressed by both the service and its beautiful grandeur, we decided to hold our wedding there on the 12th of July. All our expectations were exceeded.

The help, support and understanding by our co-ordinator Claire before the big day made everything seem easy. On the day, staff made sure everything ran to plan and we would like to thank the event manager, Elliott, and the toastmaster, Stephen.

The environment in which we got married was perfect. The Compton room was transformed from a grand dining room for our Wedding breakfast into an intimate 'club' for our evening reception. Our master suite was a perfect room for my wife to get prepared in together with several bridesmaids as well as spend our first night as husband and wife.

We had thought the Grand might prove too expensive by the time wedding 'extras' were added to prices. In reality, everything seemed to be included and we were genuinely surprised by the transparency of costs and what good value it was.

We would not hesitate to recommend The Grand for a wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ggggreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I had a lovely last minute spa day. We were warned about renovations, but honestly we didn't notice them. The treatments were good, the facilities were relaxing and clean, the staff really friendly and accomodating, the food was good. We'll definitely go again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Webbie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £143 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing