We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good but dated experience. Definitely Good not Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A good but dated experience. Definitely Good not Grand”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

It's a beautiful building, impressive lobby and great location. But the whole experience just didn't live up to the price. The room was dated, one cabinet in our room was so wonky we could put a drink on top of it, the mattress was bigger than the bed base and sagged at the edges, the television was very small, but the bathroom was lovely, clean and well maintained.
Breakfast was very average, no finesse, just piles of average food, lunch and dinner were both good, the staff friendly and attentive, but the food and style again felt dated, the bar staff were excellent, helpful and knowledgable.
I couldn't justify paying that much to stay there again, we wanted to love it, but I think it caters for those who like things the old fashioned way and has fallen out of step with modern grand hotels of the world.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gregandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    364
    191
    74
    37
See reviews for
388
759
42
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Its hard to find anything to criticise at the Grand Hotel,,,,firstly its Grand..no argument there... We stayed this weekend for airbourne..the staff were all attentive and low key...check in was smooth and even having arrived early we had a room available right away...we were worried a little when we checked in as an elderly gent was complaining about the time his breakfast took to arrive that morning but this was totally unfounded as we later discovered the breakfast to be great and no issues at all with service...the room was cosy with a lovely view of the sea with a nice bathroom and all the traditional amenities that you would expect from an British Seaside hotel. And thats the key at the grand..its traditional and caters to a certain market who come back because they like whats on offer...If you are looking for a club..or a restaurant with with an ice sculpture and food made from weird and wonderful ingredients this isn't the place....freaky cocktails and house music..nope not here!!! We loved it because of that....and it does exactly what is expected....efficiently and traditionally....
One thing that was both charming and old fashioned was the staff uniforms, from the waiting staff to the chambermaids it was really traditional....a bit Downton Abbey....perhaps a more practical uniform (up to date) would be better....or maybe it would rob the Grand of a little of its charm....you decide when you go!! I would thoroughly recommend it>>>>

Room Tip: anything facing the sea is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for work and due to a local event for convenience i ate in the hotel.
Well as someone who stays in hotels on average 300 days of the year i rarely have chance to ever eat in them but i thought the grand looked like it might surprise me... It certainly did i have never been so disappointed by a meal! Half a plate of smoked salmon with a dollop of avocado with a couple of leaves for £14!!!!- Working away from home i spare no expense on good food its one of my pleasures in life but this was appalling no dressing no seasoning nothing!!!! i could have gone to tesco and got the ingredients and done better!!-i forgot to mention the half a plate of brown bread triangles the type my nan would do in the
70's when i was 5!! The previous days tuna salad was just as bland. If opening a packet and arranging the contents on a plate makes you a chef in a 5star hotel sign me up! I really think the chef needs to venture to other cities for inspiration- bristol is a great foodie city with an abundance of great eateries across all budgets.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dexter41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

From the start the stay here was amazing, the concierge and reception were so helpful, the room was beautiful and the food was fantastic.
As we passed staff in the hotel they were always smiling and would greet us by name.
Having stayed in hundreds of hotels on 4 continents, The Grand has the most personal and friendly service of all, and more importantly, has by far the best full English breakfast I've ever eaten.
The mushroom soup was perfectly seasoned and we'll balanced.
Well done The Grand, 5 stars all round.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

visited eastbourne and stayed at the grand . Service is always brilliant . Especially Oliver the bar manager . Staff friendly and attentive . Its not cheap but its worth it. weather was amazing and we just sat by outdoor pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoy ourselves at the Grand,because of the friendly staff,the peaceful setting at the end of the Prom,the superb outdoor pool and the food in both of the dining rooms ,that just gets better and better!The 5 days we spent here at the start of the warm weather in June were just perfect.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived at The Grand to have some final photos and the grounds and building really is a great backdrop for your special day .
All the Staff were very happy friendly abc nothing was too much to ask .
We had no wedding party it was just us so we had booked the first night package so our beautiful suite was amazing . Two large rooms one a lounge with doors onto a massive sun terrace over the front of the hotel with views out to the sea and the beautiful outdoor swimming pool situated in the hotel grounds .
The second room was out four poster bedroom again with doors joining the terrace . Big bottle of champagne on Ice , pyramid of strawberries and chocolates . Lovely coffee machine and selection of teas also in the room and a large very clean en-suite bathroom shower and bath and bathrobes and slippers and Molton brown toiletries .
We had booked into the amazing Mirabelle Restaurant for our wedding breakfast just the two of us and front of house a lovely couple had decorated our intimate table with rise petals in a heart and silver heart confetti ❤ The Food , Wine and Service was fantastic 5* . We will be returning very soon .
The bedroom had been turned down and we had our towels in love swans on our bed with real Rose petals over the bed and a Moulton Brown Gift Pack for us .
Wow it was very special and the hotel was beautiful . Breakfast was served in the Garden Restaurant and again had a great choice and good service .
Thank you everyone for making our wedding very special . We look forward to returning .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#28 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
844 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing