We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let there be light” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Let there be light”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights on August bank holiday weekend. Let me say first that without exception the staff were very good and the public areas of the hotel well presented. However , this is not a five star hotel as far as rooms are concerned. Room 205 was dark ( very little natural light) and even with all lights on it was very difficult to read. There was a lot of noise, no bathrobes, no fridge, no minibar and the smallest television I have seen since 1986. At best, this room was 3 star.
To be fair, the staff dealt with my feedback about the room very well. However, this hotel was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Avoid room 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pxhplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    339
    182
    69
    32
See reviews for
361
714
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I could not fault anything about this hotel, the service was amazing all the staff were friendly, it was very clean, comfortable beds, lovely dinner and breakfast. My husband and I both had spa treatments which were also perfect, great room service. Look forward to staying there again. A true 5 star experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

old hotel, outside fassade needs more than painting. food in the restaurant small portions, almost tasteless not 5 star and for sure overpriced. rooms acceptable, mattresses old and bathroom more than tiny with old fittings. within almost 100 tv channels not only one of a foreign, at least european, tv station. sorry but we're foreigners. if you want value for your money and you are less than 70, then stay away from this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank georg w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Historic home of the BBC's Palm Court Orchestra - I'm old enough to remember it - this 5 star hotel has space, comfort, elegance and service with style to match.

The ground floor reception, lounges and restaurants are huge but sufficiently divided so as not to be cavernous. A good balance between palatial and comfort. Greeted at the door by concierges who treat one as a welcome guest the booking in was swift and friendly - as was checking out.

The staff throughout all had the ethos that you are here to enjoy and our role (not job) is to see that you achieve that.

It is a big hotel but breakfast was not a crush. There are two restaurants for dinner. We tried both. The main one more traditionally English was excellent, served with style although my wife felt the food could have been warmer. The Mirabelle, more contemporary was a wonderful experience. I had to decline the amuse bouche. A few minutes later an alternative arrived - nice touch.

The lounges were comfortable well supplied with newspapers. We sat and 'planned our next visit'. Not sure when but its a certainty.

A few more biscuits in the room would put it on a par with other hotels we've stayed in.

A tip - if you arrive by car book a space when you book.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawenold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We went with some friends for dinner and I have to day it was rather disappointing - overpriced and very ordinary food and snooty waiting staff. We had been expecting something rather sumptuous but there was not much I liked on the menu so I had to opt for the vegetarian option and for the prices charged I felt I could have cooked better myself. The rooms look like they have not been decorated since the 1960s and are full of rich old people passing the time, which is not quaint, it`s rather depressing as it looks like a posh old people`s home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannynain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A last minute decision and booking. Excellent position on the seafront, concierge to park the car, free parking, warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble, timeless elegance, yummy afternoon tea, spacious deluxe room. Great views of the Airbourne display and the finale fireworks. Both indoor and outdoor pools with free wi fi to boot. The Eastbourne open top hop on/hop off tour bus is a must, great value for money, informative and the bus stops directly outside the hotel.

Room Tip: A sea view is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but our family group had Sunday lunch in the Garden Restaurant.

As the air show was on, parking near to the hotel was very hard to find and we didn't start to eat until well after our table booking time. This was no problem at all for the staff, who were splendid throughout; attentive without being obtrusive and quite unflappable.

Lunch itself was very good in the traditional manner and the bill not at all unreasonable.This was the hotel where my grandfather and grandmother met and it was a real treat on a family occasion to be able to visit the place that was such an important part of our personal histories.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing