We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,350)
Filter reviews
2,350 results
Traveller rating
1,383
558
253
99
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,383
558
253
99
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden restaurantafternoon teaoutdoor poolhealth clubmolton brown toiletriesmaster suiteturn down servicefive star hotelsteam roomspa facilitiesgarden roomsconessea viewbirthday treatparking spacesmoked salmonpublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
730 - 735 of 2,350 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Well not a real boxer, it was a lovely dog. We also met a poodle that had just flown to Gatwick from Canada and the people were really nice. Why am I telling you all this? Well, the Grand takes dogs (accompanied by responsible adults). My wife and I had booked a weeks holiday and the hotel upgraded us to a sea view suit The staff here are excellent and really go the extra mile to look after guests. I know it's five star and you would expect good service but it's a real pleasure staying here. The hotel car park is well managed and we have always found a space. If you want to experience a bit of old world charm and meet some nice dogs in the lift, it's just the place for you. By the way, they do a nice afternoon cream tea if you are not worried about a few extra inches on the old waist. Just let your belt out a few more notches!

Room Tip: High up with a sea view is really nice
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geguestrelations, Guest Relations Assistant at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments. We are so pleased that you enjoy staying here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights after our wedding as it was the first place we had stayed as a couple 7 years ago. Although nice, our deluxe sea-view room was nothing special and not very large (not as large as the one we had 7 years ago!). Staff were all very polite and helpful but the service at breakfast was slow. The toast on both days was cold and the tea stewed when it eventually arrived, the rest of the breakfast food was quite tasty with a good variety. The evening meal was fantastic and the service good. I'm not sure I'd come here again, I was hoping to feel special but left feeling anonymous and invisible (from the hotel staff, not my lovely new husband!)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 7PaulaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geguestrelations, Guest Relations Assistant at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Congratulations on your Wedding. We are delighted you chose to stay at The Grand and enjoyed your evening meal and found the service to be good. We apologise for the inconsistency at breakfast. We sincerely hope you will return to us in the future and stay in another category of room which is larger than our standard deluxe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We spent one night in this hotel. We are a family with two kids, aged 9 and 10. The hotel is dated but this is the very essence of it. We liked its style, probably not changed much in the last 50 yrs. The bathroom was in good condition and dated, I think it needs an update... this is the only part of a room that has to be very modern! Shame that the creche which was advertised on the website was closed. We would have appreciated a call from the hotel, we were hoping to have spa treatments for my bday and we couldn't for this reason!! We had booked a room with a sea view, but this got changed for an upgrade to inland junior suite but no sea view. This was very disappointing, we ended up in a large room with living room but with 2 tiny windows! Nothing like the pics in the website. My husband was disappointed because he wanted the weekend to be perfect and within 30 minutes from arrival no sea view and no creche. The service is EXCELLENT. This basically saved the weekend. The staff managed to find a place at the mirabelle restaurant where we were treated really well. Even the kids were treated like prince and princess... a bit like in a show, the waiters were lovely. When we got to the room they got warm milk and cookies!the small slippers and the small robes. They travel a lot but i think they will remember this hotel for ever! Such a shame for the room though. I wish we had had one like in the pics.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mariga2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geguestrelations, Guest Relations Assistant at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found the service excellent and that your children really enjoyed their stay and all the little extras we provide as part of our 'Junior Crew' package. As you were aware from your confirmation the category you originally tried to book (standard deluxe) is not large enough to accommodate children. We therefore upgraded you to a junior suite. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the room. The crèche was open on the Saturday but unusually had to close on the Sunday. We apologise if this caused you inconvenience. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future and perhaps stay in a junior sea view suite which would be suitable for a family with the bonus of a view overlooking the seafront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and love it. The food wherever you eat in the hotel is first class. The staff are exceptional ; nothing is too much trouble. The public areas are beautifully kept and luxurious. Our only negatives are that the guest rooms are becoming a little tired - the carpet in our room was worn and threadbare in places. Shabby chic? However we overlooked that because of the overall charm of the room. Another comment is that the dress code in the restaurants is not enforced. Some very scruffy characters were eating in the mirabelle (no jacket or tie) and a weird couple turned up for breakfast in such a scruffy state (ripped jeans and coat and scarf + baseball caps kept on all throughout breakfast despite the warmth of the room). Several older couples were upset over that. This is a 5*hotel - dress should be appropriate. I know it is awkward to refuse someone entry to a restaurant but there are signs up stating the dress code. Other than that we will return as we feel pampered and relaxed there and we dress appropriately!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geguestrelations, Guest Relations Assistant at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

It is great to know that you keep returning to The Grand and love it. Thank you for your kind comments and for your review. We are in the process of refurbishing our guest bedrooms so hopefully you can experience a stay in one of these on your next visit. Our signs for dress code in the restaurants during the evening state ' jackets and collared shirts are preferred by gentlemen'. We apologise if you felt that some guests were dressed inappropriately. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We came back here for a three night break. We were allocated the suite we had booked. Check in was very smooth with the concierge parking our car and taking our luggage to the room effortlessly. Staff throughout the hotel are helpful, efficient and pleasant.

The suite has been recently tastefully re-decorated . The balcony overlooking the sea was large with a table and chairs and a lounger. One TV in the bedroom and one in the sitting room. There is a dining table and chairs in the sitting room for room service meals. Everything was very clean with fresh flowers on the table. water and fruit. Water is replaced twice a day. The turn down service is great where they wash up the cups and tidy up the room. The four poster bed was very comfortable with excellent pillows. The room was cleaned well each day . There is a complimentary newspaper delivered each morning.

The bathroom is large and has Molton Brown shampoo etc which I like. My only dislike is the shower curtain over the bath which is one of my pet hates. The towels are large and fluffy.

Breakfast is of a high standard with a buffet but also the option to order hot food freshly cooked.

We ate in the Garden restaurant and the food and service were very good. Afternoon tea is a must with a selection of sandwiches, cakes, scones and tea or coffee. This was the only part where the service was a bit slow.

I think this is my favourite hotel in the UK.

Room Tip: Suites on the first floor have the best views and balconies
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews