We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real family hotel with bags of cross-generational appeal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We went to the Grand for Easter – me, my parents (in their mid-70s), my brother and my two daughters aged 10 and 7.

The Grand is a real old-school English hotel experience. It isn't the Four Seasons, it isn't Babington, it isn't a trendy boutique hotel, so if you're expecting that, you'll be disappointed. Instead, it's trad all the way, from the Palm Court cream teas to the pianist playing at dinner to the top-hatted doormen who whisk your bags to your room and park the car for you. There's a well-heeled elderly clientele, complete with geriatric poodles and zimmer frames, but there are also tons of kids racing around, and The Grand caters for both groups perfectly.

For my parents, there were charming staff who couldn't do enough to keep them happy – nothing was too much trouble. There were 5-course dinners with palate-cleansing sorbets and fancy puddings. And there was sedate dancing after dinner. For my daughters there was a kids' playroom where they spent 2 happy hours every day (free), there was a (slightly riotous) kids tea that far outstripped the dreary chicken-nugget type offerings you come across in many hotels, even expensive ones, and there was a fab indoor pool where they splashed about like crazy. As it was Easter, there were 54 kids staying and there were also lots of additional amusements laid on for them, such as a visit from the Easter bunny and an Easter Egg hunt on the putting green.

We had a junior suite on the ground floor with 2 singles and a put up bed and it was spacious - you could have put an extra bed in the bathroom alone. My parents had a standard room that was comfortable but much smaller, and the bathroom was very small without much shelving space. Furnishings are chintzy and flouncy with swagged curtains and plush armchairs, in keeping with the general mood and style of the rest of the hotel. Beds were comfy if slightly on the soft side for my taste.

The Grand offers a real English hotel experience and we all loved it. The hotel definitely exceeded our expectations, largely due to the charm, hard work and helpfulness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. There were tons of repeat visitors which I think it always a good sign. It's a real family hotel with bags of cross-generational appeal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andalapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,765 - 1,771 of 1,891 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2010

My partner booked this hotel for my birthday and upon arrival I knew it was going to be special. Service was first class - really "old world" feel - nothing was too much trouble.

Ate in the hotels restaurant on both nights and the food was excellent.

Was a lovely time of year to visit this hotel - beautiful Christmas tree.

Would not hesitate in recommending to anyone - hope to go back again this year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAVEALOVELYTIME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

My partner and I recently satyed here for one night and cost was £190 for the 2 of us for a standard double room and breakfast. It was for the night of 13th February so a mark up on the price was to be expected. The hotel looks very plush and impressive on first appearances, but on closer inspection it is a little shabby and dated around the edges. Our room was ok, but not fantastic. I've stayed in better places in UK for much less. The shower in our room did not work, and although the staff were very polite and apologetic, saying they would 'look into it' nothing was done for us. For the amount we paid I do not think it is worth it. Staff all very polite. Breakfast lovely. Room standard, comfortable - but not 5 star or worth £190!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sparklystars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Booked at £170 per night tho when paid were charged £175 - not sure why? Room spacious although at the back of the hotel and no seaview despite asking for a view on booking - I was disappointed. On the plus side the pool was great especially for our little one and she enjoyed an hour in the creche on Sunday morning while we chilled. Had afternoon tea before we left on Sunday - nice but again have had better. Were charged extra for high tea for daughter but were not offered it, make sure you ask if travelling with children. Must admit I expected a bit more from a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SouthamptonLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

This review is based on one incident but nevertheless shouldn't have happened in a hotel with such a high reputation. My wife and two friends drove 30 miles to have tea at the Grand to celebrate two birthdays. The confirmed booking could not be found, meat sandwiches were served to a pre-notified vegitarian and one lot of sandwiches were still frozen in the centre.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christy21040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We were overnighting en route to the ferry to France from Newhaven. We arrived at 10.30 p.m. and because I had a Blue Badge we were allowed to park in the almost empty driveway free of charge, otherwise it would have been £25, and whether that was per night or per stay I don't know. The porter was helpful and led us up a ramp to reception. So far so good!

Downhill after that.... our room was on the ground floor - the ceiling must have been 20' above us and so the 2 radiators near the bay window were inadequate. The room was cool, to say the least. The flat screen television was small and seemed miles from the bed. The pillows were hard and the matttress seemed to need renewing. Worse was to come...

The bathroom was the most ill equipped bathroom for the disabled that I have ever been in - we could not get round the toilet if the drop down bar was in place - the grab bars were non--existent in the shower or wrongly placed elsewhere - a slippery tiled floor - I could go on and on. I have written to Management with a detailed letter as to what was wrong.

The hotel itself is old fashioned but comfortable in the public rooms - but for the disabled, no.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

As we had previously visited Eastbourne's Grand Hotel for afternoon tea, dinner in its Mirabelle Restaurant and for Saturday evening dancing, expectations for our stay ran high - we were not disappointed. From the moment of arrival we felt pampered by each member of staff we encountered who all did everything possible to ensure comfortable settling in. Our room, furnished in traditional style to suit the hotel's ambience, was 'roomy' - plenty of space for the huge and nicely-canopied bed, several pieces of useful furniture including tallboy, desk, 3-piece suite and two capacious fitted wardrobes (one with a personal safe). The elegant drapes, in William Morris design-style, completed the overall feel of comfort and being cared for.
Our dinner party of ten in the Mirabelle was first-class with attention given to every detail. The dancing which followed in the nearby lounge/dance floor was immensely enjoyable with excellent music provided by a versatile trio and good vocalist.
When we made a reservation for Sunday afternoon tea we did not realise, as it was the last Sunday of the month, there was to be a Palm Court String Quartet providing that special brand of 'genteel' music: as it was for the broadcasts from the hotel's Great Hall of the BBC's Palm Court Orchestra every Sunday afternoon from 1923-1939. Tea was presented individually on 3-tier stands - dainty sandwiches on the lower plate, small cakes and a fruit compote on the centre plate, and scones on the top; of course, cream and strawberry jam were provided for accompaniment. This 'Palm Court and Tea' session was a highlight of our stay, but the entire experience was one of magnificent pleasure. It would be wonderful to return for another get-away at this elegant 'white palace' - a stunning building with a comprehensive range of accompanying facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badger1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,052 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £141 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing