We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2010

The Grand is Grand.
From the welcome, its history, the facilities.
We love it and so do our children.
( Don't be put off my some of the petty comments you may read - it really is a very happy place for a holiday ).
The room was lovely, the breakfasts will last you all day, and the location, just opposite the sea is great. The children love the swimming pools, and all the staff are very kind and polite.
10/10

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,577 - 1,583 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2010

Great hotel perfectly located in Eastbourne. Can't find anything negative to say about it. I especially love the size of the room, the SPA, the heated outdoor swimming pool, great beds and delicious breakfast. Perfect break in a beautiful hotel, 2 min walk from the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MademoiselleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed here for my birthday two years ago in March. We were greeted on arrival by a very smart doorman who unloaded our bags and parked our car for us, something one doesn't find in most hotels these days. The entrance hall and foyer was splendid with beautiful chandeliers and marble pillars and floors. Reception staff couldn't be faulted. At least two very charming restaurants and a breakfast room. A lovely and charming lounge area with views of the sea where we were served afternoon tea on plush seats and just a really good relaxed feel to the whole area. The only let down was our bedroom which was even then looking rather tired and in need of redecoration and recarpeting. We had a front sea view room but sadly no balcony. There was a separate lounge area with TV and beyond that a very lovely bathroom. Sadly my sleep was disturbed by the softness of the bed which was very bad for my back (I am registered disabled). But in general I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My husband had just been diagnosed as diabetic and the chef was very helpful in recommending dishes suitable for him. We have recommended this hotel to friends and they too stayed there. Their and our only problem was that unless one books a table for dinner in advance, you will probably not be able to eat there unless you use room service. Just improve your bedroom decor Grand Hotel, and we will return again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I visited the Grand for just one night, with my 80 year old mother and 8 year old daughter and it catered for them both perfectly. Without exception every member of staff we encountered was polite and helpful, and the hotel itself was in excellent condition. The ambience in the restaurant was lovely, and the food excellent. Will almost certainly be going back.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
Thank weekendclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Very good all round ,nice rooms, superb food and great service worthy of its 5 stars

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I booked a night at the Grand as a treat for myself and my partner for our aniversary. We had a wonderful time!
It was exciting to be greeted at the entrance from our taxi and shown promptly to our (lovely) room. The spa/swimming pool was fun, and we thoroughly took advantage of it.
We did not eat at the resturants, but had late night room service which was speedyily delivered and delicious.
The staff were very polite and corteous and made us feel very welcome.
The experieince wasn't cheap for a couple on a budget like us (hence not restuarnt etc) but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Simply one of the finest hotels I have stayed in anywhere. The standard of service is second to none. The rooms are beautifully maintained and the quality of the linen, towels etc is exceptional. We ate well be it breakfast, afternoon tea or dinner and the leisure facilities are superb. We shall return - often.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaieuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
997 reviews
1.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,032 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £142 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing