We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better signposting needed”
Review of Beachy Head

Beachy Head
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.10*
and up
South Downs and Seven Sisters Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Brighton
More Info
US$78.61*
and up
Cuckmere Haven to Eastbourne Hiking and Canoeing Day Tour from Polegate
Ranked #1 of 60 things to do in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Beachy Head in Eastbourne is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
London
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Better signposting needed”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The location of the lightouse is not immediately obvious, and neither is the new Bomber Command memorial when parked at the Beachy Head Conservation Centre. If you cross the road from there the first memorial you come across is in disrepair without much information as to why it is there at all. We asked at the centre and they told us to walk in a straight line over the hill in front and follow the tarmac path. Why no signs from the car park. If they are there then they are not doing their job. Perhaps some form of display to guide you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FirstStrategy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,092
    797
    139
    17
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am getting used to heights so this was a challenge and managed to walk up nearly to the top. Lovely views of the town. Shame about the block of flats though. Who ever gave planning permission for those in such a place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank love2travel887125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Stunning View and perfect picnic spot”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

There area a couple of car parks near the site, approaching from either direction, both have a charge.
The area is very beautiful and we were blessed with a still and warm day. The height is quite unnerving and I could only look over the edge if I lay in the grass, as I felt so scared! I could not site with my feet over as others did!
it offers lovely photo opportunities from the cliff walk and plenty space for a nice picnic.
No facilities and annoyingly no bins for rubbish or dog poo to be found!
The Eastbourne open top bus pauses momentarily at the site for a look.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovetoholiday11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a lovely place to visit, welcoming and friendly. Enjoyed looking at all the photos and paintings. Make sure you have cash as they do not take debit or credit cards.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fluffyduck51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quiet and enjoy the view”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great view, nice walking and creamtea as reward is fabulous. Take bus 13x to get there. Also visit cuckmere haven and burlinggap.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mverveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachy Head also viewed

 

Been to Beachy Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing