We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hau's that!”
Review of Mr Hau

Mr Hau
Ranked #94 of 402 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hau's that!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Not sure what to expect when we went in, as seemed rather small restaurant, but staff were very friendly. Good menu, and the food was delicious. Perhaps they should have mentioned that the Thai meal that I had was exceptionally hot with chillies, but the excellent Chinese beer helped cool me down. Very reasonably priced, so all in all a nice dining experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    56
    23
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
188 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Thanks for your attention”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was quite late arriving and was a little embarrassed when , after a short while, I was the last surviving customer. Not a problem. The young English waiter( a rarity in Chinese restaurants which are usually family run) was splendid, helpful, chatty but not too much while the owner was on the spot. Good crab and sweetcorn soup and excellent crispy duck. This is a restaurant that rarely lets you down.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quick Delivery dishes Hot n Fresh”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On the whole we thought this delivery was pretty good, having read the other reviews, we were not sure what to expect, so we called our delivery order in, rather then ordering online, we live pretty close to this restaurant so was very pleased when we were told delivery time was 45 mins - 1hr, but we received it in 40 mins, all good so far, our starters were great and so was the chow mein dishes but the mixed veg in oyster sauce was very under seasoned and tasted pretty bland, apart from this all was ok, this hasn't put us off and we would order from Mr Hau's again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NativeNewYorker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“just a good place to eat chinese food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

be advised, this is sort of semi self - catering restaurant, you chose a meal, and order it on a till. pay before / after is ok. best crabmeat sweetcorn soup in here!
i dont know if there is outdoor seating, but eventhough, there is goos a\c inside, not antarctic, but very pleasant cool fresh air. high possibilty of take away...i didnt ask, i'm to Eastbourne local =)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megapsixopad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Takeaway!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We decided to order takeaway for a friend's birthday treat. The ordering process was quick and easy, a time was given for delivery, and the food arrived spot on time! The food was varied and tasty, one small complaint, none of the containers were marked with what was in them. Overall we were very satisfied with the service, and we would be glad to order from here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starlight191282016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr Hau also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Mr Hau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing