We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Eastbourne October 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Far End Guest House
Ranked #36 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stay in Eastbourne October 2012”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed at the Far End Guest House in Eastbourne in October 2012 and I would be very happy to go back. My first impression was excellent and it carried on with a very clean and warm room, warm and clean bathroom and excellent breakfast. I did ask whether I could share the succulent evening meal Qi was preparing in the evening and I may take her offer next time. I like the location because it is away from the centre and I felt very much like a welcomed guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    15
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
21
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dublin ireland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

First I have to say you will be met with the warmest of welcome's ,and a desire to please .
Far End is under new management taken over just 2 week's before I arrived on the 20th July .
Yes it is in great need of a make over old carpets ect ect. However the bedding was spotless also the towel's, shower was spotless.
The breakfast was very good .All I can say is it deserve's a chance after the previous negative review's and if it has already improved 100% on customer service well perhap's the rest will follow.
I thank QI who now manage's Far End for the terrific looking after she gave us .We were a party of 10 staying in Eastbourne for a wedding ,she is customer service at it's BEST.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank josieDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Met at the door with 10 mins of rules , choice of two rooms when I got there cold damp and sizable or small and cold . the view over the park was lovely . just seen the other reviews and they are right its owners think they are somewhat better then you . they have a number in the hall to call If you have any trouble or want anything its a dead line no one answers it, I tried three times just to see , my advice to these people is get in someone who can talk to guests and give it a make over

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Had a rough night due to poor heating which is low during the evening and totally swtiched off at night. Slept only 4-5 hours consequently. Clean room but strong smell of old furniture and stuff. View from top bedrooms are nice.

- Everything ruined due to bad cold night. Will not recommend.

Room Tip: Top rooms have good sea view but smell and cold night ruined the experience for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kunal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Good location, good parking off road for motorcycles, a very good breakfast. However, the host is somewhat indifferent to guests. The room had a strong smell of mould, the decor is dated, the tv very basic, towells not changed daily, heating not switched on so you could not dry towells (we were told no heating if you have the window open!) We did get replacement towells eventually but we were not popular. I think we witnessed perhaps the worst hosting skills ever and regrettably cannot recommend this guest house, I get the feeling this is a place in decline. What a shame, Eastbourne and its visitors deserve better!

Room Tip: Don't bother but if you really have too, try to get a room at the rear as the main road is quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkFilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea View Guest House
Sea View Guest House
#6 of 77 in Eastbourne
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Devonia
Devonia
#46 of 77 in Eastbourne
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Langtons Guesthouse
The Langtons Guesthouse
#10 of 77 in Eastbourne
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#2 of 77 in Eastbourne
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakers Guest House
Breakers Guest House
#4 of 77 in Eastbourne
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ebor Lodge
Ebor Lodge
#1 of 11 in Eastbourne
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far End Guest House

Property: Far End Guest House
Address: 139 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Far End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly guest house on the Eastbourne seafront with fabulous park and sea views. Eastbourne with its beautiful promenade and gardens is surrounded by the South Downs and is within easy reach of Beachy Head, Sovereign Harbor and New Haven. Far End Guest House in Eastbourne has a fabulous position on the seafront (1 mile from the town centre) and is adjacent to the popular Princess Park with its boating lake, lawns, bowling greens and pitch 'n' putt. Close by, you can enjoy sailing, fishing, tennis and swimming. From the moment you arrive, you are assured of a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Far End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing