We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of old world charm and good food”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #28 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We went to The Lamb In on Friday night for a meal. The menu is wide ranging and caters for all tastes. We were quickly shown to our table and ordered drinks which we with us in no time. The food was delicious and wth generous portions, and with a great old world atmosphere is a place we will definitely be returing to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

There is just something about this place that is so incredibly special above and beyond being a quintessential British Pub. Maybe it is that part of the building is a 1000 years old. Perhaps it is because it was the best Full English Breakfast I had during my entire stay in England...maybe it is the spotless rooms with the comfortable beds...but most of all it is the charm of the pub and the warmth and welcome of the owner and his entire staff especially Natalie! She is so happy and lovely and makes you feel right at home! I don't know where they source their food but the eggs, bangers and bacon were delicious! And they also made the best Pimms cocktail I had in the whole of England! Well done Lamb!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Lamb Inn at Eastbourne as we were visiting relations. The staff and the manager were really welcoming and made our stay a really enjoyable one. The dining area was relaxed and with good quality food we had a really pleasant evening with our family members. The room we stayed in was clean and had plenty of space for us to move around in and the breakfast in the morning was lovely and the quality of service excellent. It was a shame we could only stay for one night, but I am sure we will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaBrenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We visited the Lamb Inn over the weekend with our family which included a baby and a dog.
The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly or accommodating and the food was first class.
I had the steak and kidney pudding which was the best that I have tasted for a very long time and my wife had the fish pie which she thoroughly enjoyed.
The vegetables were freshly prepared well cooked and flavoutsome.
We look forward to visiting the Lamb the next time that we are in Eastbourne.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentManofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Cosy dining area in this old fashioned pub. We were welcomed and served by two smiley, efficient girls. The menu choice is not vast but suitable for all diners, especially me because I can never make up my mind! The food we ordered was perfect - portion size, flavour and vegetables cooked 'al dente'. Happy with prices. We weren't hurried in any way and enjoyed chat with the staff. Upstairs there is a room used for various events, some free of charge. Toilets very clean. Covered in well a feature just outside the toilets.Small parking area adjacent to pub. Will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dizzydi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Visited the Lamb Inn recently with a group of friends for Sunday lunch and we cannot rate this pub highly enough. The atmosphere was pleasant and cosy and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food and beer were great and the cellar tour ended our visit nicely. Thank-you Lamb Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koconut_Coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Hello, Keyboard warrior here!
Just to say thanks to Natalie for making us so welcome during our short, but sweet stay!
Breakfast was superb, as was our evening meal.
We really enjoyed hearing about the history of the pub, but was disappointed that Emily the ghost didn't put in an appearance!
The bedrooms, and bathrooms were spotlessly clean.
Will be back.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,932 reviews
1.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,695 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
985 reviews
1.4 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,062 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: 36 High Street, Eastbourne BN21 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £88 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Food, Real Ales, amazing times! Get connected with The Lamb Inn ! Located in Eastbourne's Historic Old Town, The Lamb Inn is the perfect place to unwind with friends and loved ones. Whether you are looking for a place to lay your head after a day of exploring or simply a relaxing drink, our beautiful 14th century public house is the ideal place for you, all year round. The Lamb Inn has been lovingly designed to give the perfect mix of traditional and modern, while our menu offers traditional pub classics with all the trimmings. Connect with us here and stay in touch with fellow Lamb enthusiasts!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing