We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Lodge Guest House
Ranked #25 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Location location location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

This is a lovley place to stay,very clean,a very good quality breakfast,very helpful hosts,this is on a fairly busy road but was a quiet location with lovley views across the sea,tea coffee chocolate drinks and a selection of boiled sweets.lovley for all age groups.our room had a slipping roof,tall people would find it very difficult not to bump there head.the bathroom was large and very clean,only a small hair shower over the bath,no stand up shower,I would recomend this to family and friends.

Room Tip: Quite steep stairs up to bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    30
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
67
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

A small and friendly establishment, our hosts offered a great breakfast made with quality rather than quantity. Our children were also made welcome and well catered for with choices that suited them at breakfast time. We found the place a little quiet in the evening, I was the only customer on the night I visited the bar but having said that I had a really quiet night's sleep afterwards, not even the seagulls could wake me through the double glazed windows.
Mark offered good advice on places to visit and good walks to be had in the event it actually stopped raining and we visited nearby Brighton and Bexhill as well as the Towner art gallery with its lovely modern art. Yes they do have a firm policy on smoking but since its a filthy habit we quit decades ago I welcomed this and fully support the owner's stance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed at Bay Lodge for 3 days over the Easter weekend visiting our daughter. Booked the double room with balcony, but it was too cold to use it. Must be great in summer. I too smoke, but was told on the booking that the hotel was "no smoking" and this included the balcony...so I had no problem with this.

Mark is a good host and the breakfast was tasty.

We will stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AeroToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
235 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

The hotel is situated a little bit far from the center and the train station, arroung 1 km, but trust me it's worthing all the money. The Guest House is a really 4 star accomodation with a brilliant breakfast where Mark the owner is the the perfect host for your stay. All his advices are welcomed and very usefull. The only problem iis that you must be civilised in order to stay here. The are a set of rules, most of them normal, like "no smoking", in the rooms, and the Mark's only condition is to follow them. SO IF YOU PLAN BREAK THESE RULES,, better try another accomodation

Room Tip: ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maniac_the_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow upon Soar, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Booked double room with balcony for the purpose of having a cigarette in the open air only to be told that it was a completely no smoking hotel and that was including the balcony and outside the front door, Now ok but no mention of this was in the advert on the web page. On hearing this I said ok we would move but in fairness to the owner he allowed me to smoke on the balcony with the door shut, Which I was doing anyway. If they are so much against smokers may I suggest he takes no bookings or money from them and only takes non smoking guests.
We stayed three nights having booked five, On Sunday we came back to the hotel having been out looking at the harbour, Extremely cold to warm up alas the heating was turned off as it was every day.The owners answer was that it was a bed and breakfast hotel only so they don't keep the heating on I thought that this kind off hotel went out in the 60's. The beds were made daily but in the four days we stayed not once did the room get hoovered. Breakfasts were excellent plenty of choice and a hearty full English.

Room Tip: Ring For Rules No Lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayL, Owner at Bay Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Yes we are a non smoking guest house and we advertise as such, we also have signs asking guests to refrain from smoking, We do not allow smoking on the balcony as it can blow back into the room or adjoining rooms making the room smell of smoke (which it did on this occasion). I only allowed this guest to smoke on the balcony (against my better judgement) as it was explained that he was unwell and that he was quitting after this weekend, also the room above was unoccupied.

The guest left late on Sunday because he said that the weather was getting worse and he wanted to get home before it really got bad. I agreed to waive the last days payment as a gesture of good will. Only after saying he was going to leave did he mention that the room was not warm when he came back from their trip out, if he had done so earlier he would have been offered supplementary heating for the room. All guesthouses as far as I am aware have periods during the late morning and early afternoon where their heating is lower, it reflects their clients needs and keeps the costs down, our heating comes on at 3pm.

Please please do not book with us if you intend to smoke anywhere on our premises as it is against our house rules and you will be asked to leave immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have stayed twice at the bay lodge and the both times were great! The sea front view rooms have great views. The rooms are nicely decorated, very clean, and the bathroom toileteries are of good quality! The breakfast included is great with lots of choice! The owners are very friendly and helpful, the center of eastbourne is close. Will definitely return next time we go to eastbourne!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiemimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We spent two nights here with my mum and her friend as an 80th birthday treat for mum. The twin room on the ground floor was perfect for them. It was a large room and had eveything they needed without having to contend with stairs. Our room on the second floor had a sloping ceiling but was a good size. The bathroom was large. Everywhere in the hotel was spotless and the owners were really friendly but not intrusive. There was a wide selection of food available for breakfast including fruit, cereals, Full Engllsh, pastries and toast and marmalade. It was very good value for money and we would definetely stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front with a sea view as the back rooms overlook a residential street with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beamsley Lodge
Beamsley Lodge
#28 of 78 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sheldon
The Sheldon
#24 of 78 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
The New England
The New England
#17 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea View Guest House
Sea View Guest House
#6 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Bed & Breakfast
Pebble Beach Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iverna
Hotel Iverna
#41 of 78 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lodge Guest House

Property: Bay Lodge Guest House
Address: 61 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome awaits guests at the Bay Lodge Guest House in Eastbourne. Situated on the seafront opposite the Redoubt Military Fortress and Pavilion Tea Gardens. There are six ensuite rooms for adults only, situated over three floors. Two of the room have sea views and one of these has a large balcony with seating. Each room has TV with Freeview, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and clock radio. Full English breakfast and buffet are served each day in the dining room. There is a car park at the rear with three spaces and free on street parking nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing