We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming. Lovely hotel. Highly reccomended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming. Lovely hotel. Highly reccomended”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed Friday night and left Saturday, Very nice hotel, very clean rooms and spotless in reception. We were made to feel very welcome upon entering the hotel. All of the staff were very helpful, curious and professional, a delicious cooked breakfast, when we walked into the dinning room we were met and served straight away.
I would/will most definitely be staying there again and both I and my partner would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you Alice M

Your feedback is great for staff moral and makes a huge difference on a day to day basis. We have informed the Chef of your compliments regarding breakfast and all of the House Keeping team who work so hard to keep our hotel clean and tidy. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    136
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
100
257
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasea island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed on sat night and had a twin room on the top floor. We were greeted by friendly staff and a really lovely looking hotel. Our room Was comfy and clean if a little dated and we had a good night's sleep, although my husband said the bed was too soft for his liking. The breakfast was great with lots of choice and freshly cooked breakfasts to accompany the croissants, juice, toast, cereal and yoghurts! We were stuffed when we left. The staff were efficient, polite and there was a nice atmosphere in the room. The professional hotel photos look great and I hope that this look will be matched even up to the top floor. Overall this hotel is in a great location and the stay was great value for money and we would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear TSvickers

Thank you for reviewing the New Wilmington Hotel. We really pride ourselves on the breakfast we serve and the choice we offer, we only use high quality cereal brands, yogurts and spreads as we feel this adds an extra touch to your stay. Our rooms are always going through a cycle of refurbishment and just this week we have refitted two new bathrooms. When booking you can always request room details to help make your selection from economy, standard, standard plus and superior.

We hope this information is helpful and look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2012

A lovely hotel,we came johnsons coaches and all the staff were most helpful.
bedroom very good and clean the food very good and a good choose.
Had difficulty in getting up last flight of stairs from floor 3.
Hope we will be able to come again sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Michael C

Thank you for taking them time to review us. If it is any help when booking with Johnsons you can mention your room preferences and we will make the appropriate arrangements to make sure you are as comfortable as possible. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My wife and I booked the hotel after reading the very favourable reviews on Trip Advisor and we are ever so glad that we did! We were warmly greeted by Jon and shown to our room. We had booked a standard double room (which was perfectly adequate) with ensuite shower room. I must say that they were both immaculately clean and well appointed. The mattress was firm enough for us both and the location of the room meant that it was extremely quiet and we had a great nights sleep. After making good use of the additional hour lie in, we headed down to breakfast. The dining area is the only part of the hotel in need of updating (however it was spotless). Breakfast was simply amazing as was the friendly and efficient service! We would definitely recommend the hotel and look forward to another night away without the kids...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GDandCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear GDandCD

Thank you for sharing your kind words with TripAdvisor. We are all very excited as this January we are refurbishing the dining room to bring it in line with our reception, lounge and bar area. Thanks again and we have shared your review with Jon as it always gives staff a real boost when singled out for particular praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
226 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We've just returned from a four night stay which we found very enjoyable. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the food very good and the service impeccable. We had a twin room which was slightly on the small side but as we needed a walk in shower that obviously restricts the choice somewhat. The only fault was that the wall to the adjoining bedroom was very thin but our neighbours seemed to have a similar taste in TV programmes to us and kept similar hours so it wasn't too much of a problem on this occasion.

The hotel seemed to be very well managed and the staff were, without exception, very friendly and efficient. We would happily return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demoncodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear demoncodger

Thank you for taking the time to review New Wilmington. We all work very hard as a team to make our hotel a place people want to visit again and again.

Kind Regards

New Wilmington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just had a weekend in this hotel it is the best hotel we stay in in eastbourne it is very very clean the staff are helpful and friendly the rooms are clean and got every thing you need the food is excellent we will be going back i would recommed this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Pat M

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with Tripadvisor users. It is so important to us that positive experiences are shared openly and gives our staff a great boost. We have shared your comments regarding the cleanliness and food quality with the house keeping team and kitchen team respectively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The Hotel does not have a sea view but because of the staff this does not matter at all. They go out of thier way to make however long you stay, the most enjoyable time you will ever have in Eastbourne.The food at at anytime of the day is excellent, but due to these times you must book your table.
Well done to all of you for making this Family weekend a time I and all of us WILL never forget.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Jeff S

Wow what a lovely review, it makes our day to know your family have had a holiday you will never forget! Did you join our RGC (Regular Guest Club)? We send out an email or a mailshot once every quarter to keep people up to date with our latest news and special offers. Feel free to call the hotel any time and we will add you.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,957 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,548 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Property: New Wilmington Hotel
Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing