We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Day Turkey & Tinsel break 9th to 12th November 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

You cannot fault this hotel, the location was excellent to the sea front, also the theatres and shops.
The hotel staff were very friendly during our stay ,nothing was too trouble for them.
The hotel was very clean and the food was excellent.
Entertainment was good we even had a piper come in on N.Y.E
Good value

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear pat c

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest do love the haggis being presented with an authentic piper while on a festive break and the Chef love presenting it as well. We're over the moon that you enjoyed yourself and have shared your experience with all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

stayed 9th till 12th nov for a turkey and tinsel weekend with a large group.had a great time.staff were superb...food the same.....homecooked!!!....lovely all round.decor very nice....clean too.couldnt fault it.booked for next yr already.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear deborah59

What a lovely review to come in and see. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Our Turkey & Tinsel packages are popular every year and taking bookings for 2013 is a sign of just how much our guest enjoy them. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night in October 2012. Were very lucky to get free parking on the street outside. Found the staff at this hotel excellent, met by a very friendly male receptionist, we had arrived earlier than the check in time but no problem, our room was ready. Room was a bit dated but spotless clean. Staff in the breakfast room particularly helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRO08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear LRO08

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, Jon had a big smile on his face when we informed him of your comments regarding his warm greeting. Thanks again and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I really liked this hotel. It is nice on the outside and bright and pleasing on the inside. I found parking easily on the street. We were welcomed by very likeable staff, and the room was big and cosey. We had the larger double room and was very comfortable. Nice big TV. Nice warm strong shower. Tea and coffee in the room. The breakfast was very nice too. I would definitely stay here again, and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank igudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear igudgeon

Thank you for your kind review. If the budget is there it certainly is worth the extra few pounds for a large double or superior room. I will pass on your comments to our two senior chefs as they do work very hard to make sure guests receive consistently good food.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We recently stayed at the New Wilmington we had the most perfect relaxing stay, the room was spotless, staff were very friendly, the hotel was in a perfect location about 5 mins walk from the sea and pier, big screen TV's and very homely. We would definitely go back again and we have joined the guest club and we hope to win the yearly draw for a 2 day break. I am so glad I put my trust in the reviews on Trip Adviser as this was the perfect weekend away from our busy lifestyles. I will most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Eastbourne.

Room Tip: Book with Booking.com, We stayed in a Superior suite as it was cheaper on Booking.com than a standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amyh2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear amyh2012_12

We are so happy you both had such a wonderful anniversary while staying at our hotel. We are seeing a big increase in the amount of couples visiting Eastbourne for a romantic break and will be looking towards offering a romantic package where guests can have special wine, flowers and chocolates in their room.

Thanks for taking the time to review New Wilmington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed Friday night and left Saturday, Very nice hotel, very clean rooms and spotless in reception. We were made to feel very welcome upon entering the hotel. All of the staff were very helpful, curious and professional, a delicious cooked breakfast, when we walked into the dinning room we were met and served straight away.
I would/will most definitely be staying there again and both I and my partner would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Thank you Alice M

Your feedback is great for staff moral and makes a huge difference on a day to day basis. We have informed the Chef of your compliments regarding breakfast and all of the House Keeping team who work so hard to keep our hotel clean and tidy. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed on sat night and had a twin room on the top floor. We were greeted by friendly staff and a really lovely looking hotel. Our room Was comfy and clean if a little dated and we had a good night's sleep, although my husband said the bed was too soft for his liking. The breakfast was great with lots of choice and freshly cooked breakfasts to accompany the croissants, juice, toast, cereal and yoghurts! We were stuffed when we left. The staff were efficient, polite and there was a nice atmosphere in the room. The professional hotel photos look great and I hope that this look will be matched even up to the top floor. Overall this hotel is in a great location and the stay was great value for money and we would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear TSvickers

Thank you for reviewing the New Wilmington Hotel. We really pride ourselves on the breakfast we serve and the choice we offer, we only use high quality cereal brands, yogurts and spreads as we feel this adds an extra touch to your stay. Our rooms are always going through a cycle of refurbishment and just this week we have refitted two new bathrooms. When booking you can always request room details to help make your selection from economy, standard, standard plus and superior.

We hope this information is helpful and look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,624 reviews
1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,424 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £58 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing