We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good stay very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had to stay in Eastbourne for a couple of days and looked for a reasonably priced located in the town. The New Wilmington from the moment we stepped in the door was friendly and wel
coming. The room we were given was pleasant clean with a good shower/tv/and quiet. They even added a tea towel so you could actually dry your cup after a nice cup of tea , first time I have seen this and a good touch!
The next morning we had a lovely breakfast and was served by a very chirply waitress called Eve who was very personable and added a bright start to the day.
Overall lovely place for a comfortable stay

Room Tip: we were allocated a room on the road and had a good nights sleep without any excess noise. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarletPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear ScarletPetal

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We do try to add those little touches which make people want to share their experiences with friends, family and the world of TripAdvisor. We will pass on your comments to the housekeeping department who always enjoy hearing their hard work does not go unnoticed. We will also pass on your praise to Eve who is our newest member of staff so it will really help her as she settles in.

Thanks again

All at the New Wilmington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    132
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
98
254
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

My 12 year old daughter and I spent two nights here. The room was a twin at the back and was very comfortable with a good sized bathroom. There was some early morning noise from scaffolders outside our window and a terrible smell of paint at times but obviously this won't always apply. The beds were comfortable, TV a good size for the room. The shower didn't have a great amount of pressure but was ok for a couple of nights. The breakfasts and dinners were really good value for money and very tasty. The location opposite the theatres and minutes from the beach was ideal for us. The staff were all polite and friendly and all in all I couldn't fault the service. It was a good value break in a quiet residential spot. No sea views but no pricey rooms either!

Room Tip: To avoid scaffolding go to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumsTheWord57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear MumsTheWord57

Thank you for taking the time to review the New Wilmington Hotel. We are sorry that the workmen were up early on the scaffolding, the rear of the hotel was being painted but is finished now. We will have a look at the shower as we try to make sure all bathrooms have a suitable amount of water pressure. Thank you for your kind comments regarding staff and we will share this feedback with the reception and restaurant team. A wonderful review and great feedback, have a fantastic summer and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

A lovely, clean and well furnished hotel with a family feel, very friendly indeed. Great, locally sourced food, a fab atmosphere and always good company with very attentive staff. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizziePope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear LizziePope

Thanks you for taking the time to review New Wilmington Hotel on TripAdvisor. We really pride ourselves on how clean our whole hotel is and how personable staff are towards guests. The food has been a steady improvement and although we have always provided good quality food, we wanted to take it to the next level with more choice and an updated menu to go alongside the new refurbishment of our restaurant; The Mulberry. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

My wife and I have just visited the New Wilmington Hotel in Eastbourne. We have stayed there many times before but this time was just a very brief stay as a surprise for my wife so as to celebrate our 53rd wedding annerversary. This time we were in a superior room, when we first stayed at the NW all the rooms were more or less the same standard but now it really would be worth paying the extra for an upgrade.With a very good shower installed, large television and first rate upgrade it would be difficult to find fault. The food and service is as good as ever and when Lyn suprised us with a cake that as they sayput the icing on the whole weekend. We shared the cake with the other guests after we had been to the show keeping apiece back for Lyn. Many thanks to all at NW for a good time.

Room Tip: An upgrade is worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Dear Laurie02

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words regarding your stay celebrating the 53rd anniversary of your wedding, a great achievement! A lot of guests are now booking superior rooms for that extra bit of luxury and it is great that people reading this review can see the extra bit of money makes a big difference. Lyn wants to say a special thank you as it made her day to be mentioned in your TripAdvisor review, it means so much to staff when they are called out for special praise.

Thank you again

All at New Wilmington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ealing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

This hotel used to be owned by my uncle in the late 60's...hadn't been there in over 40 years yet we walked in and it felt like home...the management and staff are wonderful and will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible (obviously within reason) - the rooms are beautifully comfortable in a homely way...they have everything you need...the restaurant and the breakfasts are great, in the evening the bar has a great atmosphere and the functions and entertainment they lay on for guests at Christmas are brilliant...why this hotel is only rated as an AA 3 Star I will never understand as we've stayed in so many supposedly luxury hotels around Britain and Europe yet we'll always come back here and be treated like family...and always enjoy our stay!!! We were hoping to visit in the New Year but they were being refurbed - can't wait to come home and see what's new - thanks to the lovely Sue Harris and her team for making this the place that deserved to win Eastbourne's Hotel of the year...(even though they have no car park there is free parking outside) - well deserved and we'll see you soon - thank you !!! Bron & Simone x

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Bron B

Thank you so much for your kind review. As you follow our facebook page you will be fully aware of the extent of the refurbishment of the soon to be Mulberry restaurant. We are really looking forward to the reaction of our regular guests and several of our rooms are having new bathrooms fitted as well. Look forward to seeing you again this year and look out for the photos on facebook as we update the refurbishment album.

Thanks again

Sue Harris and all at the New Wilmington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The whole experience was truly exceptional. The staff were friendly and helpful! The building is well furnished and clearly kept to a very high, fresh standard. The basin in our bathroom was brilliant too- my partner kept raving about it. As for the food, again brilliant, couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niceperson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Niceperson66

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently working on refurbishing our new restaurant which will launch in March along with regular Sunday Roasts. We hope to see you again and continue to provide a high level of service.

Kind Regards

New Wilmington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Very welcoming staff
Lovely rooms with everything you need!
Lift is great, no climbing stairs
Menu and food are 5*, enjoyed every breakfast and evening meal, you can also order lunch too if needed!!
My husband had a stinker of a cold and he got a full breakfast on a tray in our room, wonderful service!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauraianharps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Lauraianharps

Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be informing the kitchen team regarding your positive experience with the food.

Kind Regards

New Wilmington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Property: New Wilmington Hotel
Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing