We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better hotels in Eastbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“One of the better hotels in Eastbourne”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Have Visited Eastbourne for the tennis on several occasions and stayed in various hotels.
We found the New Wilmington to be the best.
Many Hotels in Eastbourne are old & tired.
We had a superior room which was nice and spacious also very clean.
The staff were very friendly especially at reception and the breakfast was good.
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Lorraine W

Wow what a compliment from a regular visitor to our town. We will keep up the good work and always strive to be the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    138
    37
    6
    3
See reviews for
102
266
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Stated overnight whilst at a party on Eastbourne Pier. Wonderful warm welcome and stylish surroundings downstairs. We had a standard room on the top floor and whilst not as stylish as downstairs was large, spotlessly clean and very peaceful meaning a great nights sleep.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and sausages were particularly tasty. All served with a smile

Service all round was certainly better than 3 star Thanks to everyone involved in our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Kent2

Thanks for reviewing the New Wilmington Hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a great nights sleep. We will inform the chef of you compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I really cannot find any negatives to say about this hotel, in fact I loved it! I stayed for 2 nights with my parents over the may bank holiday. I had a standard twin room and my parents had a double. People mention that if you upgrade to a superior room the rooms are bigger. My standard twin was huge, spotless, comfortable and my parents double was a good size, and again spotless and very comfortable.

The breakfast was fabulous! Huge choice, great portion sizes and nothing was too much trouble. My parents had the smoked haddock and were astonished at the size of their fish!

The key thing here is the staff. Everyone is so helpful, happy and just want to ensure you have the best possible stay. We really couldn't find fault with the hotel at all.

As for location, its a short walk along the front to the centre, with plenty of on street free parking, but if you do struggle to park, the hotel will provide vouchers for you to park in resident parking bays.

Thanks to everyone for making our stay so pleasurable. we are planning to come again in October and look forward to staying at the new wilmington again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Linda P

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We will be letting all the staff know how their hard work has paid off.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Great Location for the Tennis. Very clean comfortable very competent and courteous staff and importantly good coffee and hearty breakfast. And very good eating places near by

But.....the curtains in the bedrooms were flimsy and did not keep out the light.

Would go back on the provisor they gave us blackout curtains,

Val

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank savarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear savarese

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Our breakfasts are regularly praised by guests and we will share your review with the kitchen team. I'm afraid we do not supply blackout curtains but maybe this is something worth looking into so we will keep it in mind.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location not only for the tennis but the sea side and the lively walk along there. A little street is nearby for dinner although the hotel offers dinner too. The staff was very friendly, the rooms clean. Our only negative was the too soft mattress. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpennin104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Ipennin104

Thanks for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed yourself and took the time to review us on tripAdvisor. Our mattresses have all been replaced very recently but because different people have different requirements we do supply bed boards which take the spring out of the base of the bed. Please let us know if you stay again and we will have one fitted to your bed.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel is certainly worth considering when staying in Eastbourne. Stayed one night. Good location, no problem parking and friendly staff. Common areas are decorated to a high standard and rooms spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Keith T

Thank you for your review of New Wilmington. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will be sharing your review with all staff. You will make their day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed with my elderly mother who is not very mobile. Staff were lovely and could not have been more helpful. Steps at front of hotel, but there is level access at the back, with a room to store wheelchairs etc. In the middle of the hotel there are also 4 steps, but there is a stair lift.
Location is perfect, two minutes walk to the front and about 10 minutes from the pier. Hotel is right by the Congress Theatre too.
All the staff were friendly and helpful. Eve, our waitress, is great and has a lovely way with older guests. Hotel decor is clean and bright, not tatty like some of the larger chain hotels. Food was very good, although it would be useful to offer some lighter options for those with smaller appetites and also some salads.
The only minor niggle was that the floors creak and you do get noise from other rooms. All in all, a very good hotel and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 95JennyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Property: New Wilmington Hotel
Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing