We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turkey and Tinsel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Turkey and Tinsel”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Turkey and Tinsel

scrooge is alive and well and running the New Wilmington Hotel.

We booked the 4 day event that included evening entertainment only to be phoned with a week to go to say there would be no entertainment no reason given no sorry no nothing.

We were fully refunded after several calls but not the sprit of christmas.

Would not recommend and most certainly would not use again, poor show New Wilmington

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harris905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Harris905

We are sorry to have disappointed you regarding the entertainment for your Turkey and Tinsel package. As soon as we realised the entertainment we had booked was not going to happen, we contacted all guests with a booking straight away. We called you 8 days before the booking with the bad news and a full explanation that we simply couldn't spend so much money on the entertainment with so few guests booked in for that particular date, not only would it have been a financial loss but the atmosphere would have been very dull. We understand that it is little consolation but we did offer a change of date that was more popular or a full refund. You wanted to keep your booking in the first instance but later decided to call back and ask for a full refund, which we agreed to with no question and was received by your bank within 3 working days. We are still very sorry for the inconvenience and understand your frustration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    134
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
99
254
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Decided to try a turkey and tinsel break and think we struck gold on our first attempt. The hotel was absolutely lovely with staff who couldn't do enough for you. It was a half board break and the standard of food was excellent. There were some items on the menu which incurred a small supplement but quite frankly, the menu was so thoughtfully designed, you didn't really need the optional choices offered. The rooms were spotless and everybody I spoke to was very pleased with their accommodation, many of them having stayed several times before. The whole weekend was geared around having fun and we certainly did. The location of the hotel is superb, just a very short stroll to the promenade. We were very lucky with the weather and were able to walk the 10 minutes or so into the town centre in bright sunshine. We fell in love with Eastbourne and will certainly be returning to the town and this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Linda H

Thank you. What a wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and it is always nice to hear we may have a new regular to our tinsel and turkey festive breaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport gwent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What an excellent stay we had at this hotel, food was great. entertainment was great, couldn't fault it. This is our 2nd time at this hotel and it certainly won't be the last. The Christmas Décor was superb. The hotel was spotlessly clean through out and the staff were extremely helpful and obliging. A great stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Pat

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prestonian
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Had Turkey and tinsel break again at the new Wilmington hotel Eastbourne,same excellent standards as two years ago, same welcome from the staff who seem to enjoy making everyone comfortable. The food and the entertainment was of the same high quality as it was on my last visit. This is a hotel that ticks all the boxes for a pleasant and relaxing pre-Christmas break,of course travelling by holiday coach takes all the stress out getting there and back. Holiday courtesy of alfa coach co.

Room Tip: Probably makes no difference as all rooms are scrupulously clean and hotel is situated in a quiet lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lankiepreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Iankiepreston

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We decided to deviate from our usual Eastbourne Hotel and try the New Wilmington. On our arrival the receptionist said we are very quiet tonight and............ (I thought he was going to say I have upgraded your room, as our other hotel does). Instead, we were asked to choose early what we wanted for our evening meal that night. Our room (admittedly a standard, was very small, you almost brushed the wall TV when you walked past the foot of the bed. Alright for one night but not longer. It felt like the Toilet was in the room with you. The few guests there were that night, were all put in adjoining rooms, convenient for staff but a bit noisy comings and goings, one with a dog, for guests. Despite this, the room was spotlessly clean and everything worked well. At dinner we ordered Roast Pork which the Menu said came with crispy Crackling (a favourite). It was served without any, the waiter, come Receptionist, said sorry there wasn't any. We dislike the increasingly used policy of having items on the Menu which incur a supplementary charge, as this Hotel does. Not pointed out when you book half board. However the meal was nice and piping hot. As was the dessert bowl, which unfortunately also contained Ice cream. Breakfast was fine, again supplementary charges for certain choices. If you wanted a full Breakfast you had to choose 6 out of the 8 or so items. This seems petty surely half a slice of fried bread, half a tomato or a spoon of baked beans doesn't cost that much more on the plate?
It would surely be offset by the waitress not having to take special orders or the chef. The offer of a Smoothie was a nice touch and something different, one gets tired of the same Breakfast menu items offered everywhere The Breakfast was not cooked to order it was obvious the items, especially thescrambled egg, had been cooked some time earlier. . Also didn't like the note asking quests not to take a piece of fruit to their room, again a bit petty. On checking out, when reading literature read there was a DVD Library which was not pointed out to us. Also that there was a guest club with benefits. Had wanted to use the Computer, but it was not available and would have also incurred a charge! Hope these comments are helpful.

Room Tip: Back room might have been quitter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disillusioned82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Disillusioned82

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. During our low-season we can get fluctuating numbers in the hotel, so we try to section off areas of our Victorian building, so we don’t waste energy heating the whole building. This does mean we can cut down on our costs, but we don’t like to be wasteful with gas and electricity either.

We do apologise for the lack of crackling with your pork and have discussed this with the kitchen team to make sure this doesn’t happen again.

The reason for supplementary items in hotels is largely due to late booking websites, which help hotels fill empty rooms during quiet periods. Guests paying within a 10% discount of our standard rates, are not charged any supplements.

We serve all hot food in warm crockery. We can see that custard or cream with your pudding would not have been a problem, but ice cream does create a situation where we can either serve in a warm bowl (ice cream melts faster) or a cold bowl (warm pudding gets cold faster). We will consider whether it is worth asking guests ordering warm puddings with ice cream, whether they prefer it served in a warm or cold bowl.

For breakfast we offer 6 items from the following list: Butchers sausages, butchers bacon, grilled tomato, Heinz baked beans, fried bread, hash brown, roasted field mushroom, black pudding, free range egg cooked to your liking. If a guest has paid our standard rates they can choose from 10 items without a supplementary charge.

Because our ingredients are of the highest standard, offering a choice of everything does end up making a big difference over the course of a year. We strive to offer our guests a service which allows a lot of flexibility and the only way we can do this is to create supplements so all budgetary requirements are catered for. If a guest wants the best room, no compromises on choice without further cost, then we advise to book directly with the hotel in advance. If you would like to wait and find a late offer then you can still enjoy a great experience, but just pick and choose the extras you want to take advantage of at the time.

Every item on our breakfast is cooked to order; our kitchen and the produce we buy in are not prepared for anything other than this. Chef prides himself on regularly serving 60 guests with a freshly cooked breakfast. Also our restaurant manager is told to check the standard of a plate once ready to go and waiters are also asked to turn back the plate if it is not of a high standard.

The literature in your room will have contained every service we offer and the reason we do not talk about the DVD library when you arrive is that most guests like to be told the important information and get unpacked as soon as possible.

Wifi is free of charge but we do make a have a small fee to use the hotel computer.

We hope this helps make things transparent. We essentially use small supplements between £1 and £6 to offer our guests the extra special items like steak, 10 items with breakfast or the use of a dedicated PC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Excellent Hotel, excellent and friendly staff, excellent food. Central for shops, theater's, sea front and pier. What more could you ask for.
We took a party of 47 for our annual Turkey & Tinsel weekend for the third time to this hotel. Sue, the general manager, is very welcoming and helpful, as is Jean Phillipe, Liam and all the waiting and bar staff.
We are back there next year, so look out Liam!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Stephen

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Liam and Jon send their regards and it was fantastic to see you as always. Look forward to the same again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with group of friends - all attending weekend conference in Congress Theatre. Perfect location - hop skip and a jump from the conference centre.
I booked for party of 11 and managed it with ease. All perfect on arrival - warm welcome and rooms ready for everyone.
Very comfortable and well appointed rooms. Excellent breakfast, served in timely fashion.
Incredibly friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you.
Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear CarolWo

Thank you for your review. We're in a very fortunate position in relation to the theatres and many guests book us for this reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Property: New Wilmington Hotel
Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing