We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“New Year 2013”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here from 30th December to 3rd January 2014, a package organised by Royles Travel, Sheffield who gave us a wonderful NY break. The hotel has a welcoming atmosphere, the rooms are rather dated but in good condition with comfortable beds and fresh bedding, my room had a new bathroom and everything is spotlessly clean. The food was very good with an excellent choice of menu. All of the staff are pleasant, polite, efficient and worked very hard to make our stay enjoyable. Thank you to all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Maxsnan

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you had a lovely stay at out hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    136
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
100
255
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

After last year we were not sure whether to go back but have to say so glad we did.We had a brilliant time this year.The room and bathroom decorated,food excellent and entertainment spot on for all three nights.Staff helpful and friendly couldn't wish for better thankyou to Sue,Lyn,Jon and all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wavel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Wavelp

Thank you for your kind review. We really worked hard to make sure all our entertainment was first class and gave all our guests a great time throughout the New Year celebrations. Thank you for booking with us again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nibblesoflgw
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We returned to The New Wilmington on December 15th for one night B&B, the hotel's location is excellent for the Congress Theatre being only 2 minutes walk away.
As the hotel was quiet we were given a free room upgrade and enjoyed a tasty breakfast.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel's Xmas decorations added to our brief visit, After lunching out we were able to pre-order sandwiches from the hotel menu to enjoy before leaving for the theatre, I'm sure we will be returning in the future to once again enjoy the New Wilmington

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nibblesoflgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear nibblesoflgw

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Remember we have a Regular Guest Club, it's free to join and you receive exclusive offers throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have stayed in small terraced Victorian hotels before, and they've all been pretty mediocre, at best.

This one was delightfully different. Everything was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated for Christmas. The organisation ran like clockwork. It has a small staff but they are an excellent team. We were with a coach group of retired people, and the staff were very kind and helpful to everyone -- morale seemed to be good. The food was excellent -- good quality, well prepared and presented, tasty, served promptly, on piping hot plates (always a sign of a good cook!), with generous portions. We had half board, and really didn't need lunch after all that!

It's located within very easy walking distance of the main shopping area, and one street back from the seafront.

We've stayed in major resort/chain hotels as well but, quite frankly, this was better than any of those! When we go to Eastbourne again, this hotel will certainly be our first choice. Our compliments to the owners of this hotel for running such a thoroughly decent establishment, and with local English staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear AntonM99

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our staff really are a credit to us and work so hard to make sure all guests enjoy their stay. Christmas is always a special time here and currently our owners and staff are busy wrapping presents for guests staying with us on Christmas day. Merry Christmas from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Turkey and Tinsel

scrooge is alive and well and running the New Wilmington Hotel.

We booked the 4 day event that included evening entertainment only to be phoned with a week to go to say there would be no entertainment no reason given no sorry no nothing.

We were fully refunded after several calls but not the sprit of christmas.

Would not recommend and most certainly would not use again, poor show New Wilmington

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harris905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Harris905

We are sorry to have disappointed you regarding the entertainment for your Turkey and Tinsel package. As soon as we realised the entertainment we had booked was not going to happen, we contacted all guests with a booking straight away. We called you 8 days before the booking with the bad news and a full explanation that we simply couldn't spend so much money on the entertainment with so few guests booked in for that particular date, not only would it have been a financial loss but the atmosphere would have been very dull. We understand that it is little consolation but we did offer a change of date that was more popular or a full refund. You wanted to keep your booking in the first instance but later decided to call back and ask for a full refund, which we agreed to with no question and was received by your bank within 3 working days. We are still very sorry for the inconvenience and understand your frustration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Decided to try a turkey and tinsel break and think we struck gold on our first attempt. The hotel was absolutely lovely with staff who couldn't do enough for you. It was a half board break and the standard of food was excellent. There were some items on the menu which incurred a small supplement but quite frankly, the menu was so thoughtfully designed, you didn't really need the optional choices offered. The rooms were spotless and everybody I spoke to was very pleased with their accommodation, many of them having stayed several times before. The whole weekend was geared around having fun and we certainly did. The location of the hotel is superb, just a very short stroll to the promenade. We were very lucky with the weather and were able to walk the 10 minutes or so into the town centre in bright sunshine. We fell in love with Eastbourne and will certainly be returning to the town and this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Linda H

Thank you. What a wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and it is always nice to hear we may have a new regular to our tinsel and turkey festive breaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport gwent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What an excellent stay we had at this hotel, food was great. entertainment was great, couldn't fault it. This is our 2nd time at this hotel and it certainly won't be the last. The Christmas Décor was superb. The hotel was spotlessly clean through out and the staff were extremely helpful and obliging. A great stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Pat

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Property: New Wilmington Hotel
Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing