We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a wonderful Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This afternoon my Parents have been to this very friendly hotel for an Afternoon Tea - a voucher they had as a Christmas Present. They couldn't have enjoyed it more. The staff were very welcoming and they were so excited about the quality of the food. The tea consisted of wonderful sandwiches, delicious cakes, scrumptious scones and lots of cream and jam, all washed down with plenty of tea. Many thanks for giving them such an enjoyable time

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Carol

Thank you for praise I will let all the staff know how much they enjoyed it, your parents are a lovely couple, we told them to pop in any time for a coffee or a sandwich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Right from the reservation we were treated as if we were family. Freindly staff who are willing to go that extra bit to help. Rooms clean and good size, brekfast excellent and cyclists are welcome. A lock up garage for secure bike storage. Easy walking distance to town centre

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hi Graham H

We are Glad you all enjoyed your evening with us and you will all visit again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, made to feel welcome. Was lovely to come back to the bar after our evening out. and then go up to a comfortable, spacious room. Great service. Location perfect for theatres and restaurants. Thoroughly recommend for a short break at the seaside.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Mel D
Thank you for you kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very pleasant welcome on arrival at the hotel. The room was a lovely size, was lovely and clean with a nice en-suite bathroom and tea and coffee facilities (loved the hot chocolate!)
There was a problem with the boiler as the hotel was only opened at the weekend and the heating wasn't working in the room so quite cold. We reported this and it was looked at straight away and when we came back from an evening out it was fixed and nice and warm.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and very friendly service.
The hotel is situated around the corner from the seafront and across the road from the Congress Theatre and within walking distance from the town so great position.
We would stay here again and reccomend

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Re-ads4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Re-ads4

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Remember our Guest Club is free and means you receive the best offers throughout the year. Email or call and we will add you as a member.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

With thanks to Sue,Lynn,Jon and team for yet another great New Year break despite the horrendous weather,we loved the new restaurant and food was as good as ever.To anyone thinking of going to Eastbourne I can recommend the New Wilmington it's a great hotel near the sea and staff are all very helpful and friendly.Looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good , clean and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gussy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Gussy47

What a fantastic review of your stay. Thank you so much and we wish you all the best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here from 30th December to 3rd January 2014, a package organised by Royles Travel, Sheffield who gave us a wonderful NY break. The hotel has a welcoming atmosphere, the rooms are rather dated but in good condition with comfortable beds and fresh bedding, my room had a new bathroom and everything is spotlessly clean. The food was very good with an excellent choice of menu. All of the staff are pleasant, polite, efficient and worked very hard to make our stay enjoyable. Thank you to all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Maxsnan

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you had a lovely stay at out hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

After last year we were not sure whether to go back but have to say so glad we did.We had a brilliant time this year.The room and bathroom decorated,food excellent and entertainment spot on for all three nights.Staff helpful and friendly couldn't wish for better thankyou to Sue,Lyn,Jon and all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wavel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Wavelp

Thank you for your kind review. We really worked hard to make sure all our entertainment was first class and gave all our guests a great time throughout the New Year celebrations. Thank you for booking with us again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,694 reviews
1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
928 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing