We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was our first time to book with the New Wilmington Hotel and what a great choice we had made! We had originally booked for two nights only, but after checking out on the morning of departure and a stroll along the sea front, we later decided to stay for a third night and so checked back in again!

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms that we stayed in were lovely and spacious.
All of the staff are welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful and they all do a great job!

We had originally booked for bed and breakfast only and the breakfast was tasty, plentiful and of a high standard.

On our last evening, we booked for the evening meal as we had eaten out for the two previous evenings. Well... I can honestly say that the evening meal was simply wonderful. From the choices on the menu to the manner in which it was served, it far exceeded the meal that we ate in a 5 star hotel along the sea front the night before!

I am known to be extremely fussy about hotel accommodation, cleanliness and quality of food and this hotel simply ticked all of the boxes.

The rooms that we stayed in were 220 (Standard Plus ) and 228 (Superior) If your budget allows, I would recommend the Superior rooms!

Thanks to all of the staff at the New Wilmington hotel for a lovely enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: For me, the bed was a little too soft but this is only my opinion as i prefer to sleep on a firmer m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear Marie0711

Thank you ever so much for your lovely contribution to our Tripadvisor page. Your comments about the food, staff and accommodation are greatly appreciated and I hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    136
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
100
255
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Had a lovely stay in this great hotel. It's got everything you want in a hotel, very clean, comfortable bed and pillows, fluffy towels lovely staff and wonderful breakfast. Parking is free outside the hotel and a nice easy walk to town, across the road to the theatre.

Room Tip: Leave the car parked near hotel and walk everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naki59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear Naki59

Thank you we are glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

stayed here for 3 nights in August. Clean Hotel, nice modern breakfast and bar area. All the staff were really friendly, especially Sue and the other guys on reception. We didn't arrive until 1am to check in, but there was no issue, the night porter greeted us with a smile! Excellent Service! Breakfast was of a good Quality, plenty of choice. good tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and shower was great! good water pressure. The only 1 negative was the Quality of the beds. We had room 225 which had a double and a single, because we guessed that if the double was too small and too soft, we may Need a single as well (as we were 2 People). And we were right. my Partner slept in the single bed and it was so soft and bouncy it shook with every move he made. but apart from that everything was great, and we would return again to this Hotel :-) give the staff a Bonus they deserve it!

Room Tip: room 225 was a big room with a seating area for 2 People looking onto the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissmisstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear Kim005

Thank you for all your praise and a lovely review. I am so sorry the beds were not to your liking, we do tend to go for Medium sprung beds to try and suit everyone (but sadly not for you and your husband) sorry!
Hope you will visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely hotel - fab staff - we had a little girl age 2 who wanted to dance every night !! The staff went the extra mile in so many ways and all deserve a decent bonus - they make this hotel ! Location is perfect. Parking is easy and there is a nice liitle street behind the hotel with a great tapas ! 10/10

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrappersCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear TrappersCat

Thank you for a lovely review we are glad you enjoyed everything and hope you will visit again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is such an overall great hotel. This is our 2nd visit to the hotel taking my Mom to the Eastbourne for the airshow. The staff and management are all very friendly and always looking to help you. The restaurant serves a wonderful breakfast and the evening meal is well priced with special menus (roast of the day each night) each evening which are also very good. The lounge is comfortable with entertainment on some evenings which we enjoyed and the bar prices are very good too! The hotel is very well set up for those with walking difficulties - but always ask for a room on the lift floors if you do struggle with stairs. They also have a back entrance which you can bring your motorised scooter in through. This is such a great offer for us as Mom can easily get into the hotel and leave her scooter charging over night. A huge thank you to everyone who works there. Hopefully we'll be back with you again next year as long as mom is well enough. This hotel ticks all the boxes for all age ranges. Can't give it enough praise.

Room Tip: Some floors don't have lift access, so ask if you need this. Rear rooms are fine - you are then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPCS-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear RPCS-A

We are glad you & your mum enjoyed your break with us and that your mum found it easy enough to get around. We look forward to seeing you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a great hotel, close to the beach. I chose the hotel because of a need for accessibility assistance and found it very safe for my mother. There are ramps, stair lifts, a lift to the rooms, walk in showers, etc. It was clean and the staff was excellent--never too rushed to talk with us/help us w/needs. Breakfast was excellent. I will definitely return when next in Eastbourne.

Room Tip: request needs when booking if applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DfromMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Dfrommadison

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

What an absolutely beautiful hotel, with utterly fantastic staff Joel, Linda, Spiro and John at every level within the hotel.
Sumptuous, modern and comfortable a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

The Hotel is situated in a lovely road not too far from the seafront, but equally not too near the noise off the traffic.

The bed linen and towels and bathroom were outstanding also with a pleasurable shower that stayed the same temperature throughout use.

The accommodation was very reasonable and offered a high quality and choice of varied menu for both dinner and breakfast and then a fun filled evening of entertainment with Graham that will bring us back again and again, in fact same time next year!!! The special touch of an anniversary cake with candles from the hotel was wonderful.

A fantastic overnight stay which we would recommend to anyone in a heartbeat.

Thankyou for making our first anniversary a memorable one in all the ways.

Room Tip: The standard rate room was more than satisfactory and very pleasant indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Sarah B

We are so glad we were able to make your 1st wedding anniversary memorable, thank you for your kind words I have made all the staff concerned of your praise. Look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Property: New Wilmington Hotel
Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing