We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Rocks Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Palm Court Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$237
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cavendish Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$140
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
US$265
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Congress Apartments(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
282
173
57
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
173
57
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschannel restaurantsea viewsea frontdeluxe roomcomfortable bedsunday lunchbreakfast was buffet stylelovely hotelup to dateevening mealper daybreakfast roomfollowing morningvisiting eastbourneenjoyable staytea and coffeeexcellent value for money
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We just stayed at this hotel for two nights. Upon arrival we had a very friendly welcome from the owner and our experience of all his staff was the same, Everyone went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

Since we were not intending to spend a lot of time in our room we stayed in one of the basic rooms, without sea-view and did not opt for the one of the deluxe rooms. The hotel is under new ownership and is being totally refurbished, our room had recently been renovated. The room was bright and airy, comfortable bed with small shower room en-suite, and clean. There are certainly more grand and luxurious places to stay, if that is what you are looking for, but if you want an inexpensive place to stay that is clean, comfortable with excellent customer service then this fits the bill.

Breakfast was included which was a self-service buffet and was very good, A wide selection of cereals, fruit, pastries and the hot selections included bacon, sausage, black pudding, hash browns, beans, and mushrooms and fried eggs. A good breakfast to start the day,

The owners are full of enthusiasm and did their utmost to make our stay enjoyable. I wish them every success for the future and would certainly stay here again if I should be staying in Eastbourne.

Room Tip: If you only want a room to sleep in and plan to be out most of the time then a room at the back is absolutely fine - otherwise go for a sea-view room as the view from the back isn't that good
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wombleflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Deciding to leave the mighty machine that is London behind us for a break we headed to the South Coast and Eastbourne for the first time.

For our one night stay we chose the West Rocks Hotel. This Georgian Gem is located prominently on Grand Parade with uninterrupted views of the sea and a short walk to the pier and town centre.

On checking in the staff were very helpful and welcoming. Our deluxe room lived up to expectations, spacious, bright and with direct sea views through the large original sash and case windows.

Since being under new management the hotel has undergone significant refurbishment and the owners have successfully combined the modern amenities one would expect, whilst sympathetically restoring the many beautiful original Georgian features. This has helped create the perfect environment to relax and unwind, not only in your room but also the spacious public areas.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and was buffet style, offering the perfect choice of tasty hot and cold food. During our stay we also chose to eat dinner and then Sunday lunch before our departure. Both restaurant experiences were excellent, the food was delicious and presentation was of a high standard. Again here and throughout our stay staff where extremely helpful and friendly, with nothing being too much trouble.

The hotel is dog friendly and we loved encountering the four legged guests as they passed through the hotel and enjoyed pampering them whilst chatting with their owners.

We had a wonderful stay, it’s clear the owners and staff have worked hard to create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, whilst at the same time providing a high quality and professional service, all this within the Georgian charm and modern comfort of the hotel itself.

We recommend a stay at the West Rocks and look forward to returning again ourselves!

Room Tip: Deluxe option with a sea view is a value for money treat
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobSp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel with friends over a Bank Holiday weekend and the visit was an absolute pleasure. The staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Chris and Steve, the new owners, have created a very warm and welcoming environment; charming gentlemen who seemed to be constantly at hand to help the guests with whatever they needed. The newly refurbished room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean; certainly worth booking a room with a sea view with panoramic aspects from the large period windows.
We'd planned to eat out for the evening but everywhere seemed to be fully booked so we ended back at the hotel - a blessing in disguise. All of our group couldn't praise the food enough - top marks to the chef. We chose to eat in the hotel restaurant for lunch the following day for a second culinary delight.
I'd most definitely recommend a stay at West Rocks Hotel - couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: The grand deluxe rooms are very spacious.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffBall_SELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel has an excellent location facing the lawns and sea in the centre of the Promenade on the corner of midway between the Wish Tower and the Band stand with the theatres and shops just a few minutes walk .We booked a quiet room for 2 nights B&B to visit family in the area, it was light, clean and well furnished with all facilities., This Victorian building has just been refurbished in a modern style to a good standard throughout. Breakfast had fresh fruit and juice, pastries and the full English. We had a cream tea in the lounge &. sandwiches and drinks in the bar at various times, Service was very friendly and swift and the cost very reasonable. Not surprisingly the hotel was fully booked. We had meals elsewhere with the family but there is a proper chef & the menu here had a good choice with 2 courses £15. The restaurant looked elegant and other guests said the food was good - we wished we had eaten there! The new owner showed us some old records he had found of the history of the building and he is justifiably proud of the renovations and his helpful staff. On street parking with a hotel voucher £1 per day.

Room Tip: Rooms/ suites at the front have sea views, there is not much traffic noise but can be windy . Rooms facing the Front and Square are sunny,some have a small balcony The lift is a museum piece and small but works , there are steps to some rooms at the back.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monron9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a fantastic stay this weekend at the West Rocks Hotel Eastbourne. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Beautiful rooms and views. We were invited for Sunday lunch which was gorgeous to say the least as was our breakfast.

If you are visiting Eastbourne you MUST stay here!

Many thanks to all for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: The sea views are magnificent
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews