We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the money!”
Review of West Rocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Rocks Hotel
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Room was clean (and ready before the 2pm check in time which was nice) and the double was very comfortable with nice bedding.

Decor was old but again everything was clean throughout.

Situated a stones throw (literally) from a section of beach and 10 minute walk from the pier.

Breakfast was amazing. Full English buffet with continental on the side! I could have had eaten it all day long.

For the price we paid, it was a lovely lovely stay and would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Eastbourne on a budget.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for West Rocks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have spent the last few months in Eastbourne on Business. As Summer approached the other hotels were not interested in my business travel needs, the West Rock was just coming on line from a major upgrade. The Hotel staff is first rate and they have been taking very good care of me. The rooms I have stayed in (there have been a few now) are very comfortable and give me the change to enjoy the view and feels like home. With my morning departure coming before the scheduled start of the breakfast,The staff takes my breakfast order and prepares my breakfast. This kind of customer service sets the West Rocks at the head of the pack. All toll I will spent 10 weeks at this hotel over the course of May, June, and July.

Room Tip: The Channel View rooms are great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwhitecotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Decided to go here for my birthday dinner with friends as I live close by. The food was outstanding and the service very good to. The entire ambience of the hotel and it's various reception rooms was lovely and friendly. Will definitely be going again and have already booked friends in there later in the summer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline04052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It takes a lot to impress me these days however the West Rocks Hotel managed to exceed all my expectations. I wasn't expecting much for the price I paid yet from the moment I walked through the door to the moment I left, the friendly staff treated me like family. Nothing was too much trouble. I had forgotten to pack my phone charger. Steve, the owner lent me his without hesitation. My room was lovely with a view to die for, overlooking the main drag and out to sea. I would recommend eating in the restaurant. Great value and the food was a nice surprise... delicious! I would highly recommend the West Rocks. Thanks to everyone for making my stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights recently. The hotel is undergoing a big makeover and the bedrooms and public areas that are done are very nice indeed. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea which was good value,fresh and modern with a nice bathroom. Quality bed, bed linen and huge fluffy towels made a good impression. Another good point about this hotel is that the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

We ate in the restaurant one evening and enjoyed a great value nicely cooked dinner which was served piping hot on hot plates . Breakfast the next morning however was disappointing. My wife had the English breakfast( one sausage, one rasher of bacon, one piece of black pudding and one poached egg, cooked in too much vinegar). This was served virtually cold. The plate was returned to the kitchen and came back with a hot sausage and everything else cold as before ! The waitress was apologetic but by this time my wife had given up on a hot plate of food. Tea was made in the breakfast room by using an urn which dispensed hot water into the teapots. This resulted in a pot of tea that was not as hot as it should be. Most things in the hotel are good but breakfasts need to be improved.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wow what an amazing hotel with real character really clean throughout and great food.
The staff were really helpful and friendly giving the impression of a family run hotel.
I would recommend staying here and great value too.
I will be back to stay next time I am in town..thanks guys

Stuart

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room the view is amazing
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What a great weekend thanks to the great team of staff- our first stay at West Rocks but in future it will be our only place to stay. Food great quality, cleanliness excellent we knew when booking works still in progress but our stay unspoilt by any of this GOOD LUCK TO ALL & THANKS BIG STYLE see you all soon

Room Tip: ideal place to chill out no rushing in and out of meals
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
963 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Rocks Hotel

Address: 44-46 Grand Parade | off Howard Square, Eastbourne BN21 4DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £47 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the West Rocks Hotel & The Channel Restaurant, Eastbourne. We are located in the fashionable side of Eastbourne, a 5 minute walk to the shopping centre and 200 metres to the theatres. We are ideally located on the best part of the seafront, near the pier, bandstand, stunning western lawns and the Martello Tower, all within easy reach. Many beautiful walks are just outside the hotel, including Holywell, Beachy Head, Birling Gap, Seven Sisters and bucolic villages of Alfriston and Litlington. Situated directly on Eastbourne's seafront, overlooking the English Channel, the West Rocks Hotel is under NEW OWNERSHIP as of January 2014. Offering 50 refreshed rooms, bar, The Channel Restaurant and a new tearoom. All rooms are en suite and feature TV, telephone, and tea / coffee making facilities. Many rooms feature stunning sea views and views across the English Channel. All room prices include our yummy breakfast which has a large selection of premium breakfast items. The Channel Restaurant offers a great dining experience with locally sourced fish and local cuts of meat, freshly caught local fish, great wine selection with a fantastic view of the sea. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas. Renowned for being the sunniest resort in Britain, Eastbourne offers a 4 mile long pebbled beach, which stretches from Sovereign Harbour to Beachy Head. The beach is directly outside the West Rocks Hotel. The property is also conveniently located for the Congress Theatre, which is just 5 minutes' walk away. On-street parking is available outside the hotel, subject to availability. Parking vouchers can be brought from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing