We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Had a great weekend stay here visited many places had a lovely meal in tango restaurant when I visit Eastbourne again I will diffidently come back to this hotel and stay longer the view is amazing it would be nice in the summer all the staff are friendly very helpful and great time and the cleanliness was 5 star

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johngoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    427
    213
    125
    92
See reviews for
198
656
69
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East sussex
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed over after out christmas party we requested a room with a sea view and balcony and were put in room 410 which is on the fourth floor at the front with a balcony that wrapped around the building with floor to ceiling French doors.
The room was clean with two 3ft beds pushed together to make a double but it was very comfortable. There was a fridge in the room but it was empty ! I don't know if it was always empty or they had removed the contents because it was booked out to one of the Christmas party guests.
The bathroom was compact and clean with lots of extras(toiletries and more)
I point to remember is early on a sat morning the local council collect the bottle bank which is rather noisy !!!! The staff were friendly and helpful this is the second time we have had our works Christmas party and stayed over and we will be doing it again.

Room Tip: Try room 410 for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nawtymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I have nothing but praise for this hotel. My wife and I stayed for 2 days in early December and found the service, staff and room to be 1st class. Dinner in the restuarant was high quality, great choice and served by true professionals- and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfrescodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Dean UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We only wished to try the restaurant .Semi enthustiastic service, on a quite Monday night. Food well presented if a litle lacking in quanterty. Tables spotless, room warm a fan heater placed by our table.

Overall would use again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterEastDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Suitably impressed with the hotel front reception, decor and corridors. Stayed for two nights. Service was good and breakfast was plenty - shame did not replenish some food items more frequently throughout breakfast hours. Upgrade to a sea view room to appreciate the waves. Despite it being December the room was so hot that we left the window open and sea front was really quiet of an evening. Room carpet was a bit faded and some 1970's furniture. Bed was a bit hard, but had a comfortable night's sleep. Bathroom had some loose grouting on floor and on wall tiles but in all a comfortable room. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Go for sea view to appreciate Eastbourne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemiscomplicated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights in early December. We were helped by having some wonderful weather. The hotel was very reasonably priced. Our room was very spacious with sea views and all the services one would expect of a first class hotel. The location is great, on the seafront with wonderful views. Bed was a very large double and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of buffet or Al a Carte. Although the cooked breakfast was served buffet style for our first two days there was a large choice. The service was excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. Obviously well trained. It was an advantage to be able to park at the hotel as parking in Eastbourne is expensive and difficult to find close to the hotel. A very good value break which we enjoyed greatly. We would be happy to stay at the Cavendish again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Great hotel in a great location.Sea view rooms are fantastic and well worth paying extra for the suite.Good bar that wasnt to expensive.Good idea to pre book parking as car park is quite small.
Town centre only 5 mins walk away.There is a fridge in the room but you need to stock it yourself.Our room also had 2 safes.It was very quiet in the room no outside noise at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkKing_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing