We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay here and will definitely return”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a lovely Hotel. The staff were very professional as you would expect from an hotel of this calibre. Checking in was a quick and simple process. Our room was immaculate and we had a wonderful view of the Eastbourne coastline.

The Cavendish is on the sea front. There is a car park that you pay for on a daily basis.

The breakfast was very good with various menus available and a fast and friendly service.

We loved our stay here and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anadi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

It has been a few years from the lady time I stayed here... Stayed two nights here over the tennis weekend.. Had a fab sea view room. Very large and clean... Staff were very very helpful it met all our needs and more... Parking was also good at £4 a night... Well done to the staff and management can't wait to go back

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It was important for us that we had disabled facilities with wheelchair access, but we also wanted good quality accommodation and first class food. The Cavendish met all our requirements and much more besides. The hotel was built by the Duke of Devonshire in1858, but it has gone through several updates, including a £4 million major refurbishment. Public rooms are impressive and comfortable, with quality furnishings and light fittings. There is a proper lounge with comfortable seating; a magnificent library with a gallery and lounge seating; a seafront conservatory with tables and chairs; an extensive bar area which serves meals as well as drinks. The restaurant is a large and lofty room with spotlessly clean white tablecloths and silver service. Breakfast consists of an extensive buffet with an amazing choice, and there are also a la carte options for those who want something different. The table d' hote menu for dinner has plenty of choice, and the food is appetising, hot, and served with panache. Restaurant staff are from many countries, and were unfailingly polite and efficient, and always had a smile and a pleasant word. Wheelchair access to the hotel is direct via ramp from the car park into the lower ground floor, from which the lift operates. Our room was sea facing on the third floor and was large with opening sash windows and two easy chairs. The bathroom was a newly furnished wet room with a shower seat and bars, and quality fittings. The hotel experience was excellent, with both comfort and considerate staff in all departments. Our room was hot when we arrived, but a porter brought us a fan as soon as we requested it, and we shall certainly return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

2 nights in a very hot room - opening the window (wall 3ft away, so no breeze) didn't really help much, but did let in the noise of fans/ plant. At least that went off between about 12 and 5 am. So not much sleep for a premium priced hotel in June. Huge divan bed and wardrobe left no room to walk around them. A normal kingsize would have been better to avoid the bruises on my shins, toes and knees. Breakfast good but spoiled by loud ABBA muzac. Plus asked to pay without seeing bill only to find charges for papers (which were advertised free on website I booked on), not a lot a money - but its the principle of the thing. Won't be returning...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 147Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We visited this hotel for 1 night out of season in early January. It was still quite busy and bustling though, and the service was very good. The room, not an expensive one, had a view of the sea and the pier and was a good size. Breakfast was amazing and the bar attached very friendly and good value lunches could be bought there, as well as a fabulous 3 tier cream tea meal - which was very lovely. I'd recommend this hotel any time for a stay in Eastbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verity59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Visiting Eastbourne for work and hotel was booked for me. Had a pleasant surprise to turn up at such a nice hotel on the sea front. Makes a change from a chain hotel in an industrial estate.

I was out for a meal that evening so can't comment on the restaurant/bar in the evening. The breakfast was good quality and had an option for kippers, etc, if wanted.

My room was large and nicely appointed. I have only marked the hotel down a bit as I had quite loud sash windows in my room that rattled in the wind, although you do have to expect some issues an older building.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dazza5463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel. We returned because we were very satisfied on our previous visit .

The staff were very helpful and courteous at all times . Our sea view room was of a very high standard. It was spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds.

The food in the dining room was vey good, served promptly and at a reasonable price.

No hotel can be perfect and there are some minor defects that could be improved. Plastic flower arrangements cheapen the hotel. There no satellite channels available on the T.V. The hotel does not serve any crusty appetising rolls either at breakfast or dinner.

Would I return- Definitely

Ralph Temple

Room Tip: Ask top stay in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £38 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing