We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea to be forgotton.......”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea to be forgotton.......”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Yesterday I went with my family to celebrate a wonderful gentleman s 80th birthday by having "Afternoon tea".....well firstly why we're we not in the beautiful restaurant they advertise but in the bar ...Yes we could see the sea but that's not why we were there.......after 20mins a waiter appeared and said ...Are you ready for your tea .......? So did we get a choice of tea.....? No just builders tea or coffee.......so that arrived and then ...ah yes the exciting sandwiches which being told by the waiter that there was not room to put them on the table he places them on a separate one behind us...at the same time the cakes and the scones.......(just so we could see what was coming and they could dry out by the open windows.......) Oh well Joy of joys such exquisite flavours.....really lovely grated cheese.......ham.......cucumber......and smoked salmon.......such breads......white and brown...... Was I wrong in thinking they would be interesting and taste great with lovely breads ......apparently so.....
Triangles with dark crusts curling gently. Oh dear......but wait ..the scones....large. heavy and cold.....we asked if they could be warmed......after staring at us vaguely the waitress took them away and returned with them having had them in the microwave for about 50seconds ...you can imagine the result.....But then the cakes.......yummy creamy fancies......scrummy. exotic fruity ones...Oh dear ...sponge with butter cream and minute Danish pastries so overcooked they were really dark.Brown..........We were booked for a champagne tea.......that gave us a glass of (well certainly not the real thing ..) but the thing that really bugged us was that afternoon tea is priced at £10 but Champagne tea...(the same with 1 glass of bubbly ) is £20 so as there were 8 of us we paid £80 for a bottle of Asti .....!!!!!! The service left a lot to be desired and we had to ask for more tea etc instead of having attentive staff and it was not busy.....
So I am afraid that the Cavendish Hotel gets a big thumbs down from all of us ...I didn't expect it to be as good as the Ritz (which is amazing ) but I did expect good food and good service that's why we chose to come to you ....but never again........

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustJan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    423
    209
    120
    88
See reviews for
194
648
67
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Lovely afternoon teas at a very reasonable price, table reserved for us in the area overlooking the sea, service slow the waiter forgot to smile. Had to keep asking for extra milk, cream, tea and coffee. However lovely setting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demijade2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

A fabulous cream tea - definitely one of the best stones I have ever tasted. This would have been an excellent review but come on 'The Cavendish' - why are you serving tea in dirty cups (looked like egg stuck on it) and polish your teapots! You need to train your waiting staff (young as they are) to double check the crockery is clean before taking it to the table! not good enough - I have higher expectations of you!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

First impressions of this establishment are extremely impressive,especially if viewed from the beach side of the road.It stands tall and looks quite grand.
Staff were faultless,they were all very professional and extremely happy to please.So on check in we thought 'what a great place' Unfortunately once in the room which was big and had high ceilings we were amazed that one could pick up the safety deposit box and take it with you as it was not attached safely to anything.Bearing in mind we had two iPads with us plus credit cards,bank cards,cash,car keys and house keys.This seemed like a joke as we've never been to an hotel where one could pick the safety box up and carry it away in a laundry bag.I immediately asked to be moved to another room as we wanted to go into town and store our belongings safely.I was told that ALL THE SAFETY BOXES WERE UNATTACHED.The young lady at the reception offered the hotels main safe so we could store our belongings in,to which we declined as we did not like the thought of handing everything over to somebody that we only just met And didn't want other staff having access to our personal belongings.A very disappointing situation as we are in 2014 not in the 60's or 70's.
For us this was a major deterrent of choosing this hotel again.
Breakfast was was very good along with fabulous views onto the English Channel.Breakfast staff were very friendly and in abundance so whatever we asked for was virtually immediately brought to us which was excellent.
I feel the staff actually make this hotel what it is.
However walking in and out of the property was as easy as crossing the road because when we entered and the receptionist was busy we could've easily gained access to all floors without a problem.Lifts do not have the normal key card swipe to gain access either which is more and more commonplace nowadays.
Not a property due to these concerns that I would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Whilst visiting some friends in Eastbourne, they treated me to Sunday lunch at the Cavendish. You can not fail to be impressed by the surroundings, the smart & ultra professional staff and the wonderful view. We had a great window seat, attentive service, tasty & hot food and a reasonable price to match

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I use The Cavendish regularly. Great location right on the seafront near The Bandstand.
Lovely lounge and fantastic soft area in The Library. It's a beautiful place, old fashioned which is good. The staff are super friendly. I have eaten a few times in the restaurant. The food is very good and well priced. I have stayed at this lovely old hotel as well and my room was excellent although a little on the small side. I have also had afternoon tea here and let me tell you it was delicious!

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel and ask if they have any rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Went to this hotel for a pedicure and afternoon tea as a birthday treat for my sister. The pedicure was great, Emma very friendly and chatty, made sure I was comfortable, being 5 months pregnant! Then afternoon tea, what a let down!!! Only a choice of two fillings of sandwich, heavy dry scones, cold toasted teacake (surely a morning treat not afternoon anyway?!) and a tiny piece of Victoria sponge each, which was raw. I had to spit line back out as it just tasted of raw egg.
Lovely bar staff tho, but won't go back!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BecsVallance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing