We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - need to sort their heating out!”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - need to sort their heating out!”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The Cavendish is in a great location, 5 minutes taxi journey from the station and a short walk from the Winter Gardens where our conference was being held.
The staff were polite and welcoming. As we'd booked our rooms through a bargain website they were at the back of the hotel but as they were so cheap for a 4 star we didn't mind. The public areas of the hotel are beautiful, very luxurious and stylish. The rooms are more faded glory, but mine was absolutely huge!
The bed was very comfy, the bathroom was clean and the toiletries were plentiful!
The only minuses were the poor tv reception (unfortunate on a cold wet Feb evening) and THE HEAT! My room was boiling hot & nothing I did to the radiator made any difference. I tried having the window open but as it was so windy that just meant that the door rattled!
The 'spa' was tiny and had to be booked in advance - as it has short opening hours at the weekend we didn't have chance to visit which was a shame.
The breakfast buffet was lovely and filled us up through until dinner time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkle1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    430
    217
    135
    102
See reviews for
200
672
71
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We've just returned home after staying at this hotel. We decided to go away for the weekend on the spur of the moment. The weather was atrocious but we like the sea when it's rough so we wanted a sea view room so that we could curl up with a nice bottle of wine and feel warm and cosy whllst looking at the sea. This hotel was superb. Good service from the staff. Can't fault it. The beds are so comfortable. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we had only come away with our jeans and casual wear. But there are many places to eat in Eastbourne and the hotel does have a more "casual" bar/restaurant.

All in all we had a great time. We live two hours drive away from this hotel and now consider it our "bolthole". We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mits25clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We have recently returned from an excellent stay. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, especiallly when were not too happy with our room. They changed us to another room without any fuss, which was absolutely lovely with lovely views of the pier and seafront. The beds were lovely and comfortable. The food in the restuarant was delicious and the service very attentive. The lounge areas were light and spacious, ideal for afternoon tea or pre dinner drinks. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie_a50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I checked in past midnight, so didn't get the opportunity for dinner in the restaurant. The night porter was friendly and very helpful and I was delighted to find my room was very spacious, comfortable (apart from too hot) and spotlessly clean. Quality toiletries in the bathroom and a fabulous full english breakfast topped things off nicely.

The only thing preventing me from giving the hotel the 5/5 was the fact it was simply too hot (in the rooms and public spaces). Perhaps the temperature can be explained by the bulk of the hotel residents being a pensioners' coach trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConfusionCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

From the moment you enter the reception area you are transported back to days gone by. The hotel has been restored and maintained in the tradition of the 1930's. The bar and dining areas are grand and comfortable. The staff are friendly and courteous, providing great service. We ate in the bar area a couple of times and the food was of high standard and well priced. The breakfast was also of a high standard. The room we had had a magnificent view of the seafront, overlooking the Eastbourne Pier. It was spacious, well decorated without being ostentatious, clean and well appointed with all you need. WiFi internet is available but at a cost of 5 pound for 24hrs (quite reasonable compared to other places). Parking is available at the hotel at a cost of 4 pounds per night (again quite reasonable). All in all, a wonderful experience of a 4-5 star hotel without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex coast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

A friend had a bargain internet stay at the cavendish superb dining room good food and attentive friendly staff would recommend the cavendish and a credit to eastborne hotels

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andrewdavid14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

First time at the Cavendish Hotel Eastbourne and hope it won't be the last. Found all the staff great, the rooms were great (you must get the seaview rooms) with a grand view of the Bandstand opposite. The food in the main restaurant was fantastic, and the bar restaurant great for a lighter choice. You will need to go far to find a better hotel. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aviatorxh558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing