We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

I had a five day break with the Daish group at the Claremont Hotel,Eastbourne.The hotel.was opposite the pier and just a two minute walk from a thriving town centre.The hotel has been refurbished and is still undergoing upgrading.Brand new carpets.and furniture welcome you as you are greeted in the reception and bar area.The dining room is pleasant and the.food is good.The staff are friendly and some are from other Daish hotels.Some bedrooms.have been modernised but not all.We had a brand new bathroom which was lovely and clean.Overall our stay was very good and we would go again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Marylouhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    196
    61
    25
    8
See reviews for
59
309
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel,value for money,great service with a general manager Keith who knows to treat his clients and very approachable
I was recommended to stay here by my son in law who's company have carried out extensive works of modernisation for the hotel , he told me how clean and well run this hidden gem was,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Khan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Having arrived at this hotel on a coach tour, we found this to be a great hotel, friendly, polite, and efficient reception staff, lovely clean rooms,good choice of food, helpful staff. Manager very pleasant and extremely helpful.Would reccommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The Hotel, now owned by Daish's re-opened on Feb 12th following a lot of refurbishment. Judging by the comments here prior to December 2012 (now removed) there has been a huge improvement. We arrived on 24th Feb for a four night coach tour. the entrance foyer was welcoming and the staff smiling and pleasant. Our twin bedded room (120) was OK but seemed a bit cluttered, it had two armchairs, a biggish round coffee table and unusually (but very useful ) for a tour coach type hotel an empty fridge. The beds looked new and were very comfortable.
The dining room was full which meant that it was a fairly crowded. there were several choices for Breakfast and the Evening meal (at least 4) for each of the three courses. The evening meal was ordered at breakfast time thus cutting down on waste, speeding up the serving time and it was served hot. Tea/Coffee was served at the table.
Every evening there was a quiz, a game of Bingo then some live entertainment which hopefully will improve after what is now apparently a trial period.
The management appreciated the reporting of problems, they cannot fix things if they are not aware of them. Reported problems that we knew of we fixed the next day. The manager is keen to get it all running smoothly as quickly as possible then they can continue with the upgrading.
We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning at some date in the future and recommend that you all give it a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
55 Thank Maurycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Having booked a short break at The Claremont for my wife and my self I sat and read some of the previous reviews many of which concerned us very much. So we were very pleasantly surprised on arrival. The new owners are making many improvements to the hotel and we found it to be comfortable and very friendly, the management and all staff very helpfull .The food was enjoyable and well cooked with a good choice for both breakfast and dinner menus. We will certainly make a further booking in the near future.
As the new management has only been in place for a few weeks more improvements are still on going so I am sure that things will only get better.

Room Tip: noise from kitchens can be heard if windows are left open in room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank RichardRonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I have just come back from eastbourne after attending a wedding.I had not made any hotel booking as I had stayed in the clearmont many years ago. However when I arrived I found that the hotel had been sold and was under new ownership also a very major refurbishment was being carried out by the new owners with ALL AREAS being sorted out and many millions being spent to bring it in line with Daish's policy . The security man would only say was going on what he had seen he was going to enjoyworking in such a clean and bright location.

Room Tip: Now part of the Daish's group since December 2012
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
39 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#17 of 40 in Eastbourne
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#15 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Claremont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively for adults, the newly refurbished Claremont Hotel offers a prime location on Eastbourne's splendid Grand Parade. Close to the pier and with the award-winning beach just across the road, the Claremont Hotel offers a traditional seaside break with the customary service and value for which we are renowned. It's high standards have been recognized by Tripadvisor, who awarded it a Certificate of Excellence in 2016. Following a comprehensive refurbishment programme in 2013, the Claremont Hotel offers a lovely new bar and lounge with a brilliant line-up of live entertainment every evening. We also have a coffee shop, perfect for planning your day with a morning coffee or enjoying afternoon tea and views across the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Lions Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing