We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Arrived Thursday 24th October about 14.40 Keith the manager got on coach to welcome us said some rooms were not ready coffee and tea was available in ballroom. Sat in reception until 15.00 saw Keith taking cases to rooms then giving out keys at reception wondered how stay would be. Had a single room small but not too bad, shower just big enough water always hot , bed comfy. Food excellent good choice and hot, served by a lovely friendly young girl Kate. Bar prices reasonable staff friendly , entertain good. Good stay would recommend. Only bad point told Monday when leaving cases outside room 07:00 breakfast 08:00 leaving at 09:00.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is the first time my wife and I went to the Claremont Hotel near the pier this hotel shows up the Burlington Hotel next door,we have stayed there several times until the Claremont Hotel opened in February 2013(this year,of course)From the time we entered the hotel the staff cold`nt of done more for us and other ,we where looked after fromthe start to finish,from the Manager,reception,coffe shop,bar,dinning room Javier our waiter really put himself out happy go lucking person did everything needed true,loves his work thank you Javier (our table No.7-w/end 19thOctober 2013),the other staff also are the house room ladies really lovely and helpful.The entertainment was just great to say the least.
The whole hotel was clean tidy at all times .We had room 205, what a gorgeous view of the gardens and the Pier.Thank you all your have done great. W.& A Powell

Room Tip: Room with a View 205 - Dinnig room Waiter Javier serving - table 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank williamEnglandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I were recently at this hotel in Eastbourne. As we arrived to check in there was a lovely receptionist smiling, Mel, she gave us our room key and gave directions of were the room was. We were in room 117, a lovely sea view room ( £10 supp. per person for the stay) Made the stay much nicer to wake up in the mornings and look out the window and have a nice view.
In the morning we had to order our evening meal, so it made it easier for the kitchen staff to cook and also, so they didn't waste so much food, which I personally think its a brilliant idea.
We had an excellent service in the restaurant by our waitress Helga, she was so attentive and always would ask how everything was and if we needed anything else.
The entertainment was held in the ballroom every evening, but before that there was quiz and bingo for the people that like it. We met the bar manager Vinni (who calls out the quiz and bingo) and Sarah a lovely young lady.
We also spoke to Keith, the manager of the hotel, who was very polite, but very busy man. He would stop and talk to the guest staying at the hotel but it seemed as he didn't have time for everyone.
Which in my opinion is normal, running a hotel and making sure the guest and staff are ok is hard work! So well done to you Keith ! We thought the staff were brilliant and the place is superb!
We have been to all the Daish's hotels, we love them all, the service, the food, the staff, but Claremont is the best one so far, the pier is just opposite the hotel, the shops are a 10 minute walk and if you need any information just ask the reception.
We will certainly return to have another perfect holiday!
My husband and I are so happy we booked this holiday and we look forward to our next one.
Mrs.Harris

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 728E_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We booked a self drive holiday Mon-Fri with Daish's (16-20 September 2013) to Eastbourne stopping at the Claremont Hotel, after being recommended by family and friends who had been away with them on coach holidays. On arrival we pulled up outside the hotel and within minutes had been booked in and had parking permits from reception from a very efficient head receptionist called Mel. Parking permits are one pound per day with a little map of where you may park in the Eastbourne area. We parked the car at the rear of the hotel and it was only a short walk with the luggage to the front. The room we were allocated was a sea view (number 217), it was very clean and tidy with comfy beds, the only gripe we had was that the shower was on the small side! but the water was always hot. We had booked a table for two for our meals in the dining room, our waiter (Javier) was brilliant, he was very quick to serve us and always had a friendly smile. Dinner was 6.30-7.00 & breakfast was 8.30-9.00 and the variety and quality plus portion size was very very good, compliments to the Chef and all his team. The hotel has a new coffee shop where you can have sandwiches/cakes etc. The hotel bar doesn't officially open until 5.00pm but if you require a pint with your snack just ask the restaurant manager (Aaron) and he'll open the bar and serve whatever you require. The evening entertainment starts at 8pm with a fun quiz, then bingo followed by a different singer each night (Mon-Thurs) the entertainment finishes at 11pm so not to disturb any residents, but who goes on holiday to go to bed before 11.00pm and not join in the entertainment!!!!!!! We must mention and give thanks to the bar manager/compare/comedian/quiz master/bingo caller, Vinni, he certainly knows how to keep people entertained! With a fully stocked bar and reasonable prices you can't go wrong stopping at this hotel. All the staff are friendly and we would certainly stop at this hotel again, it makes a great base to enjoy the south coast of England. Many thanks again to Mel, Javier and Vinni, great holiday, great staff, great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Have just returned from a 5 day break at the Claremont at Eastbourne. How strange that the first reviewer on this list also stayed in room 107. What a horrible room it was. We didn't need to go into the "entertainment" room we could hear all that was going on up in our room, even the bingo caller. We were directly above the kitchen so we knew what was on the menu every night. The noise of the fans were very annoying. We could even hear the noise of the hot water heater going on and off as water was used. The so called bedside reading lights were situated in the ceiling so it was like being at Blackpool when they were on. The "bathroom" left a lot to be desired. No room at all to move around. I had a shower ,reluctantly and found that the water would not run out because the tray had not been put in correctly. Was I expected to mop it up myself? Our friend who came with us wanted a single room. None were available so she paid an extra £99.50 to occupy a double room. This was No 106 next to us. What a disgrace! It looked as if a double bed had been put in the room in place of a single. It was up a corner against the wall so if occupied by 2 people one would have climb over the other to get into bed . If I been given that room as a double I would not have accepted it. To get a comparison I checked the rooms of 2 other single ladies rooms. These were totally different, quite acceptable. they had only paid £25 extra. This was for having a sea view.
Outside room 106 was a massive metal girder like fire escape blocking the passageway. This in itself was a fire hazard.
Food and service in the hotel could not be faulted. Our Spanish waiter was a joy to behold. He should have been the manager. Maybe he will one day.
One more gripe, for the coach journey because of my build I asked for the centre back seat. I was assured that I would have it. And given the appropriate number, the coach didn't have a proper numbering system and I was put in the corner on the back seat. This was most uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Ask previous guests about the hotel before booking. If you get one of the old un updated rooms you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanbeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We went to this Hotel from16th Sept to 20th. The best room and staff are in the dining room. Very clean room and the staff there were most helpful. Our room number 107, I would advise anyone against staying in this room.. The best thing was clean bed, the outside and inside of the kettle was filthy the shower hot then freezing. The room reminded me of a 1960's boarding house. The Manager was totally disinterested, blamed everything on our travel firm. How can you blame the state of a room on our travel firm???? Surely it is the Manager who should take a pride in the rooms his guests are staying in. I WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS HOTEL. I would like to say a big thank you to the Dining room Manager and all the staff in the dining room. Our room had the noisy extraction fan from the kitchen directly aimed at our bedroom window, The noise from the entertainment at night was so loud, it was as if the singers were in our room. Mrs. M. Linton Coventry

Room Tip: Travel with the Company who own the Hotel, they appear to be allocated the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Mal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 6 nights break at the Claremont Hotel with Daish's. First holiday with this company and we will be reviewing Daish's separately!

When we arrived at the Claremont Hotel we recevied a friendly welcome from Keith the hotel manager.
Check in was straight forward and we were allocated a brand new room downstairs! We declined the first room as you could still smell the fresh paint and it was front facing and noisy! Keith showed us to another brand new room which was quiet and although it was a twin/room they joined the beds together for us which made a kingsize!
This set the standard of service for the rest of our stay, "You Only Have To Ask!" and they will do their best to oblige!

A particular mention for Carolyn our room attendant who kept our room spotless. Natasha, Mel and Syliva on Reception who were friendly polite and helpful. Not forgetting our waiter who was always cheerful despite being very busy! manning a small dining area by himself!

The hotel is geared towards the elder clientele and this reflects in the entertainment which was alittle repetitive and could be of a better standard!

All in all my husband and I had an enjoyable stay and loved SUNNY EASTBOURNE :) X

PS: OUR MOTTO IS "IF YOU DON'T ASK YOU DON'T GET"!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet ask for one of the new rooms just built in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Thrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,533 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £48 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Claremont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively for adults, the newly refurbished Claremont Hotel offers a prime location on Eastbourne's splendid Grand Parade. Close to the pier and with the award-winning beach just across the road, the Claremont Hotel offers a traditional seaside break with the customary service and value for which we are renowned. It's high standards have been recognized by Tripadvisor, who awarded it a Certificate of Excellence in 2016. Following a comprehensive refurbishment programme in 2013, the Claremont Hotel offers a lovely new bar and lounge with a brilliant line-up of live entertainment every evening. We also have a coffee shop, perfect for planning your day with a morning coffee or enjoying afternoon tea and views across the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Lions Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing