We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Daish's hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Claremont is in an excelent position with easy level access to the town centre and buses. We had a ground floor adapted room that was clean ,warm and roomy with even a fridge. The staff were great as usual in a Daish's hotel especialy our waitress Kate and coach driver Mike. The entertainment was of it usual good calibre and the food was very good.Both my wife and I found our break passed so quickly we are looking to return later this year. We have visited all the Daish's hotels now and the Claremont is one of our favorites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from a short break with Daish's.

We would like to thank Wvone (pronounced Yvonne in english)our waitress what a credit to the hotel she was nothing was too much trouble for her, always had a smile on here face.
Only one excursion was provided by Daish's and that ended up being cancelled so we were stuck with public bus travel each day. The food was good, quite a varied choice but the portion size was a little small. Evening entertainment was average apart from Friday - Mike Moran a very funny guy.

Only one lift in the hotel which was always a pain but their was a notice stating that they have applied for permission to get another one put in. Our rooms were cleaned each day with plenty of milks, teas and coffees apart from our last evening their when no cleaning or refilling of refreshments was done. We had a room with a bath & shower, but the shower was incredibly slow and we either had burning hot water or freezing cold, we did complain about this and they came and looked at it quickly but the problem continued for the rest of our stay. When they looked at it, he said that everyone must be washing at the same time.

The weather through the whole of our stay was lovely but that made the room just about bearable, if the weather had been any warmer that would of been a problem as air conditioning is too modern for this hotel.
Overall good but could be better

Room Tip: We were told that their were only four rooms with a bath, so if you would like a bath please specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seantan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Good friendly hotel and value for money. A good choice on the menu each day and all the meals were enjoyed. The bar was reasonably priced with a god service. Our room was spacious. The evening entertainment was average and the dance floor was very small.

Room Tip: We liked our room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swimmertwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having stayed in the Hotel just after it had reopened, last year, under the new management there was some evidence of more refurbishment. We were in room 214 which had twin beds, a sea view and some rather pleasant furniture. It was a nice room with a fair amount of space, quiet and there was some traffic noise but not obtrusive. There were two large windows that could actually be opened and closed, which was very useful as when the sun was shining and with the hotel heating on the room did get quite warm.
The dining room which is below the reception area still seems to be rather crowded in some parts. The food did not seem to up to the earlier stay, although it was cooked ok and was hot I don't really know what it was, perhaps the choices were more limited. Earlier this year we were in the Barrowfields at Newquay with the same menu theme, but there the food was better. The dining room staff were very efficient, as were all of the staff that we came in contact with at the Claremont.
The entertainment was pretty much the norm for tour coach trips, bingo, a quiz ( to many using Google and getting them all correct now, not really the idea of it) also had an 'Irish bingo' (last one standing) which was won by a couple who didn't really understand the rules, bless them, but we will all have senior moments!! Mike Moran was by far the best entertainer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just returned after a five night break with Daish, the staff at this hotel were all very helpful and friendly especially our waitress Kate nothing too much trouble for her. However the single rooms were very small and claustrophobic very long and narrow with a single bed very dated furniture but bathroom quite a good size and was very clean, the sea view rooms which have a supplement of £20 can be quite noisy when the entertainment is on late on the pier which is opposite the hotel.the food was very good and if you wanted bigger portions you only had to ask, the entertainment was a bit of a let down but was not too bad ,bingo every night and a quiz just for fun.

Room Tip: I had single room and was under the impression from my friends that they were all pretty much the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Typical Daish hotel; i.e you get what you pay for.
However, avoid room 115 - like coffin and Room 111 - noisy +++ i.e. near boilers
Manager, David), and staff excellent. Even found me an emergency dentist.

Room Tip: Ask for detailed description of room before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My father did trip with Daish's holidays in November. They were promised an upgrade which ended up being a basement room which was supposedly refurbished and radiator not working. When room was changed the wallpaper was black and mouldy. The food was excellent but otherwise no other compliments on shabby hotel. The coach pick up was extremely late with no explanation and coach unseated both ways some seats that had been slashed had been repaired with string! Advice - avoid hotel and Daish's holidays!

Room Tip: Avoid at all times
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,923 reviews
0.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £200 - £1,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Claremont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively for adults, the newly refurbished Claremont Hotel offers a prime location on Eastbourne's splendid Grand Parade. Close to the pier and with the award-winning beach just across the road, the Claremont Hotel offers a traditional seaside break with the customary service and value for which we are renowned. It's high standards have been recognized by Tripadvisor, who awarded it a Certificate of Excellence in 2016. Following a comprehensive refurbishment programme in 2013, the Claremont Hotel offers a lovely new bar and lounge with a brilliant line-up of live entertainment every evening. We also have a coffee shop, perfect for planning your day with a morning coffee or enjoying afternoon tea and views across the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Lions Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing