We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Claremont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Not the best hotel in Eastbourne! Food very bland, one night serviced lasagne and salad, salad was just lettuce leaves, send it back only to be told they couldn't do anything about it, did report it to the Manager. Cherry trifle was just one cherry. No fruit at breakfast! Waitress were very good, staff on the whole were friendly. Room was not cleaned from Sunday to Friday! Towels changes ok.

Room Tip: Room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    170
    58
    24
    7
See reviews for
52
264
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Staffs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just returned from an 8 day break to the Claremont. However, standards have slipped since our last visit in October last year. Dining room, waiting staff and variety of food is still good. Bar service and prices are still reasonable. But no effort has been made in the Lounge, it is still too hot and uncomfortable. Simple air conditioning is needed to solve the problem. The entertainment varied greatly from flat singers to the excellent Mike Moran. Overall entertainment value was average. Bedroom was comfortable enough and the shower room was functional. However, there is a big black damp patch beneath the window and black mould around the shower tray and cubicle uprights. Superb support from the front desk and maintenance staff to our friends who had their room broken into during one evening. But overall, standards have slipped since opening, hence the Manager from the Isle of Wight has been drafted in to sort it out. Hope he does because it is an excellent hotel with very supportive staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverSurfer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

From being picked up in Liverpool on Sunday the 8th June our holiday was full of surprises and incidents. The Clifton Hotel is situated in a wonderful spot right opposite the pier. .Those lucky enough to have a sea view room had an added bonus. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left I can honestly say we were well looked after . The waiters and waitresses were very attentive we did not have wait to be served, the food was good, plate was not overloaded just right. The bar staff equally gave one hundred per cent. Mel head receptionist was amazing always smiling and helpful she was even seen to help out on the bar. David the manager is very professional I think he runs a good hotel The hotel is still in need of some T.L.C. but it is early days since Daish's purchased it. The other person I must mention was our driver (Tony) he certainly is in the right job This he showed when one of our group had to visit hospital (we had only just left Liverpool and had to pull into the first service station and call for an ambulance (the rest is history) the journey did get better but then I could write another tale,on the journey home it did not go without incidents Tony just stayed pleasant and polite as any good driver should. We are now on the look out for our next holiday with Daish's
I am just hopeful that they will venture a little near north some time in the future.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor and did not get disturbed any evening by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

1st May 2014 for four nights over a bank holiday weekend. Daish's coach was on time, clean and arrived at Eastbourne at 2pm - great. Hotel was clean and we were lucky enough to be given a basement room - one of five that have recently been renovated to a very high standard. We were quite amazed as we expected a great deal less for the money we had paid. The pleasant surprises continued when we went to dinner. A great waitress, Yvonne, was like a human dynamo - i.e. very fast and very accurate with her orders. Always happy, always smiling. It was worth going just to meet her. Food wasn't bad either - better than we expected and enough of it. Breakfast had us smiling too! Would you believe it was a hot, sunny weekend, which rounded everything off nicely. The hotel is in a superb position at the centre of things, the manager and staff could not be more helpful and the entertainment was enjoyable. I have tried to think of a negative, especially as others on our coach trip moaned quite a bit, but there are none. Not our first Daish's trip and it will not be the last!

Room Tip: Definitely go for rooms 401 to 405 in the basement. They are magnificent. Room 404 is large and wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location opposite the beach. I stayed at this hotel on the 13th of April for 6 days with my Grandad, travelling by Coach. When we arrived we was given a room in the basement (402). We thought the basement would be dark but when we arrived at our room, we was pleasantly surprised. The room was all brand new with new carpets and beds etc. There were two large windows which let a lot of light into the room. I would recommend people visiting Eastbourne to book at this hotel and request room 402. Our waitresses Iwona and Monika did a great job at serving our dinners. I would like to thank them for the good service.

I rate the stay at this hotel a 5 star stay because the room, service and food was outstanding. This hotel was brilliant. I would like to return to this hotel in the future. I would definitely recommend anyone visiting Eastbourne to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Request room 402 as the room is brand new furnished and light from the 2 large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan_Calla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Claremont is in an excelent position with easy level access to the town centre and buses. We had a ground floor adapted room that was clean ,warm and roomy with even a fridge. The staff were great as usual in a Daish's hotel especialy our waitress Kate and coach driver Mike. The entertainment was of it usual good calibre and the food was very good.Both my wife and I found our break passed so quickly we are looking to return later this year. We have visited all the Daish's hotels now and the Claremont is one of our favorites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from a short break with Daish's.

We would like to thank Wvone (pronounced Yvonne in english)our waitress what a credit to the hotel she was nothing was too much trouble for her, always had a smile on here face.
Only one excursion was provided by Daish's and that ended up being cancelled so we were stuck with public bus travel each day. The food was good, quite a varied choice but the portion size was a little small. Evening entertainment was average apart from Friday - Mike Moran a very funny guy.

Only one lift in the hotel which was always a pain but their was a notice stating that they have applied for permission to get another one put in. Our rooms were cleaned each day with plenty of milks, teas and coffees apart from our last evening their when no cleaning or refilling of refreshments was done. We had a room with a bath & shower, but the shower was incredibly slow and we either had burning hot water or freezing cold, we did complain about this and they came and looked at it quickly but the problem continued for the rest of our stay. When they looked at it, he said that everyone must be washing at the same time.

The weather through the whole of our stay was lovely but that made the room just about bearable, if the weather had been any warmer that would of been a problem as air conditioning is too modern for this hotel.
Overall good but could be better

Room Tip: We were told that their were only four rooms with a bath, so if you would like a bath please specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seantan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Claremont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively for adults, the newly refurbished Claremont Hotel offers a prime location on Eastbourne's splendid Grand Parade. Close to the pier and with the award-winning beach just across the road, the Claremont Hotel offers a traditional seaside break with the customary service and value for which we are renowned. It's high standards have been recognized by Tripadvisor, who awarded it a Certificate of Excellence in 2016. Following a comprehensive refurbishment programme in 2013, the Claremont Hotel offers a lovely new bar and lounge with a brilliant line-up of live entertainment every evening. We also have a coffee shop, perfect for planning your day with a morning coffee or enjoying afternoon tea and views across the promenade. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claremont Lions Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing